We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pooppallys Heritage Home
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed for one night at Dr and Mrs Poopally's Homestay and I have to say it was one of the highlights of our trip to Kerala. On the bend of the river this beautiful home was built by Dr Poopally's Grandfather 150 years ago. The accommodation was in a lovely teak building in the garden - beautiful large rooms with a/c and lovely bathrooms. Dr Poopally and his lovely wife are retired and they look after you wonderfully. Mrs Poopally creates lovely meals and Dr Poopally looks after you the whole time. He has an amazing garden full of herbs and medicinal plants which he will be happy to show you. I cannot recommend this place highly enough and the kindness and friendliness of the host and hostess.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms and all are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonk1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here for one night while backpacking through the area with a friend. We are both 25 and avid travelers of Indian descent.

The location is a bit farther out from the center of town, but in a place like Alleppey, that is probably what you want. We arrived at night and were greeted warmly by Josef. He showed us to a nice, but quaint room that had all the basics and a helpful mosquito net on the bed.

The food was quite good and authentic. Josef makes sure to feed you until you are stuffed, and he also catered to our vegetarian needs. Our favorite parts of the trip was Josef setting up our boat tour with Anthony who took us out for about 3 hours on the backwaters. We just sat on the roof of the boat and enjoyed while he took us through large and small canals and showed us hidden treats like the snake boat and rice paddy fields. This is highly recommended if you do not want to pay and take the time of the houseboat since in my opinion 3 hours was plenty to explore the backwaters. Josef also gave us a great tour of the property and the wonderful plants that grow on it. The nutmeg was definitely an awesome educational treat.

Overall it was Josef and his stories that made this place as great as it was. The home is very nice and comfortable, but do not expect a high-end hotel, even though the price is not too far off. You come here for the solitude and hospitality, and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Just make sure you keep your doors closed when you can to keep the bugs out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicklesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed for 4 wonderful nights here which included my birthday. Cicely and Joseph made it such a special occasion for me - a lovely floral arrangement for our room, a very tasty breakfast and a special evening meal accompanied by Joseph's home made nutmeg wine! A truly relaxing time with hours spent endlessly gazing at the interesting riverside activities right in front of our chalet. Cicely provided a daily mid morning delicious and freshly made fruit drink which was different each day. Joseph ensured that we were never hungry by insisting that we ate more and more of Cicely's excellent home cooking!! A rare treat for sure.

Room Tip: If possible the one on the river bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We spent 2 nights with Dr Joseph and Mrs Cecily Poopally. honestly it was not what we were expecting..it was a bit different from what we had in mind but it was great none the less..it gave us the peaceful and relaxed 2 days that we needed.The hosts are lovely,warm,friendly and energetic people (one would never be able to guess their ages from their energy levels). The place was basic and neat. The view from the room was amazing..the lovely backwaters and waking up to the noise to waves was fantastic.The food cooked by the hostess herself was just divine.The food was authentic local food with just the right amount of spices to suit our tastes.Ofcourse one cant miss out the garden and the spices growing in it..Dr. Joseph personally showed us around the garden and gave us some plants to take back with us.They were extremely helpful couple.All in all a fab place.Though if you are considering this place a few things to note its a bit far from alleppey city so ensure you have everything you need before you get here.Also we felt the place would be much nicer if it was a little better maintained..I appreciate the fact that they want to keep the place rustic and in its original look however the garden could be better maintained, also the rooms.The room was musty and a bit stuffy when we got there.maybe a mosquito net should be provided as we had a huge spider in the room at night and were a bit uncomfortable on the second night..having said that again it was overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with window opening to the backwaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We spent 7 nights here at the beginning of November and had a wonderful time. A lovely family home on the river with fabulous views, a great place to relax. The real joy is Joseph and Cicely who are just amazing hosts and great company. Real home cooking that you probably wouldn't find in a restaurant. If you want to experience the "real Kerala" add Pooppalleys to your itinerary. Thank you again Joseph and Cicely and Lisa for our last night's Keralan banquet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent 2 nights this past Diwali break with Dr. Joseph and Mrs. Cecily Poopally - what a beautiful experience. We stayed in the room facing the backwaters. It was simple but clean with comfortable beds, air conditioning, 24 hours running water and electricity. The Poopallys are in their early 80s and 70s but you would never guess given their boundless energy, enthusiasm and generosity towards their guests. Dr Poopally was very happy to entertain us with bits of kerala history, culture, family stories and mrs Poopally fed us the most delicious, delicately spiced suriani food. Each meal consisted of at least 2-3 vegetables or curries and no item was repeated during our stay. Non vegetarians will love the fish and chicken curries she makes - my husband said they were brilliant. What's more they grow almost everything the cook or have to offer - spices, exotic fruits, vegetables, rice, coconuts even their own cacao, chicken and fish intheir pond. Ask Dr Poopally to take you on a garden tour- he even gave me plant cuttingsto take back home! Loved this place!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamboMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is the ideal place for those travelers who want to truly feel what it means to live on the famous canals of Kerala
Anicent house is situated on the bank of a canal in the shadow of a magical garden. This place is in 12 kilometers from the bustling Allappi. Sitting on the terrace adjacent to the guest house or on the swing-beds in the garden for hours watching life on the water and the hypnotic flow of river's water, you come into your internal spheres and feel real union with nature.

Whenever you want to change the view you can take a motor boat or canoe and explore other channels. The owner of a luxury motor-boat, Anthony, will be happy to show and tell all hidden places. Boat moors directly to the porch at home.

I took the boat for three hours and it cost me 1050 Rs., which is special price for guests. Do not even try to find a boat by yourself because this is the best deal on price and quality.

What else can you do here besides boating?
Walk on the narrow paths along the canals to see the real life that is not available for those who travel on well-advertised trips to houseboats. Try a massage in the Ayurveda-center which is located within walking distance, go to the beach (half an hour on a rickshaw).

But the house itself is the main attraction of channels and has so relaxing atmosphere that you can not even imagine what you need to go somewhere. Even at the beach do not want to.
You can try the delicious food of Kerala only here, because all restaurants offer something looks like fake comparing Pooppallys's cuisine. So it is strongly recommended to taste the culinary wonders from this house before visiting any local restaurants.

Guest rooms are located in the main house and two detached houses. Large guest house is situated in the garden, away from all buildings and it is the best choice for romantic couples. There is no river but there is a goldfish pond, always in shadow, and no one will disturb privacy.

Little house on the river is suited by two rooms and it is the perfect shelter for writers, artists and those who just need to be gathered with thoughts.
The hotel capacity is good for eight couples.
All rooms are equiped by private facilities, hot water, etc. The rooms have no TV but it is not needed at this beauty of nature. For those who can not live without flashing blue screen the TV set is in the common room which is also living room. The living room has extensive library.

The main treasure of this place is home owners. I enjoyed every minute with atmosphere is surrounded by real and exlellent educated companions. Our conversations gave my many interesting knowledge and much intellectual pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuslanaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.4 mi away
Motty's Homestay
Motty's Homestay
#30 of 69 in Alappuzha
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#13 of 69 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 69 in Alappuzha
187 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
7.5 mi away
Kait's Home
Kait's Home
#36 of 204 in Alappuzha
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pooppallys Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pooppallys Heritage Home

Address: Ponga P.O, Alappuzha 688512, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £52 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Pooppallys Heritage Home Alappuzha
Pooppallys Heritage Home Hotel
Pooppallys Heritage Home Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing