We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of Motty's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motty's Homestay
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I'm so glad i made the decision to stay with Motty and Lali - everything from the food that Lali prepared, the accommodation itself, the location, and the trips that Motty organised were fantastic. The trips to local villages were the highlight for me and Motty arranged these so that they were so effortless for me! As a female solo traveller this was a great choice, had 100% trust in everything Motty recommended that I do, and the people he put me in touch with were awesome. I was also especially lucky to arrive in the middle of Onam, the annual harvest festival, and was treated to an unbelievable spread of authentic Keralan food by Lali - amazing! Alleppey itself was very cool - much less touristy than Fort Kochin (and other nearby places I imagine).

Hope to come back to Kerala at some stage and if I do I will come and stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed two days with Motty and Lali in their lovely downstairs garden unit. They were very generous, helpful and welcoming, giving us a great deal of local information, and hosting a wonderful dinner and delicious breakfasts. Despite the rainy season we still managed to explore the area and thoroughly enjoyed being there. We highly recommend Motty's Homestay if you are considering visiting Allepy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandPMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed with Motty and Lali at their beautiful Homestay in 2009 and returned there on our last trip to India in April. Alappuzha is such a great town to walk around and explore. We took a tuktuk to the beach one evening and a canal cruise another day on the backwaters.
Our room at Motty's was beautiful and comfortable. There is a shady veranda to sit and read or talk. Lali is a phenomenal cook! I adore southern Indian cooking but I have to say I enjoyed her meals the most of any we ate in the 3 weeks we were traveling. Motty is so interesting and fun to talk to. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zaphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Visiting Alleppey again during the Kerala monsoons was an experience. The canals and rivers are full and up to the brim with the famous greenery enriched even further. The entire town of Alappuzha was what I call in full bloom!!

Motty and Lali just made the visit even more wonderful with their wonderful hospitality. Took the same room as my previous visit with the open air rest rooms. I spotted a female Purple rumped Sunbird hanging around the open air bathroom and wondered why for a while till I spotted its nest. in the bathroom vegetation! (see picture) Please dont disturb it's family if you are visiting in the near future.

Room Tip: The out house is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTTYMATTHEW, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Hi,

Great to read the nice review and the appreciative words about our home own!

Thank you for letting us know about the bird nest!!

Hope to host you again!

Best wishes,

Motty & Lali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

It was a pleasure staying in Motty's homestay. :)
The whole family is involved in making their guests feel at home. It was like we stayed in our friend's house.
The interiors are beautiful... The rooms are lovely... the greenery is amazing...
The helped us in finding cabs and arranging to see new places.
It might have been more comfortable to stay in a hotel, but I wouldn't trade it for the experience I had in Motty's home.
Thank you so much uncle and thanks to all your family members . :):)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nitaya2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTTYMATTHEW, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Hello Nitya,

Thank you for the appreciative review!

We enjoyed the unique experience of having a mixed group of family and friends!! I particularly enjoyed the chat with Dad.

Convey our best regards to your family and the friends !

Best wishes from Motty & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed with Motty and his wife in early June, just as the monsoon was setting in. Everything everyone has said is true--they are incredible hosts, and I so enjoyed being able to talk with them about Indian culture and their experiences as international ambassadors. Motty even gave me a personal tour of Alleppey in his car the morning I was leaving. I was the only guest because it was not the high season for travel--thanks to the rain, it was very wet, and the power was off much of the time, but that was all part of the adventure. It might have been more comfortable to stay in a room at a hotel with a backup generator, but I wouldn't trade it for the experience of understanding Kerala through Motty's home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTTYMATTHEW, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear Erin,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We enjoyed having you with us and the great conversations.

Thank you specially for putting up with the monsoon and the consequent power failures!!!!

Hope to have you with us again !

Motty & Lali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Motty was both knowledgeable and friendly, my family and I were happy to have him as our host. He helped research activities and events for us. While we were there we: 1.) did a backwater cruise, 2.) checked out the nearby temples and palaces, 3.) witnessed an amazing festival in a nearby village. All were arranged by Motty. :) In addition, breakfast was simple and delicious. The bananas from the backyard were tasty.

Location was great, a short walk to some of the better restaurants in the area. We loved the Indian coffee restaurant on the main road. If you're looking for a bargain you need to check our Sari's and Silks down the street. You can get some great textiles at rock bottom prices.

I'd recommend this place if you are looking for some familiarity in and unfamiliar place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexlc211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTTYMATTHEW, Manager at Motty's Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you Alexandra for the nice review! We enjoyed having you stay with us.

I was very impressed how keen you all were about the culture of our land. Hats off for your repeated trips , even at night, to attend the temple festival!

you must share the picture with me!?

Convey our greetings to Shin and parents.

Best regards,

Motty & Lali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
2.3 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#13 of 69 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paloma Backwater Resorts
Paloma Backwater Resorts
#15 of 69 in Alappuzha
30 reviews
8.2 mi away
Aquabliss
Aquabliss
#20 of 69 in Alappuzha
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#3 of 69 in Alappuzha
80 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
0.5 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 69 in Alappuzha
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motty's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motty's Homestay

Address: Kidangamparambu Temple Street, Alappuzha 688 013, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £80 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Heritage Homestay accommodation offering peace and tranquility in the quaint little town of Alleppey -the gateway to the Backwaters" This traditional Syrian Christian home with it's gardenn view verandahs bring back old world charm . Comfortable en-suite bedrooms offers warm hospitality and excellent food. Guests have exclusive use of the comfortably furnished sitting room with its beamed ceiling and wooden antique furniture, and guests own private entrance. Emphasis is on the food which is cooked for you by the lady of the house using fresh local ingredients and home grown produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Motty's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motty`s Homestay Hotel Alappuzha
Motty's Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing