We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Perfect family place to relax and unwind @ Citrus , Alleppey””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
El Kelaa M'gouna, Morocco
1 review
““Perfect family place to relax and unwind @ Citrus , Alleppey””
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Citrus is an amazing resort at Alleppey next to back water. Went with a plan to stay for 2 nights with my family. Extended stay to the 3rd night. Starting with the exciting and adventurous drive through our family enjoyed every moment of our stay there. They... Thank to tanmay & Entire team @ citrus hotels

Room Tip: Add More Entermaent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neerav619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    180
    65
    22
    21
See reviews for
287
244
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

this is a beautiful way to reach there, my daughter told me that alleppy in kerala is called venice of the east. i found it like the way you arrive.
you get down by your taxi near iron bridge & a hotel boat will come, that will take you to the hotel by river route. hotel is made at the bank of the river & well maintained. you enjoy boat riding to hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hi
We stayed for 2 days in this resort in first week of Jun 14 and found this location very panoramic.
We got the back water facing room and the sight of watching Houseboats passing through from our bedroom was all together a thrilling experience.
The property is huge and facilities are adequate. The swimming pool is well maintained. The best part of this resort is the kitchen. The taste of food serve is very very good and staff is more than happy and willing to serve you what we like to have. The choice in buffet breakfast and Dinner is vast and tastefully prepared.
At the end of trip no one will like to leave such a nice and refreshing place :) :)....Just sitting on shore of backwater ans watching boats moving is very pleasing. I would give full 5 star to friendly and always staff at reception, Housekeeping and Restaurant
Just make sure that you reach this resort latest by 8pm as waiting for the ferry to take you from shore to this resort sometime may be tiring in night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Napoleon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Let me write the good points first about the resort
1. Sourrounded by backwaters, clean property, good spacious rooms.
2. Decent breakfast and lunch spread and taste was also good.
3. Helpful staff but slow service
4. Very good spa and service.

Cons:
1. you have to come by their boat service which is once in 45 min, so either time your going out or coming in accordingly or wait. need frequent servie there.
2. Difficult to find the location where the boat picks you up. without calling hotel staff it would not be possible to come on your own.
3. Restautrant staff needs serious training. There is no one to attend you, you need to ask them to serve you water, replenish the food and then keep waiting. Lucnh experience was pathetic as we had to wait for everything right from Rotis to dessert. Needs serious overhaul in this aspect.
4. THEY NEED TO HAVE A DOCTOR ON CALL. Two people in our family fell ill and when we asked them do you have doctor on call, they said no. neither they knew of any doctors where we can go. They said we can provide you the boat. but where do we go?... Though i must say that they were helpful in arranging crepe bandage for my wife who had sprained her ankle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience Citrus Alleppey.
I offer my sincere apologies for not delivering to the level of finesse and detail you have grown to expect out of Citrus. I have read your feedback sent to my attention and have read it in utmost detail.

Personalised and attentive service and food taste at our restaurant is our strength and Lack of promptness and efficiency from our team which you experienced is a rare lapse and one which I truly regret. Thank you for highlighting the inconsistency. I assure you that I will personally address your inputs with the team and take measures for ensuring that such incidents do not repeat.

Please do consider staying with us again and give us an opportunity to showcase the best of our hospitality to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Best part is approach to the resort by ferry... location is beautiful... surrounded by water... resort had good sitout arrangement on lake side... rooms were good.. nice view on all sides... its a lotus theme resort... kids enjoyed the swimming pool.. dinner buffet was good with traditional dance performance...

Room Tip: if travelling with kids, the ask for paddy view as lake view are risky with small kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanvi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We reached Alleppey at 7 Am morning and got the ferry at the jetty point to the hotel.
The ride to the hotel in jetty through backwaters is one of great experience.

Though we reached the hotel much before the check-in time, the staff was curteous and made us comfortable.
We had an infant with us, the staff even helped us with the cleaning of milk bottles and providing milk for the kid.
They even upgraded us from paddy view to lake view room and gave us room much before the check-in time.
The hotel's cruising spa houseboat is one of the best houseboat in Alleppey. We booked that and it was an awesome experience.The food was great in houseboat.
At dinner hall in hotel, they arrange for a cultural program which is a Mohinattam dance.The dancer was very graceful and we enjoyed her performance.
The food in hotel is good at an optimum price.

Overall our experience with Citrus was very nice and they made us stay memorable.

Looking forward to come back soon again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank neha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here in March first week with a 10 month old baby. Our experience was very good.

*Hotel staff was very friendly and approachable. Quick room service and cleaning. Warm welcome.

* Hotel Room: rooms are spacious and clean, well furnished with a beautiful view of back water from large window. Bathroom was clean. Best part of the room i liked was space to keep luggage. It was a separate area next to bathroom with wardrob and mirror which kept our studio room really clean. A huge porch to take view of backwater.

*swimming pool was clean and big. but we could not enjoy due to crop harvest season which resulted in lots of tiny insects in pool and around.

Food: Food was really good and tasty. Large variety in breakfast and dinner buffet. in breakfast dosa, uttapam, were served hot on table for us. We really enjoyed food. Even live pasta counter in dinner was very good. Classical dance in the middle of the dinning area which really kept us sit for a long and enjoy our food.

*Houseboat was free every evening for 1 hour with tea and coffee and biscuts.

They were careful and willing to help us with a baby. They were okay to prepare baby food. They did not even charged us when a drinking water glass was broken by our baby.

SPA: They really pampered us. very first 10 mins head or feet massage was free for everyone one in the whole stay. We opted for body massage. Spa rooms were made very well. staff was very good. with the steam and bath was a leisure. Perfect relaxing stay at citrus

Over all a very good experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sejal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
14.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
12.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#7 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Property: Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing