We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marari Secret Beach Yoga Homestay
Ranked #9 of 195 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful people”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I wasn't lucky enough to be able to stay here this time but if I get the chance next time, I will! The host (I know him as Aki chan) is a wonderful, trustworthy, and hard working. He makes sure that you are well accommodated. I hope more people will choose to get out of Alleppey to the quieter areas around Marari.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler53630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
33
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

You will need directions to get here as you are well away from the tourist haunts, it is not 5* in the usual way, but better. You will get a warm welcome and feel part of a happy family, mother cooks delicious meals, the accommodation is simple but faultless, and Vimal makes sure that you have everything you need, all very relaxed. It is an easy walk, or paddle to the beach, also near the village but quiet, ideal place to recharge during your holiday. It is excellent value, we enjoyed our time here and have no hesitation recommending this homestay.

Room Tip: dont worry, there is just one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarsuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Escape the touristy houseboats and stay at Vimal's homestay if you are planning to visit Allepey. About 30 minutes out from Allepey, you will be away from the crowds and able to experience a taste of village life. You'll be welcomed by a friendly family, enjoy delicious home cooked meals and have a clean room a stone's throw away from a wonderful beach. The room is en suite and has WiFi (no A/C, so you'll have to rely on the ceiling fan to cool you down). The beach is just over the pond in the pictures, where you can practice yoga or head out to sea and catch some fish with the local fishermen. It can be a little tricky to find so give Vimal a ring for directions. This was the most enjoyable accommodation during my week long trip to Kerala, hands down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phobos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean room, right on the fantastic beach with a beautiful view at the beach with fishermen in the daytime, and moonlight in the evening. Great Kerala-food. Very friendly staff. We recommend this homestay very much and hope we will come back :)

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilde T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights recently, it was easy t get here on the local bus to Kollam from Ernakulam, you get off at Kallavoor and then get a rickshaw to kattoor.
Very relaxing place, clean room, good shower, nice hammock to read books in the shade, a wonderful beach with nobody around, and the dinner was some of the best food i had during my 6 weeks in india, i would definitely go back here, Vimal is a really nice guy. and it is worth the effort to come here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian19762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was a highlight of our trip to India. The location is idyllic for relaxing and unwinding but near enough to go into Allepey if you want to explore the city. It is beautiful. There is a great balance between having your privacy and the possibility of interacting with Vimal and his family who are great hosts. Mary Helen's cooking was the best home cooked food we had. Lots of variety of dishes and hugely generous portions - always served with the most beautiful smile! We did yoga with Vimal which we really enjoyed. The setting is gorgeous. You can relax on the porch or in a hammock with a gorgeous view or walk a short distance to the practically deserted golden beach. We would have stayed much much longer than planned if it was possible. The accommodation is simple, clean and comfortable. You can't beat the whole experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 723Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We came here a couple months ago to do yoga. Vimal was so friendly and the view was to die for. Best yoga spot we found on our entire trip throughout India. Tho we didn't stay overnight we did see the rooms and they were cleaner and nicer than anything that we had stayed in! His mother brought us tea and cookies and fresh bananas. It was such a pleasant stay even if it was just for an afternoon. Vimal speaks good English and I'm happy to say that we still keep in touch. I will be back to secret beach soon I hope :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurelpasquali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
1.2 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
587 reviews
2.2 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marari Leena Beach House
Marari Leena Beach House
#4 of 34 in Mararikulam
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marari Villas
Marari Villas
#1 of 27 in Mararikulam
281 reviews
5.6 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 195 in Alappuzha
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marari Secret Beach Yoga Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Secret Beach Yoga Homestay

Property: Marari Secret Beach Yoga Homestay
Address: Kattoor | near Pump House, Alappuzha 688522, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marari Secret Beach Homestay is located at "West of Kattoor Water tank" in Alappuzha. There are two rooms available in this homestay. In front of the courtyard there is a small lake and then the sea. There are two ways to go to beach: 1 - by walking only 2 minutes through village way, 2 - we offer a small fishermen canoe, you can easily use it in the lake and can go the beach. We offer yoga classes, Kalarippayattu classes (martial art of Kerala), Ayurveda treatments, etc. 'COME AND ENJOY THE REAL VILLAGE LIFE' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Marari Secret Beach Yoga Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marari Secret Beach Yoga Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing