We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Lake and Paddy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake and Paddy
Ranked #41 of 195 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This small guesthouse is runned from 2 joung brothers, is locadet in front of the backaters in a very quite and countryside position. The room in the 2 bungalows are big and clean, with nice terracce facing the rice plants and in the night is very quite! In the reception the wi-fi is working well and the food is also nice. The brothers are very friendly!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipinajff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    26
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
1
46
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Unknown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here after being approached at the bus stand by a nice young man. We usually are wary of these touts at the bus stands, but he was very unobtrusive and just had a genuine smile and attitude. This guy, Anju, was so friendly and fun we all stayed up late a few nights drinking brandy and we became fast friends. Anyway, at the bus stand, after he said 500 rupees a night, free wifi, and great views in the village, we were sold.
The hotel is a few kilometers away from the center, which is nice because it's quiet and very scenic. There is a beautiful rice paddy on one side, with hammocks and benches to relax on, and a canal on the other side. The rooftop is a nice place to lounge but was a bit overridden with mosquitoes and other insects.
We were given the smallest room at 500 rupees and I feel like it was a good deal. The place was clean, though a bit cramped. The bathroom was fine as well. There are a lot of mosquitoes, some spiders and ants here and there, but this is the backwaters of Kerala! The bed had a mosquito net which we used at night and didn't have a problem.
There are a few things to note: First, the guy we met at the bus station, Anju, doesn't actually work there. The staff was friendly enough, but Anju was the real reason we had such a wonderful stay. He has his own hotel in town, and I guess he was just doing a favor for his friend Shabab (the real owner, who is also a very nice guy but wasn't around much). I think next time we will stay at Anju's place instead (Lemon Dew) even though we've never even seen it. Also, the restaurant and room service which is advertised as 24 hrs is actually from a neighboring place and usually stops around 9 or 10 in the evening. It is of decent quality, but nothing special. We came home a bit late one night, quite hungry, and no one seemed to be around, so we had to crash out because there is no easy way back into town at night. Breakfast was cooked on premises but took quite a while to be prepared. Next, the higher quality depicted rooms with the real view are a bit more expensive, and the canoe boat tour we signed up with was very expensive, at 1000 rupees a head. It was a good tour - a full day lounging about, decent food included. But the guide's English could have been better, and we noticed cheaper prices around town (650 or so for what seemed like the same thing).
Overall we had a fine stay. For the price, we really didn't expect much. Staying out in the village will have its pros and cons of course. Expect to either wait for a fairly slow (and very loud!) ferry to and from town (3 rupees), or pay 50+ rupees each way for a rickshaw. The free wifi is nice but there are frequent power cuts and interruptions in service, so don't plan to work from the hotel.
Sidenote: there is a women's salon in town called Roshi's Beauty Parlour. Stay away from there as the lady is quite inept.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhalsim282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This guest house was by far the worst experience we have had in India. We came hoping to be put into one of the rooms facing the rice paddies, but were put into a room with no view of anything except for the clothes line through the small back window. The room was full of Mosquitos and we asked for a net which we were given. The room itself was tiny (room for a small double bed and not much else). It had an attached bathroom which would be shared with the room next door if there were guests. In total the bathroom may have been 3 square metres. The water in the bathroom was brown (the dark brown sink a testament to the fact) and there were huge cockroaches roaming around. The room is more like a jail cell.

The guesthouse is in a nice spot on the backwaters and you can watch the hundreds of boats go past all day if you like. The restaurant (if you could call it that - the food actually comes from another guest house restaurant) does have wifi which is handy. When I ordered a banana lassi, it not only took 20 minutes to come, but the curd was certainly off. When I alerted a staff member about this, he told me it wasn't off and was very defensive, rude and unapologetic. I told him I could not drink it. To their credit they did not charge us for it.

When I asked the owner about a house boat, he offered me their boat which was more expensive than what I found in several places in town. I also asked about a short three hour trip which he wanted to charge 400 rupees per hour for. We said we would think about it and let them know in the morning as it seemed expensive. An hour later we were sitting in the restaurant and the owner sent up his cousin to try and convince us to take the boat with them as we would not find cheaper in town. He said that there would be very few boats available because we were there over a holiday (which was untrue). We didn't take the boat and found one for 250 rupees per hour the next morning.

Finally, when we tried to check out in the morning we were told that we had to wait and given no reason. We wanted to pay and leave so we could get an early boat. We were kept waiting for 20 minutes and only when we handed the money to another worker did he call the owners cousin to come.

We left this poor excuse for a guest house, run by people who try to take advantage of the tourist dollar, very disappointed. The service was atrocious and the accommodation worse.

Stay away!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissMelb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Our room was not actually within Rice and Paddy, but at another lodging about 200metres away that seemed to be linked to this place (Lake Line Homestay). Our check in and payment was dealt with by Rice and Paddy and we used their restaurant, reliable wi-fi and hammocks.

Both places are in an amazing location with beautiful tranquil backwaters on one side and paddy fields on the other. You get a good view of backwater village life as the accommodation is close to local homes.

As other reviewers have noted, the accommodation is basic and there is no hot water and frequent powercuts but it hardly matters when you are staying in somewhere so stunning and for such a cheap price. Our room was clean, had a mozzie net around the bed and had a fan that kept us cool enough. There was a nice terrace area outside of our room that was private and gave us good views of the sun setting over the paddy fields.
The food that is served in the restaurant is picked up from downtown somewhere so make sure you order well before you get hungry.
The young guys that run this place are helpful and fun. We enjoyed the canoe ride they organised for us.
I would definitely recommend staying here. Bring a torch for getting back to your room in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Great location a bit off the centre of busy Allepey. Quiet and clean room in a bungalow facing rice paddies, restaurant facing back waters. Free wifi. The staff is real friendly & helpfull and organised for us a cool canoe trip on the back waters. I could have rated "excellent" but i wouldn't have been completly honest if i had done so for 2 reasons (no big deal, this is India after all) :
- restaurant floor hosting a colony of red ants while we were there (walking bare foot on red ants isn't really my thing) & no one ever seemed to clean the tables after we finish eating (hence the ants ?)
- be prepared to eventually adjust to Indian conception of time/delay
but hey for that price, one can't have it all ! I warmly recommend that place

Room Tip: Choisissez les bungalows qui ne sont pas attenant au restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephieLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

This property is a great value for your money. It's a few miles from Alleppey town (about a 50 rupee tuk tuk ride) but the views of the waterway and rice paddy are amazing. It's a great place to relax at and take in the scenery. There are two nice common areas to relax in -- a downstairs couch and upstairs sitting area -- and a large hammock. If you upgrade to the bungalows, you get a private hammock and a patio area (recommended). The regular rooms are very basic with no tables, just the bed. The bungalow has a small cabinet. The guys who run it are friendly and always ready to help book excursions or pick up food for you from town. WiFi connection was pretty good.

A few negatives: No hot water or AC. It can get quite hot at night even with the fan on. Lots of bugs, especially mosquitos (can't be helped in the backwaters though). The kitchen was consistently unclean. We got a few items laundered and they smelled fine when we got them back, but a day later noticed an unpleasant odor. We think it's because the backwater water is quite polluted. We don't recommend getting clothes washed there!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Travelaholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I was so glad that I picked this hotel to stay while visiting Allepey. The experience of staying in a place with no other hotels, restaurants or tuk-tuks around is so so enjoyable after traveling around the big cities. The locals (especially the kids) are extremely friendly which you will get to meet a lot of them. One of the local kids even picked some wild flowers for me on my last day there.

Room Tip: The guesthouse has only 4 rooms, so book early if you want to stay here. The 2 rooms in the back ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Road_Less_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
2.3 mi away
Funky Art Beach House
Funky Art Beach House
#19 of 195 in Alappuzha
91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dream Nest  Guesthouse
Dream Nest Guesthouse
#38 of 195 in Alappuzha
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kalappura Homestay
Kalappura Homestay
#7 of 195 in Alappuzha
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Thoms Homestay
Thoms Homestay
#9 of 195 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 195 in Alappuzha
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosy Regency
Cosy Regency
#58 of 195 in Alappuzha
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake and Paddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake and Paddy

Property: Lake and Paddy
Address: Chungam Road | Pallathuruthy, Thirumala, Alappuzha 688011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lake and Paddy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake And Paddy Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing