We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thevercad Homestay
Nearby Hotels
Deshadan Backwater Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Punnamada Resort(Alappuzha)
US$175
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The World Backwaters(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Citrus Retreats Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$99
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abad Turtle Beach(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmgrove Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$26
US$23
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
112
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorge and binduoutdoor bathroomsmall boatpaddy fieldswatch the worldold househome staybhindiafternoon tea or coffeecharming hostsacross the rivercomfortable bedsfish pondriceopen airbeautiful familyan amazing cook
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were looking at doing a trip on a houseboat when we stumbled upon Thevercad Homestay - this is far better than any houseboat as you immerse yourself into the calm and peaceful way of life in waterways of Kainakary. The hosts (George, Bindu & family) were so friendly and engaging) and Bindu even offered to teach us to cook some of her simple yet amazingly delicious recipes. We were there for 4 nights and we had different dishes for every meal. We hired 2 different boats - the first was a row boat which just kept near the homestay and then a covered motorized boat which took us slightly further. We enjoyed these much more than we would have a bigger boat as these boats could travel into the smaller waterways which were just breathtakingly beautiful and calm. You get to see people going about their daily lives as you travel along your way. Amazing experience. Tip : bring mosquito coils.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluebirdFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After the surprise that we had to put all our luggage in a canoe and cross the river we were welcomed into a most beautiful place. This homestay felt like a real homestay with a family atmosphere. The room was a little dark but clean and with character. The food was really delicious and the view on the river was a delight, although a bit noisy with powerboats chugging past. Or girls had great fun with the owners children and when we were a little late back from our adventurous walk through the paddy fields and local villages their som had been out with a torch to check if we were lost! We wanted to stay longer. A backwater heaven.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassymama0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Let me start by saying this "Everything that is written about this place is absolute TRUTH!!!"

We stayed with our family for 3 nights and the place is simply amazing. Very nice location and silent and peaceful.

More than everything the hosts George and Bindu are amazingly lovely people, so are their children Alex and Joseph. The family is ever caring and never turn away any of your requests. They love serving the guests with love and that is to be seen by their body language. I have stayed at many homestays in Kerala but this place to me stands out. IF I GET A CHANCE I WILL GO BACK TO THIS PLACE. The pictures are less expressive than the experience itself.

The food served here is amazing and very tasty. If you are lucky try out some of the homemade Jams which Bindu has made, tastes heavenly.

I would recommend this place to everyone, go ahead and enjoy your stay!!!

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms, and both of them are good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tippusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We experienced Kerala's backwaters on a Houseboat, and in this beautiful homestay right on the river, and there is no contest...this is the way to do it.
George and Bindu are great hosts and Bindu is an even better cook...your three meals a day here will be delicious and memorable, as are the rooms (there's just two) converted from a rice store and with delightful outdoor bathrooms.
You can head out on small boat tours, which George can organise, or just go for a walk along the waterfront and meet the friendliest locals you are likely to meet anywhere (bring a few pens for the children)
By comparison Houseboats are more expensive, less peaceful and hugely less luxurious than staying here.
Cancel the houseboat and book in here!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and they are identical, so you can't go wrong
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Don't look any further if you want to stay with the most lovely indian family i think i've met, away from the bustle of allepey. The location is perfect, in the countryside away from other tourists, so you can truly enjoy backwater life. Bindu and George, and their sons, are incredibly kind hosts and Bindu's cooking is the best I had while in India. A couple of days here to enjoy the walks along the waterways and paddy fields, a couple of canoe rides into the smaller networks of rivers and generally kicking back and reading, shouldn't be missed. Also George arranged for me a wonderful houseboat for a night which was nice to experience - but definitely not as enjoyable as staying at their beautiful home with them. If you don't have much time, don't go for the touristy houseboat and stay here instead - you won't be disappointed.
Thank you so much Bindhu and George.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abby_1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews