We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place”
Review of Motty's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motty's Homestay
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent two days in this lovely oasis of peace, located in a quiet residential area but not far away from the town center and the backwater departure quay.
Here, you are in Motty's home (a former colonial style house) and so you have to opportunity to share a moment of real Indian's life with a very welcoming host. Motty will answer to all your question about Indian culture and information concerning what you can see around. Moreover, Indian breakfast is very good and different each morning.
We have also liked very much our bathroom built on the back of our bedroom but outside. It is very original and sympathetic to take a shower and to look at the moon and the coconut tree at the same time. Greg & Aurélie from Paris

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Motty's Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have just returned from a tour to Kerala using Ellison Roberts which included two nights at Motty's Homestay. This was a great experience for us and made a very welcome change from staying in a hotel. Motty was an excellent and very friendly host making us feel very welcome. He was very knowledgeable about Kerala/India and was able to recommend local retaurants etc. We particualrly enjoyed chatting to Motty over drinks on his veranda in the evening after returning from dinner. The room was lovely with a traditional feel. The stay was very relaxing and as per the previous review we also struggle to understand why someone felt 'awkward and unusual' - definitely not our experience with Motty (quite the opposite) and we would certainly recommend to others looking for a more personal stay/experience. Great memories!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at Motty's Homestay just last week and found it to be a very good experience.
Motty was there to meet us at 5:30am in the rain, with umbrellas in hand and quickly whisked us to our room and left the informative stuff to be taken care of after a few hours much needed sleep after our long journey. The room was clean and tidy with aircon and ceiling fans. The only minor problem we had was with the outside bathroom that room has as my wife has a tendency to attract mosquitoes.
Motty not only provided us with a detailed map of Alleppey, which he also used to point out where the house is, but he also took us on a 20 minute drive around Alleppey too, so we could get to grips with the layout of the area and find our bearings.
He organised our day on the backwaters and our day in to Cochin aswell and also told us of many more places we could visit that might be of interest to us during our trip in Kerala.
He's probably the most helpful host we've come across during our travels over the years.
Another review on here say's they felt awkward when invited to have a meal with Motty and his wife and they found the homestay hard to find because it didn't have a sign on the road. We never found any situation awkward during our stay and found the homestay quite easily after a day out. As for not getting a receipt (as the other review states) the only input I could put is that we've bought many things in Kerala during our stay here and I'm still waiting for my first receipt! I don't think I'll be losing sleep over it though.

P.S. If you try to contact the other reviewer on the email they provided regarding any questions about their stay, as they stated they were willing to receive, then you will be disappointed as the email address is invalid.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

In our December 2013 experience, we discovered Motty's to be an over-priced Homestay. Although his wife's cooking was very good, it certainly did not warrant the price we were charged. Breakfast and the first dinner meal were included in the price. The other meals were charged separately but we could not learn the prices. It was also awkward that the couple did not partake of any of our meals, but Motty sat there, without eating, keeping us company.

Our first floor spartan room had an outdoor bathroom shared with a variety of insects attracted by their son's "small fish pond".

There is no signboard indicating where Motty's homestay is, which made it difficult to find and strange in lieu of all our other Homestay experiences. Our Indian friends have also commented on how unusual this is, and, as they added is the lack of a "formal" check-out bill-see the attached copy/photo of our bill.

Our experience seems to be different from the majority who have reviewed their stay here; for us, it was awkward and uncomfortable. Therefore if you are interested in learning about our other experiences at Motty's, feel free to contact us at smarum1940@gmail.com.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1sma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Motty and lali were instantly welcoming. From the bustle and heat of alleppy, their home stay is a peaceful jewel. Lali taught us to cook her lovely curries and Motty helped us plan our stay and even put us on the bus to our next venture! It was pricier than our other home stays around Kerala but depending on your budget (and considering what prices we're used to in Britain) it was well worth it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Crabeyes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Booked for 4 nights, but ended up changing our minds and going elsewhere, so our comments are based on first impressions. It's expensive (6000 Rs) - far more expensive than anywhere else we stayed. We were allocated the room within the house, next to the verandah - there are other rooms, which we didn't see, in a garden annexe. The room was very dusty on arrival, the wardrobes (antique, and very nice) were all locked and therefore we had nowhere to unpack. The bed (also antique, and lovely to look at), was rickety and uncomfortable. The location, close to Alleppey town centre, would be great - if Alleppey was a nice town. We felt that other locations, such as the beach or the backwaters, are far nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Motty and his wife were very attentive and helpful hosts. Motty helped us arranged trips on the back waters of Alleppey. A highlight of our holiday was a trip in a canoe around the backwaters with Lalji. He took us to his village where we had breakfast before setting off and then back for dinner. Motty provides breakfast, but unlike other homestyle stayed in, dinner was extra and although very enjoyable and tasty, expensive. As was the stay itself, almost the most expensive of our many stays in India and many of out stays were in hotels. When paying so much, you do expect a certain level of cleanliness, which sadly was lacking. In other homestays and hostels our washing came back clean and ironed, but not here. Alleppey is a great base and Motty is very knowledgeable and gave us a great insight into life in Kerala, hence my higher rating. I would definitely recommend this homestay. Thanks to Motty and his wife.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank CardiffMaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
2.3 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#13 of 68 in Alappuzha
51 reviews
5.1 mi away
El Oceano Beach Villas
El Oceano Beach Villas
#11 of 68 in Alappuzha
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Aquabliss
Aquabliss
#19 of 68 in Alappuzha
34 reviews
21.3 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
19.0 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motty's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motty's Homestay

Address: Kidangamparambu Temple Street, Alappuzha 688 013, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £89 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Heritage Homestay accommodation offering peace and tranquility in the quaint little town of Alleppey -the gateway to the Backwaters" This traditional Syrian Christian home with it's gardenn view verandahs bring back old world charm . Comfortable en-suite bedrooms offers warm hospitality and excellent food. Guests have exclusive use of the comfortably furnished sitting room with its beamed ceiling and wooden antique furniture, and guests own private entrance. Emphasis is on the food which is cooked for you by the lady of the house using fresh local ingredients and home grown produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Motty's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motty`s Homestay Hotel Alappuzha
Motty's Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing