We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Kerala village experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pooppallys Heritage Home
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Mumbai
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Authentic Kerala village experience”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent 2 nights this past Diwali break with Dr. Joseph and Mrs. Cecily Poopally - what a beautiful experience. We stayed in the room facing the backwaters. It was simple but clean with comfortable beds, air conditioning, 24 hours running water and electricity. The Poopallys are in their early 80s and 70s but you would never guess given their boundless energy, enthusiasm and generosity towards their guests. Dr Poopally was very happy to entertain us with bits of kerala history, culture, family stories and mrs Poopally fed us the most delicious, delicately spiced suriani food. Each meal consisted of at least 2-3 vegetables or curries and no item was repeated during our stay. Non vegetarians will love the fish and chicken curries she makes - my husband said they were brilliant. What's more they grow almost everything the cook or have to offer - spices, exotic fruits, vegetables, rice, coconuts even their own cacao, chicken and fish intheir pond. Ask Dr Poopally to take you on a garden tour- he even gave me plant cuttingsto take back home! Loved this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamboMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is the ideal place for those travelers who want to truly feel what it means to live on the famous canals of Kerala
Anicent house is situated on the bank of a canal in the shadow of a magical garden. This place is in 12 kilometers from the bustling Allappi. Sitting on the terrace adjacent to the guest house or on the swing-beds in the garden for hours watching life on the water and the hypnotic flow of river's water, you come into your internal spheres and feel real union with nature.

Whenever you want to change the view you can take a motor boat or canoe and explore other channels. The owner of a luxury motor-boat, Anthony, will be happy to show and tell all hidden places. Boat moors directly to the porch at home.

I took the boat for three hours and it cost me 1050 Rs., which is special price for guests. Do not even try to find a boat by yourself because this is the best deal on price and quality.

What else can you do here besides boating?
Walk on the narrow paths along the canals to see the real life that is not available for those who travel on well-advertised trips to houseboats. Try a massage in the Ayurveda-center which is located within walking distance, go to the beach (half an hour on a rickshaw).

But the house itself is the main attraction of channels and has so relaxing atmosphere that you can not even imagine what you need to go somewhere. Even at the beach do not want to.
You can try the delicious food of Kerala only here, because all restaurants offer something looks like fake comparing Pooppallys's cuisine. So it is strongly recommended to taste the culinary wonders from this house before visiting any local restaurants.

Guest rooms are located in the main house and two detached houses. Large guest house is situated in the garden, away from all buildings and it is the best choice for romantic couples. There is no river but there is a goldfish pond, always in shadow, and no one will disturb privacy.

Little house on the river is suited by two rooms and it is the perfect shelter for writers, artists and those who just need to be gathered with thoughts.
The hotel capacity is good for eight couples.
All rooms are equiped by private facilities, hot water, etc. The rooms have no TV but it is not needed at this beauty of nature. For those who can not live without flashing blue screen the TV set is in the common room which is also living room. The living room has extensive library.

The main treasure of this place is home owners. I enjoyed every minute with atmosphere is surrounded by real and exlellent educated companions. Our conversations gave my many interesting knowledge and much intellectual pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuslanaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Truly amazing place... Run by Mr. Pooppally and his wife is of the finest examples of hospitality. I only stayed for the weekend, but was welcomed warmy by the host. Despite the fact that arrived late at night, Mrs. Pooppally was kind enough to prepare a quick dinner for me. The house is 115 years old, beautifully furnished with the old teak wood and spotlessly clean. It is located just at the shore at the river, with very nice view and peaceful surroundings. My room, facing the river, was simple but had everything I needed. Don't expect the modern resort-style ambience. This place has the history of its own. Very good local food prepared by Mrs. Pooppally, fantastic wine her husband makes of nutmeg, quiet atmosphere and historical elegance - I simply loved it.

One warning - the location of the hotel that you can see on tripadvisor page is incorrect. In reality the Heritage House is outside of Aleppey town, close to the Nedumundy boat stop.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcinPWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Pooppally's Home Stay is a beautiful, quite and neat heritage house just along a wide canal in the marvellous Kerala Backwaters area.
The house is owned by the lovely Pooppally family who received us with warmth and took much care of us. Prof. Joseph is a nice, cultivated man that showed us the charming ayurvedic and spice garden of the property and told us about the history of his family and the region.
His wife and daughter have been very kind and helpful and we enjoyed their delicious kitchen! Their nice grandaughters have been also very friendly and played with our kids.
The house has different rooms. The ones directly on the canal are the best, very clean and well furnished. But the very best are the ones in the ancient teak house that Prof. Joseph took from the hills and rebuilt in it's exact shape in his garden. An ancient, classical teak wood house perfectly restored, with wide, beautiful bedrooms, large bathrooms completely new and a pleasant porch to relax on the river. We spent there only 1 day but would like to stay more! Mr. Pooppally's also arranges Ayurvedic treatments in the local clinic and taxi transfer on request. Moreover the boathouse we've booked came directly to pick us up in front of the house. Beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polli73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We elected to stay at Poopallys and to forgo the overnight boat ride . . .and are we glad we did! Compared to the overnight boats, which seem like these behometh boats that simply lumber down the center of the main canals, we experienced Keralan life up close and personal thanks to the wonderful hospitality of Joseph and Cicely. They are charming people to be around and really make you feel at home, especially with Cicely's great cooking. And Joseph arranged for a 3 hour day boat trip that was enough and allowed us to observe the daily life along the canals that are for sure too narrow for most of the boats. We wished we had planned to stay another night.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Everything of importance, food,service, rooms and most importantly the people really couldn't have been better! We stayed a week and could have stayed longer. Joseph and Cicely are lovely, open and generous people with great knowledge and humour. We hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jogordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Among the best places I have stayed in. Location is fantastic - just by the river. Me and my girlfriend spent many early mornings jsut waiting for the sunrise, watching the scenes of the river life - small boats passing by, the chimes from the temple on the other bank.

Advice - bring along some RK Narayan books - you will go back to a Malgudi days era (Yes -yes, I know this is not Karnataka!).

Pros - Heritage rooms (bewarned - it is NOT luxurious, but has character. Kids may not always enjoy themselves if they are used to resorts with games and videogames), TV, Old style furniture, location, food (excellent South Indian food). Excellent value for money. Great company.

Cons - Some furniture is old (Part of the decor, but if you want more modern rooms, there is no choice),

Place is not easy to find (right in the middle of backwaters) so you must take a hired cab sent by the homestay (not expensive - about 2 hours ride from Kochi airport - landing in which by the way, is a fantastic experience - in the midst of coconut trees!)

Fields are closeby so you can take good walks in the fields, along the backwaters, the backwater boat ride was good. We also took an overnighter houseboat - a pretty good experience.

Girlfriend likes birding so she had a great time with her binoculars. I like snoozing so I had a great time in the hammocks in the garden.

By the way, there is a real cool cottage in the middle of a pool with swans. Looks more Thai. Excellent massages by local people.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetohangupmyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
2.1 mi away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#32 of 68 in Alappuzha
77 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kurialacherry House
Kurialacherry House
#27 of 195 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kait's Home
Kait's Home
#29 of 195 in Alappuzha
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Rosa Mystica Beach Resort
#43 of 68 in Alappuzha
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tharavad Heritage Resort
Tharavad Heritage Resort
#44 of 195 in Alappuzha
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pooppallys Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pooppallys Heritage Home

Property: Pooppallys Heritage Home
Address: Ponga P.O, Alappuzha 688512, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Pooppallys Heritage Home Alappuzha
Pooppallys Heritage Home Hotel
Pooppallys Heritage Home Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing