We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice experience with Pournami Houseboat”
other travellers have booked this property
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
258 reviews
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sitting Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area with TV and Sofa Set in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dressing Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dining Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sofa in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Corridor in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bedroom Art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bed and Bedroom art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Room in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Shower Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 258 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
SDF999
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice experience with Pournami Houseboat”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I booked Pornami Houseboat after searching so many houseboats online & finally decided to book Pournami houseboat based on reviews. We booked 2 bedroom deluxe houseboat, but we were provided 3 bedroom houseboat which was very big and was in very good condition. Wood work done on boat was very good. We enjoyed so much on houseboat, it was very good experience, my parent enjoyed lot on houseboat. Food served was very tasty, Staff was also good. Parvathy guided us for house boat booking & co-ordinated whole process of houseboat booking. I will recommend Pournami Houseboat.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thankyou for your review . We have happy to know that we make your family trip a memorable one.Do visit us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATIWARIG
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Taken for granted_shifted to other company's boat without notice”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I was so glad for booking my houseboat with pournami, a firm who has all 5 star reviews and winner of certificate of excellence from Tripadvisor. I did my booking more than 2 months in advance and specifically told them that i need only their own houseboat as cleanliness was must for me having a infant baby with us. All the communication was in writing and they confirmed to all that. But when i reached there, i was taken to some other company's houseboat. I was carrying pictures of houseboat and could sense in just seconds that i am being given some other boat. This boat was not as clean and maintained for which pournami is famous. despite being everything in writing and a two months old booking, the management did not bother to inform me about any such change. When contacting, i was told by ms. parvathy that there was some problem in their boat that's why they have given me different company boat and it is same. I asked them to come with their boat pics and check if this looks like what was shown to me in the pic. On inquiring why i was not informed of such a change, i was told a weird reasons that they did not want to spoil my mood. (????) And what was that when i checked in that houseboat. Did the pournami management think that i would jump with excitement and happiness? The management (Ms. Parvathy & Mr. Vinod) told me repeatedly that there was some problem with the AC of their boat in the just previous night and the boat has gone for repair. I do not know how true was that as i was not in a position to verify this fact. However, at the outset, this appears to be a very common 'Excuse' (i.e. lie) used by tour/ travel operators. Even if it is true, should not pournami, famous for customer service, offer me an upgrade. what they provided was a downgrade instead, that too for a customer who has shown his concern time and again over emails. A better boat or a full time AC or some other compliment would have been an off-setter. I would say the management took me for granted. I was not asking for anything extra, all i was determined about was at-least a similar and comparable houseboat which is neat and clean and well maintained. Mr. Vinod asked me to wait for some time as he arranges for other boat. In around 20 minutes i was shown another 2 bedroom boat which i found satisfactory and and opted to shift there. However, the time wasted so far and the mental pain was enough to spoil the holiday mood. To be frank, pournami took me for granted by changing the boat without informing me and provide non-understandable reasons. The two stars given by me are only for arranging another houseboat which matched my requirement otherwise i would have given only 1 star as what they did to me was just terrible.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
First of all thank you sir for your time.

Whenever we find an unpleasant review the management feels really bad, thinking that the guest was not happy and the vacation was messed up. Here we are really sad about the factor that you rated us 2 of 5 for finding you a property (upon your approval and agreement) to stay when we had a contingency with our houseboat, the ac was not working. You mentioned in your comment that it was a possible lie, why would we lie and not give you the boat and go through all this mess? And telling a lie for petty gains is not our cup of tea and it’s not the way we have been running our businesses. When our houseboat had an issue we could have easily given you a refund and wash our hands saying that the boat was having trouble and let you off to choose any boat of your own.

Now let us explain the situation for the TripAdvisor crowd.

The day before we had a customer issue that the AC was not functioning properly in one of the rooms and we had provided a refund to the guest for the issue mentioned. So this same houseboat was supposed to be used for the next day’s trip and we didn't want another day of annoyance for our next day’s customer. Fixing the issue was supposed to take a day and the houseboat could not be used for the next day’s trip. All this happened on the night before and it was only when the next day’s guest arrive we could inform the customer about the problem in hand. When the guest arrived we mentioned the issue and showed him a replacement houseboat which he did not like (finding a good houseboat on the day of travel is a real difficult task). So the manager showed him another houseboat which he liked and agreed to stay. The stay was completed in the alternate houseboat pleasantly and we have a good guest report too.

So the customer who wrote this review was unhappy about the fact that we did not inform him prior that there was an issue with the boat. How could we do that when all this happened the day before?
We agree that anyone would be unhappy when you don’t see things in place when you come for a vacation planned well ahead. The contingency plan we have when our houseboats meet with an issue is that we find a replacement houseboat which the customer agrees to stay on. Things can go wrong with any business right, if it was a flight they would have just cancelled and left you at the airport with no other option than to postpone you travel. We showed the grace not to leave you stranded at a place far from your home.

No regrets from Pournami as we did our job in handling the unforeseen situation and did strive to satisfy our customer.

Thanks
Team Pournami
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikhil D
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the most peaceful experience of my life”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Had done an advance booking (which I felt was a totally worth doing it after the experience). The houseboat provided to us was a 2 bedroom houseboat (though we had asked for one) due to non availability of one bedroom. I must say the houseboat was awesome. The interior was really good. The boat was in good shape and very clean. I must not forget the cook and the captain of the boat who provided us the best food and the best services possible. The food was really very tasty. The whole houseboat experience was perfect from start to end. The only complain I have about it was the air conditioner that was provided from 9 pm up to morning. The temperature was kept very low and there was no remote to increase it, we couldn't sleep very comfortably in the night. Otherwise the whole movement of the boat from the various portions of backwaters in allepey and around was amazing. They also helped us get a small boat to go inside the small portions of the backwaters (extra charge for that). The whole experience was great and we enjoyed alot. I would recommend this houseboat and the whole experience of relaxation and the view for a day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything was just awesome
Liked least: The air conditioner was set at a very low temp. and we could not take it higher
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thankyou for rating us as excellent . All your reviews & suggestions encourage us to become more professional. Do visit us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suvam N
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“A day spent well amongst the calm and serene backwaters...”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A majestic floating vessel with almost all the modern luxuries and amenities. For busy city lives like us, the best part was we didn't have to take the effort to go sightseeing; instead just sit back and enjoy the virgin nature that compels you to introspect and facilitates a rendezvous with your soul.

The ride was simply outstanding. As we turned the corner in the narrow channels to catch the first glimpse of the awe-inspiring Vembanad Lake, it dawned upon us that Mother nature isn't biased; everyone finds their niche in her bosom and there is bliss in her embrace. Enjoying the starry night sky from an open deck was an aspect of the boat tour that is literally priceless.True to being in Kerela, food was sumptuous and excellent, thanks to Anand; Staff (Saneesh) took personal interest in ensuring we get to enjoy all the vagaries of a typical holiday in the backwaters (fresh sea food, canoe tour, etc).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view and the food
Liked least: the bedroom could have been a bit more airier.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
We are really happy to see such an amazing review. Thankyou for being a part of Pournami :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trups121
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome experience....Seventh heaven!!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Pournami houseboat is completely worth for the money.
We 3 friends had visited in the month of January. Had the most awesomest time. After reading many bad reviews about other houseboats we were kind of worried before booking any houseboat.
But indeed we were amazed at the experience of Pournami Houseboat and are glad that we had our first houseboat experience with Pournami.
Parvathy Prakash had managed our trip very well. We were concerned about security and safety since we were two girls and a guy but she assured us that we wont face any problem.
Both the captain and cook were very helpful and polite. The houseboat was clean and neat. It was a smooth cruise with mesmerising views. A very relaxing ride.
After the lunch hour they arranged small kayak ride for us which costed us 600 extra but it was blissful to experience that ride. We were taken through a small canal surrounded by a village on one side and farm(called paddy fileds) on the other. We were very excited to see the village life. We also took a small walk in there. It was a nice experience.
Now back to the houseboat we had an relaxing cruise, even the atmosphere was pleasant at that time. I must say the cruise ride really takes you to another world, seventh heaven indeed. It was an amazingly beautiful experience.
Regarding food the cook ensured that we were served well and asked us what would we prefer to have. He was punctual to serve us everything on time.
The captain was like a well mannered guide for us, giving us info on all spots. He even let us pose on the captain's seat for photographs.
He parked the houseboat to the best spot to have the over night stay. He actually ensured that we had an amazing view from the houseboat. We even got down at the place and had some photo sessions at the farm field.To experience the sunset and sunrise from that spot was beautiful and memorable.
All the amenities mentioned were working fine. All facilities mentioned in the package were well provided to us.
I will mention that Parvathy Prakash was a very helpful agent.
I would recommend Pournami Houseboat to anyone who is looking for an unique experience with safety and facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
We are really blessed to have an awesome guest and yet another awesome review. Do visit us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vidit K
1 review
“Excellent House Boat Experience with Pounami”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was my first experience to back waters and staying in houseboat. I heard so much bad about the boat conditions and staff behaviour. Pounami house boat has changed all the thoughts. I was worried about my daughter, but she enjoyed so much.
Pournami surpassed in all the aspects.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Best was the kerala meals provided.
Liked least: Bathroom clean , but little things can be worked out in toilitries.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
We are very happy to know that we have changed all your worries in our houseboat trip. We are happy to take care of kids :) Do visit us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanmoyPal
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lifetime experience, unmatched houseboat”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

While I was planning for Kerala trip, I thought of spending some hours cruising through the back water and spending the night at some hotel. Thank God, I did not do that. Our houseboat (4 Rooms) was very clean and luxurious as promised by Parvathy. The staffs were very courteous; you will feel like at home. The food they served was excellent. I never thought of getting such delicious food at houseboat. They were very punctual. Another issue which bothered me a lot was our security especially at night when the boat was parked at some village area. Believe me it was as safe as our home. Though Pournami charged little higher but it was worthy enough. Thank you Parvathy for making our holiday unforgettable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thankyou for writing an amazing review. We always suggest our guest to go for an overnight cruise than a day trip as you don't get the feel & freshness of staying in backwaters anywhere else in the world :) . Its indeed a life time experience .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing