We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Shillong, Meghalaya, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Resort”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Resort is just in between starting point of Alleppy and Lake by the side of the canal. Have to walk100mt from the main road to reach resort.Which may be a problem during rainy season.
Rooms are clean and nice with minimum furniture. Good thing is that they cook the food as per your requirements and instruction. But be prepared to face mosquito and other insects as like other parts of Kerala. Ayurvedic massage was good and relaxing. and If you are bird lover than you can see lot of them at resort and near by water way in the morning hour.
Finally staff are very good and cooperative.

Room Tip: Please keep the mosquito repellent ready.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pallabD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    29
    9
    9
    13
See reviews for
20
39
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Pouget
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This small lodge is just next to the waterway, and one can see how busy (and often noisy) the houseboat business is.

The pleasant huts are constructed of palm leaves and have al fresco showers. Beds have good mosquito nets.

They have internet but charge for the use of the terminal. Instead, they should offer free wi-fi for the guests. Let's all complain of the absence of wi-fi and gradually hostels realize that it should be part of the basic service like hot water.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pertti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This is POSSIBLY a good resort if you are going to take advantage of the overpriced Ayurvedic treatments otherwise I would search for another place to stay. My wife and I spent two nights at the place. After a bit of a treacherous walk down the canal which was muddy at best and nearly flooded beyond passage in other parts we finally arrived at the property. When we checked in, upon finding out we would not be taking part of their treatment packages the staff attitude visibly changed to one of indifference to us. Our cottage, sort of nice save the bugs and ants was at the end of the row right next to the local canoe ferry point where many people gathered and thought we were objects to be stared at and vied for our attention, making it undesirable to sit on the porch.
A simple extension of their fence could solve this problem by raising its height a mere meter. Although we did stay during a rain, the grounds were a muddy soggy mess with no real paths, except through the mud, to make our way to the main part of the compound. This while dodging a fallen tree (that looked like it had been there for over a month) and several dead limbs hanging from trees on main path.

All in all Alappuza was a terrific city, but I would opt for a cheaper friendlier place to stay. When we left we were not even provided the courtesy of help with our luggage for the slog back down the canal.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alappuzha hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I was very disappointed with this resort. We arrived with the idea of finally pampering ourselves with a nice room, AC, good food and ayurveda. All we got was an even more basic room and bathroom than we had at one of the homestays. The staff was uninterested. The ayurvedic centre they boast to have is extremely basic - one little bed, see through curtains while you are being massaged and hardly any massage options. The only redeeming quality is the fact that the resort is right along the backwaters, but even then I would not go back to this dirty place. All polish outside without any substance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me_desiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We had one double room with lake view and it was great. It combines traditional style and more modern comforts like bed, fan or western toilet. As it is just by the lake, the view from the balcony was great and the atmosphere in general very relaxing.
Our driver had some problems to find the place, as it is not directly by the road. You have to leave the car, walk by a water channel path and you'll get there. The absence of cars just there is a plus. Their cook prepared good food for us and a nice breakfast also. I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rociodeviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel in December 2010, upon recommendation from Lonely Planet. Firstly can we say this is NOT a resort. As we travel around India, we have found lots of hotels claiming they are resorts and are not, so do not be fooled. I don't know why these hotels bother calling themselves resorts as there is no need to, why not be creative, like Lakeside retreat or historic home stay? What we can say about this place is that the location is amazing. You will need to walk down a dirt path for around 300 metres from where you get dropped off on a auto rickshaw and you will arrive right on the lakeside, the views are stunning. The main house of the 'resort' is very historic and beautiful from the outside. There are also "Bungalows". We looked in a Bungalow and a Room in the main house and both smelt SO bad of mould it was repulsive. We didn't have many other options so decided to stay in the room in the main house. Apart from the intense mould smell, the room was pretty average and plain and the bathroom was tiny. The door to our room was a barn style door that opened onto the dining room, not much privacy at all. Apart from the room, the service was very cold and unfriendly, apart from one of the lovely cleaners and two of the waiters. Most of the staff seemed to do nothing, when they could be dramatically improving this place by firstly dealing with their mould problems. The food at the hotel was pretty good, but you had to order your food 4-5 hours ahead of time, which we found annoying. We did have lovely tea and biscuits whilst enjoying the view on the balcony. This place has great potential if there is some interest taken by the staff to improve this place. Staff taking an interest in their guests and smiling would be a good start and then starting with the small things, like nice aromas in the rooms. fresh flowers, the little things that make a stay memorable. We have been travelling for 3 months and all our memorable stays at guest houses and hotels are due to friendly staff, good service and the small things like a fresh smelling room, fresh flowers, a little something that sets your hotel apart from others. All in all this was an extremely overpriced "resort", even though we have found all accommodation in India is very overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We were very disappointed by this resort after having read the good critics it got in some guides. We had to stay in a very small and dark room in the main house, with a tiny bathroom, and very basic equipment. The resort itself is nice and calm, friendly staff, and situated straight on the Punnamada Lake/River, from where you can start great canoe tours through the backwaters. Nevertheless it was a big disappointment, make sure to ask for a cottage if you book here, they are probably a better value.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
21.2 mi away
Grand Ayur Island
Grand Ayur Island
#11 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
9.9 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0.9 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
0.3 mi away
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Palmgrove Lake Resort
#16 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort

Property: Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort
Address: Thathampally, Alappuzha 688006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#14 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Hotel Alappuzha
Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing