We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique experience!”
other travellers have booked this property
One bedroom premium houseboat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One bedroom premium houseboat
Enter aSun bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
66 reviews
One bedroom premium houseboat
Enter aSun bed
HouseboatLiving area
Houseboat front view
Houseboat Bedroom
Houeboat Bedroom
Houseboat front view
Houseboat Bedroom
One bedroom premium houseboat welcome drink
Houseboat Bedroom
Houseboat overview
Houseboat photos
Houseboat Living area
Houseboat Passage
Houseboat Kitchen
Houseboat Living area
Houseboat Passage
Houseboat Dining
Houseboat Bathroom
Housbeoat Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
brunei88
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique experience!”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled on this houseboat a few days ago with my mother and brother and we stay for one night. It was one of our most enjoyable experiences on our trip to Kerala.The boat itself was the best one we saw and compared to some of the houseboats we viewed it was real luxury! The AC bedrooms were clean and tidy as were the bathrooms. The staff were very polite and went out of their way to make our trip special. The captain took us away from the crowds and the more frequented houseboat routes to stunningly beautiful, quiet waterways where we could truly enjoy the scenery around us. We had a couple of dietary requirements and the chef accommodated these without a problem,the food provided was plentiful and honestly some of the best we had tried in Kerala! At the end of the trip Eldhose the manager organised transport to our next destination which was very helpful.
Would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Kerala in the future :)

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishpreet...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WORST STAY”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

this was my 1st and last stay in a houseboat. it was really the only bad experience and decision of my kerala trip. bathrooms were in bad shape with exhaust not working. boat was dock in a remote place at night from where you can not move back. there was no uniform for the captain. after refusing for the massage at the very clumsy place boat has taken us..... captain started behaving very awkwardly.... altogether a very bad experience...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nothing
Liked least: hospitality of captain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
In My point of view above reasons are not enough to write a terrible review . I think he was in a very strong hangover from the last hotel where he stayed last night in Kumarakom which is the very expensive 5 star hotel in Kerala . Please don?t compare the houseboat facility to a 5 star hotel or luxury ship please try to understand we are providing traditional houseboat with a neat and clean bathroom with basic amenities and bedroom. May be exhaust was not working in the bathroom but i am not able change the bathroom shape as per the guest request . about parking area we used to park our houseboat in village only if someone wants to go for shopping or town center they have to inform us in earlier otherwise sorry we are not a good choice for you . I am happy with my staff because they are more than good enough to work in houseboat also they will try to make our guest happy its a simple logic because they expecting a tip from guest if the gust is not happy they won?t get any tip . Anyway staffs also human beings some time they cannot adjust with some guest attitude He write few negative things only he is not even touched any of the positive side like boat,bedroom,glass covered dining hall, food, finally the magical view of the back waters and village . I think he just came to find only negative side. What do? some people doesn?t have a mind enjoy the good part of the world they will always find negatives even if they are in home or travelling
Before booking a property people used to read review like you but after the stay if they are happy they wont write any review if not happy definitely write like this in my past 5 years i managed thousands of guests but i have only one terrible review i feel proud about this because last five years he is the first unhappy guest from my houseboat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jy0ti_201...
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Its really a Once in a life time experience to be in the houseboat and NOVA houseboats made that true for us. Stayed in their houseboat for one night with family and kid. It was wonderful experience. Food was awesome. Owner/staff was really nice. Thanks!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letigammi...
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We wished we stayed longer!”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

It was the end of our 2-week trip in Kerala and we booked 1 night at a houseboat to cruise the backwaters. We made the reservation at the recommendation of our hotel in Fort Kochin - Fort Abode (highly recommend it!). We stayed 2 nights at the Nova Homestay in Alleppey and then 1 night at the houseboat. Honestly, we wished we had done the reverse as Alleppey is not that interesting and our family really felt that we could have stayed one more night at the houseboat. What a treat it was! The food was plentiful and we had fantastic meals with 5-6 options of different dishes to choose from. The staff is very pleasant and professional, always asking us if we needed anything. We loved the snacks that they served us (banana fritters) and fresh fruit. The accommodations were extremely comfortable, rooms were very large (for a houseboat), same as the bathroom. The most pleasant part was to just stay at the living area watching the world go by while reading a book or just observing life around the backwaters. Priceless! We were sad to leave but felt that we it was the highlight of our trip to Kerala, including our 2 teenage kids.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelers...
Cairns Region, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cloud 9!”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Second time round and just as enjoyable as the first. Its a feeling of 'giving yourself up' to total relaxation. Nova Houseboats are presented beautifully with all the comforts one might need for cruising the palm fringed backwaters of Alleppey. Our bedrooms were spacious and comfortable and the ensuite most acceptable. Most of our time though was spent on the foredeck eating, drinking, chatting and generally being pampered by the crew who were very proud of their services - how could it not be wonderful? I do not hesitate to recommend both the backwater experience and this particular organization. Eldhose Baby, who also runs an associated fantastic homestay, is both professional and sincere and I would trust him explicitly in all aspects of my stay in Alleppey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: No responsibility at all and complete relaxation
Liked least: I would like to have cruised smaller canals had it been possible
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrskh79
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

What a great way to end our trip to India on a relaxing note! Sonny and his team took care of my mum, dad, husband and one-year old son for two nights cruising the backwaters. Beautiful scenery, good food and we met lovely locals along the way. We had a massage at one spot and, while not a day spa setting (not that that was what we wanted!), they were very good. The houseboat was in very good condition and we enjoyed sitting on the deck on a comfortable lounge watching the world go by. Would highly recommend cruising with Nova. Our only suggestion would be to make the trip longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Going places without having to move
Liked least: Too short a time
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enthu_tra...
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Essence of backwaters in a houseboat”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Nova Houseboat was the perfect size for our family. My toddler who is 3 years old could run around freely and was well attended to by Captain Jiboy and chef Sachin. The food was scrumptous and the backwater experience serene. The boat itself was very clean, well maintained. We stopped at the local fishermen and bought some prawns which sachin gladly turned into delicious coconut prawn fry for us.

Few suggestions some sheer curtains that can pulled down to shade from the sun as it was beating down on us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing