We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay at pournami boathouse.”
other travellers have booked this property
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
248 reviews
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sitting Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area with TV and Sofa Set in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dressing Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dining Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sofa in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Corridor in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bedroom Art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bed and Bedroom art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Room in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Shower Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 248 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Gaurav_ch...
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Never seen such arrogant people in my life.
Food was a big let down. Cold and limited quantities were served to us. No sheets were provided, only rough blankets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: Rude behavior, Cold food served, no bedsheets. staff was drunk
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buharie B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay at pournami boathouse.”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stay at pournami boathouse with my family was excellent and truly memorable.
The staff were very helpful and resourceful. They have a friendly aroma with them. Food prepared by them was top notch and it feels like home. A truly enjoyable stay. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parinda_M...
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our first houseboat trip”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

There are around 1500 houseboats in this region and it is really very difficult to find out which is good and which is bad. We were referred to Pournami houseboat by our hotel owner and we didnt go wrong about it. It was a neat and clean 3 room houseboat. We went for a day trip as we were a small family of just three. It is advisable to stay overnight in a houseboat if u are in a big group. The food provided was delicious. The staff was very courteous and made sure we had a nice and pleasant ride. Our ride began at 11 and ended at 5 pm. The boat passes through the backwaters and takes a halt for lunch at a shore. The rates vary from season to season so its difficult to negotiate in peak season. Overall experience good. Would definitely recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The backwater ride
Liked least: The interior... it could be renovated and made up more traditional style.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2015
Thankyou for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed the trip:). Plus you have written the 100th review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msraut77
mumbai, india
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Treasured stay with Pournami Houseboats”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed with Pournami for only one night in Allepy in Nov 2015. We had booked their 4 bedroom houseboat. The overall experience was very good. Below are the positive n negative points.

Positive:
~Excellent crew. Prasanna and Sharad along with a chef were very polite and ready to make sure our stay was memorable and nice!
~Food was awesome. Veg and Non Veg food was really delicious. The presentation of food was neat and appealing.
~Rooms were nice and clean. Linen was clean and crisp too. We were very particular about this.
~Cruising was so pleasurable...

Negative:
~No geyser facility and hence the crew was providing hot water in buckets. That was very disappointing.
~Desserts should be included in meals.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renuka R
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent staff and very comfortable houseboat!”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I travelled with a few friends and we had the houseboat for 24 hours. The staff on board the boat is excellent. They were very helpful. They spoke English - which helped since 5 people on board the boat were Americans - and the food they prepared was excellent. They were always happy to answer our questions. The scenery is really calming and we even bought fish by the side of the lake for the staff to prepare for dinner! It was a very smooth ride from start to finish and I would highly recommend this houseboat to anyone visiting Alappuzha!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kishore D
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Outstanding Trip”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed overnight on Pournami excellent well maintained houseboat. Ensuite bedroom was spacious and clean. The staff were very good who provided us with delicious meals, snacks and fresh fruit throughout the trip. In the evening, mosquito nets were pulled over the seating and dining area. The houseboat also had large screen T.V. with clear reception.
Many thanks to Ms Parvathy and the staff for making this a memorable trip for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well maintained houseboat, good food and very good staff
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrakashMa...
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Strongly Recommended”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Hello,

Our stay at Pournami houseboat was the best experience in Kerala. I along with 8 other friends of mine opted for 24 hour house boat and every penny paid for the stay was worth.

Houseboat staff were very helpful and kind. I would strongly recommend anyone visiting Kerala to opt for Pournami Houseboat.

Regards,
Prakash M

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing