We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful heritage homestay run by elderly couple”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pooppallys Heritage Home
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful heritage homestay run by elderly couple”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Pooppallys
A beautiful old heritage homestay right on the water where you can relax on the veranda and watch the goings on of the river. Slightly neglected and run down when we were there due to the absence from illness of the maintenance staff. Wifi was provided in the dining room.
Lovely meals provided by the aging Joseph's wife Cicely, but one can't help feeling that his days of running the homestay alone are numbered. It is rather like being looked after yet feeling responsible for one's aging parents. Joseph has all his mental faculties but it would be better if they had someone to help serve the meals and welcome the guests and let him get on with being the expansive and generous host he is.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalindromeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our visit to Poopallys was a highlight of our trip. This was a great alternative to a houseboat to see life on the backwaters. Not only was Dr Joseph incredibly hospitable, he also had excellent suggestions for Ayurvedic treatments and a three-hour boat trip around the smaller backwaters. Our redwood bungalow looked over the river and had a back to nature feel. The experience was great value for money.The food was fantastic (including the best chicken biriyani I had in Kerala) and Dr Joseph was always happy to spend time to answer questions about Kerala.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucilu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were collected from the railway station after an overnight train trip from Goa and led to our clean and comfortable room in one of the most peaceful beautiful locations I have stayed. The waterfront location is idyllic and there are pathways along the waterfront to the local village.

The food at pooppallys was some of the best we experienced in India, a wide selection at every meal and the opportunity to try authentic dishes. We have not found anything like it since returning to Sydney.

The hosts are warm and generous people. nothing is too much trouble. They were very helpful in organising a driver for us and arranging for our prebooked houseboat tour to pick us up from out the front of Poopallys. The host runs complementary spice tour of his garden which was a great experience.

Note. We stayed in 2008, not 2012, as per below.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoB1Kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We can't thank Paul and Cecily enough for allowing us to share their beautiful home and for taking such good care of us. We were only going to stay a couple of nights but ended up staying five - we didn't want to leave. The location was ideal, right on the river (a much better choice than a houseboat), very quiet and relaxing. The room was clean, comfortable and quite lovely, and Cecily's food was amazing - we were introduced to so many new and delicious dishes, home cooked mostly with ingredients right from their garden. Paul arranged our drivers, boat tours and made sure we had whatever we needed, and we thoroughly enjoyed some great conversation. We hope to have the opportunity to stay with them again one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We chose Pooppallys as an alternative to taking a houseboat, and are so pleased that we did.

The house is authentic, beautifully situated on the river, and comfortable if somewhat dated. The home-cooked meals were delicious and used produce from the amazing garden (ask for a tour). Paul arranged massages at the local Ayurvedic centre and for a backwaters tour in a motor lauch which took us into the small canals for a real taste of backwaters life. Both recommended. Take the public ferry into Allepy too, lots of fun meandering from bank to bank picking up passengers.

What really made the stay special was the sense of being welcomed by the whole family. This was a memorable Christmas.

There are mosquitos, impossible to avoid in the backwaters, but they didn't disturb us in our aircon room.

Room Tip: The air conditioned river view room attached to the main house suited us well. Lovely to wake up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CbgTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This place is great if you want to chill out and admire the view of the river, which is pretty amazing from the back of the house. Paul was lovely and made us feel at home. The room was okay.. No toilet paper though and we didn't seem to have any hot water. The food was very nice and the family are all very friendly! It is located outside of Alleppey so if you do want to go to the beach etc or to go anywhere it is a good 15 minute auto ride. Paul arranged transport so we could visit other places which all worked out great.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpinjac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedsport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

A unique home-stay in Kerala backwaters
This particular home-stay is unique in many wonderful ways. The location I believe is a one of kind and stunningly beautiful at a bend on a canal lined with coconut trees on both sides. By taking a motor boat (recommended by host) you cruise the smaller canals that the Tourist Houseboats are unable to do. The Pooppally home is over a100 years old unique in its Kerala style architecture and use of wood in its construction. The cottage on a pond is all wood and has a warm antique feel to it. Modern facilities were provided to make our stay comfortable. The place is surrounded by a garden full of flowers, vegetables, fruits and medicinal plants. There is a fish pond where Joseph farms his own fish that he serves his guests too. Joseph is an encyclopedia of knowledge. He was a professor at a top university in Mumbai. He is a truly generous host (great conversationalist) and 82 is a living statement to his eco/yogic way of healthy living. Lucy is an expert cook who gives classes in Kerala cooking and serves some of the most delicious home-cooked foods many from her own garden.This is a rare experience on the Kerala tour. These types of homes and families are slowly disappearing in India too and only family members and close family friends are welcomed into such homes and families the way Joseph and Lucy welcome their guests. You stay here to feel the true beauty of the Kerala backwaters in a non-touristy way. You stay here to experience eco-living with a traditional Kerala family in a traditional Kerala family home and you enjoy Kerala home cooked food. You stay here to enjoy an experience that is like no other in Alleppey or for that matter in Kerala.

Room Tip: Rooms have a canal view. Cottages is secluded and in the front of the house with no view of the cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafriReedsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#20 of 67 in Alappuzha
53 reviews
2.1 mi away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#33 of 67 in Alappuzha
77 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 67 in Alappuzha
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#26 of 67 in Alappuzha
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akkarakalam Memoirs
Akkarakalam Memoirs
#55 of 151 in Alappuzha
77 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pooppallys Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pooppallys Heritage Home

Property: Pooppallys Heritage Home
Address: Ponga P.O, Alappuzha 688512, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Pooppallys Heritage Home Alappuzha
Pooppallys Heritage Home Hotel
Pooppallys Heritage Home Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing