We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best places to stay on Kerala's backwaters”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I recently had my wedding on Kerala's backwaters and chose Emerald Isle Heritage Villa as the main residence for some key members of the bridal party - including my bridesmaids.
For some of these guests it was their first time to India, and to Kerala, so I wanted to ensure they stayed somewhere beautiful, reflective of the area, and most importantly, would look after them well.
The service offered by Mr. Vinod Job, his brother Vijoy, and their family was wonderful from the outset. They kept in regular email contact with me ahead of the arrival dates to ensure there were no problems.
They arranged and oversaw transport to and from the airport, and to and from various events relating to the wedding, and the wedding itself, over four days with no problem at all.
The house itself is beautiful, authentic, and brimming with history - just ask. It is set on the water and offers a genuine taste of village life on the backwaters. The rooms are finished to a high standard, and the wonderful outside bathrooms are a real treat. For those wanting a hint of luxury Emerald Isle offers excellent beauty treatments.
The food is lush, and the service is exceptional. They really will try and make your time with them perfect.
But the thing that sets this place apart is that they are genuinely - and rightly - proud of their heritage, the idyllic location, and the backwaters - and will do whatever it takes to show guests the best of it.

Room Tip: It's worth spending a little extra for the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed here with some friends for a few nights. The rooms were lovely, the food amazing , the hosts wonderful and the arrival in the dead of night into a rowing boat to get to the home stay - an amazing experience. Even when I had made a mistake in my booking they arranged things so we were well looked after and had a wonderful experience. The view of the backwaters and the sun sets were fantastic. I would definitely recommend this place if you want to experience the backwaters and soak up the local atmosphere for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tima-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at the Emerald Isle in the cottage for 2 nights in January, it was definitely our favourite place on our 2 week trip to Kerala! We wished we could of stayed longer, we felt truly relaxed and revived. The house and location is beautiful, its a really special place, the staff were so genuinely friendly and welcoming. The cottage is perfect for couples, spacious and more privacy than the main house (although the rooms in the main house are fabulous too) The food was amazing, authentic & varied.
Our highlights were... walks around the village - so peaceful and the locals were really friendly, the children are really happy to see you and you get a real feel for local life, relaxing & reading in hammocks, toddy tapping demonstration, the local country singers one evening after dinner were really entertaining and talented, motor boat ride at sunset (my favourite part of our stay) canoe trip was awesome too! so many great memories from only 2 days!
Vinod the owner was great.. really welcoming, offering knowledge and advice on the local area, he also kindly organised a driver for us over to Munnar and our houseboat.
We hope to return to the Emerald isle one day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemsB_1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the cottage. This was a fantastic place to stay at the end of our 6 week trip ti India. We were there to relax in the backwaters of Kerala. There were plenty of interesting local walks and a wonderful evening canoe trip at sunset down the smaller canals. Both these activities allow you to see the local life. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, the food is local and tasty, and the cottage was comfortable. Loved the outside shower and bathroom.
We didn't get to Allepy on the local boat or take out the bikes available for our use. The reason being that I fell from a hammock and broke my collarbone. The staff were brilliant and arranged transport to a local private hospital. Sam came with us which was really helpful. The staff went out of their way to help with our every need. The property is surrounded by coconut trees. On our last day we were treated to the coconut climbers clambering up the trees. We were given a coconut to drink by the local man chopped up with a machete.
We would return to this friendly award winning place. It was idyllic.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage. Private with great outside bathroom. Showering under the stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelDunsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were 5 people in 4 rooms and we all totally enjoyed ourselves. The hosts were so gracious and the accommodations wonderful. Historic old rooms. My old room had a heavy dutch door and it was difficult to close and padlock it but that was part of its charm. The open air showers were wonderful although the pebbles a little hard on soft feet. AIr conditioning and overhead fans worked well. Comfortable beds. The granary suite was appreciated (despite large steps to bed) and we had the cottage as well which has its private enclosed patio with hammock. Vinod showed me the two brand new rooms next door which are just being completed and available so there will be two more heritage-style rooms in a separate building.

The dining room is a mosquito-netted structure -- which doesn't quite protect enough. The food was excellent - breakfast, lunch and dinner. Overly ample. The internet connection was quite good in both the rooms and the verandah. The country-boat tour along the small nearby canal to watch the sunset over the large rice paddies was spectacular and a highlight for us.

We took the bicycles to the main temple which was very interesting and a lovely ride, although over some very rough rocky road. If it is not too hot, well worth the effort. The garden behind is also wonderful and there are some hammocks and pavilions for sitting, reading, or doing yoga.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had wonderful food 3 times a day and were given every attention by Vinod and Vijo Job, Tom, Sam and Kannan, including help in exploring the local area. It is hard to beat arriving by canoe from their pick-up point and for value for money try the trip by the Kerala State river bus to or from Allepey: 11 Rupees (c. 11p Sterling) p.p. for a 90 minute trip through the backwaters. The building is a treat in itself with beautiful carpentry and metalwork on the original wooden doors and surrounds.

Room Tip: The Granary is lovely but perhaps another room would be better if you are likely to want the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Indeed, we were very pleased to stay in this house where our room was confortable, well furnished, clean. The big surpise was the bathroom: on one hand it was completerly enclosed, and on the other, the shower on the open air (whitout a roof)! All meals were very good, served in the garden. We also appreciated the walk on the water front and the small fishing boat cruise on the surrounding canals. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
26.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.7 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 69 in Alappuzha
187 reviews
12.2 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 69 in Alappuzha
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Paloma Backwater Resorts
Paloma Backwater Resorts
#15 of 69 in Alappuzha
30 reviews
9.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
768 reviews
5.8 mi away
Motty's Homestay
Motty's Homestay
#30 of 69 in Alappuzha
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa

Address: Manimalathara | Chathurthiakary, Alappuzha 688511, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 172 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: £82 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beautiful waterways and backwaters of the Kuttanad region of Central Kerala lies Emerald Isle, an exotic haven of tranquility, seemingly remote from city life, yet barely 10 kilometers from Alleppey Town. Tucked away on this delightful island lies the Emerald Isle Heritage Villa, an ancestral Country House set in 9 acres of secluded grounds – your Retreat into a Paradise of Peace. Emerald Isle Heritage Home is situated in an island resplendent with exotic flora, breathtaking flowers, myriad birds and butterflies to make for a memorable holiday, affordable and unforgettable. A truly wonderful way to spend your time on the banks of the backwaters of Kerala! Our house, dating back 150 years, retains its original architectural features, mostly in teak, with splendid wood carvings. There is also a fine Ara, the timber storeroom used in former times for the golden harvest of rice – golden because the island’s lush green paddy fields turn gold at the time of the harvest. Our property stretches across 9 acres including lush green paddy fields and fish ponds. All meals are served in dining room. Please ask us if you want to have any special facilities like Ayurvedic treatments or houseboat rides. Emerald Isle is ideal for those wanting to relax, sun themselves or getting away from it all. The tranquil air here is salve to frayed nerves and everyday tensions. Read a book or taste the locally harvested ’toddy’ fresh from the coconut trees ! When you tire of lazing in a hammock, or sunbathing in the courtyard garden, you can take a walk around the island, go fishing or have a swim. Emerald Isle Heritage Villa offers peace, privacy and pure relaxation. There are only 5 rooms (All Air-conditioned) for guests and each has its own en-suite Open-Shower bathroom with all modern facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have been tastefully done and open to the sky above to give you a feel of being truly closer to nature at Emerald Isle! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa Hotel Alappuzha
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing