We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great experience!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
288 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 288 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SudeepVAg...
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed 3 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A colleague told me about Pournami Houseboats, and he had a positive feedback about them. So I went ahead and booked a 2 room house boat.
It was our first houseboat experience, so I was a bit apprehensive about how the experience would be, especially the food, considering we are vegetarian.

The booking experience was seamless, and the staff ensured that they were in constant touch till the time we boarded. We told them before hand about our food requirements and they were kind enough to send menu in advance, and tweak a little as per requirement.

When we checked in, we were quite happy to see the houseboat - clean, well maintained, spacious.
The rooms, washrooms, living room area, all were quite clean and even the kitchen was pretty hygienic.
All the three staff (my bad, I don't remember the name) were very helpful and cooperative.
The food was very good as well. In fact we felt like they served us a lot of food - lunch, snacks, fruits, dinner and breakfast.
We liked their each and every arrangement.
And yes, last but not the least, loved the beauty of Alleppey backwaters experienced through houseboat.

Definitely recommended!

Date of stay: February 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible trip but hidden costs!”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We absolutely loved our stay on the houseboat and Vinod and Vijayan were the most incredible hosts - so very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The houseboat was excellent and the route chosen fantastic.

The reason for our lower rating is simply the discrimination against ‘foreigners’. When we booked we were asked to pay a deposit which is understandable but through the systems the company uses you pay considerably more than the advertised price which is very disappointing and needs to be addressed. In addition, we had to provide hard copies of passport/visas which although is not a problem as such it does require arranging to go and organise photocopies which again you’d like to think having already sent soft copies via the booking process the company could print given the super high price of the houseboat (for international tourists). When we paid our outstanding balance on board the boat the trip organiser did not even offer any change as we only had big notes and although it would not have been a lot of change, it is still not fair to not even offer the change.

Nonetheless, Meenu in the reservation team was superb with communication and made the process easier than the other members of the team. It was just disappointing to be told (via email) that they always charge foreign tourists and this does not happen with domestic tourists given the deposit system - we found this remarkable that they are so open and honest with this discrimination they enforce.

The trip itself was incredible and the houseboat was very well kept and Vinod and Vijayan who were in charge of our boat provided a super experience. The food was plentiful and very nice. We were really impressed that in the evening they covered the boat in a big mosquito net which we noticed other houseboats did not.

Overall I would book again but would try to book in person to reduce the opportunistic management of squeezing extra cash from international tourists. Meenu, Vinod and Vijayan are a credit to the company and made our trip memorable.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kundasb
2 reviews
“Awesome Experience with Pournami Houseboat”
Reviewed 15 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have a great experience with Pournami Houseboat. We have selected for 2 bedroom houseboat. The boat was very well maintained and nicely decorated to welcome us. At first we were greeted with welcome drinks then we tour the lovely back waters of Kerala. The driver and the cook of our boat was very courteous and co-operative, they prepared a lovely Lunch, evening snacks & Dinner. They also suggested us some good spots to visit which in deed were worth remembering. We would love to suggest Pournami Houseboat for a great experience in Alleppy, Kerala.

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhinanda...
2 reviews
“Soothing experience”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I stayed in 2 bedroom pournami houseboat with my wife..staff was very friendly and courteous , houseboat was very beautiful and clean..I would recommend pournami to everyone who wants a trusted service provider..

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandira P
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful and calm”
Reviewed 17 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The stay on this houseboat was peaceful, we had rented the 2 BHK, the staff was very courteous and they customised food as per our choice. They made the stay and the trip really an awesome experience

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prashant...
1 review
“Best experience ever”
Reviewed 13 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

this was my first time in kerla, thank you pournami holidays and especially our chef Mr shashi for making it best experience, it felt like Home,we will definitely visit again and make request of Mr shashi to be our chef,Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniljose
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experinece”
Reviewed 13 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Had a great experience in the backwaters of Alleppey on the Pournami Houseboats. Well maintained houseboat, friendly staff, and excellent food.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.