We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly disappointing”
Review of Raheem Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raheem Residency
Ranked #32 of 210 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked the Raheem Residency via Mr and Mrs Smith, but sadly it really didnt live up to expectations. By Keralan standards its expensive, and after a pleasant welcome we were hoping that the experience would match the splendour of the surroundings. Our room was lovely, the building gorgeous, but sadly the overall feeling was that nobody was really bothered whether the service lived up to expectations or not. The breakfasts were mediocre - more due to a feeling that nobody was bothering to look after you than poor food (although our dosa's were awful) , pool service was not reliable, morning showers were consistently cold, and compared to every other hotel we'd stayed in on this KerAla trip they didn't seem to get that it's all about the people - feeling like their is pride/buy in to what they do. We're not five star junkies - our holiday has been a mix of home stays and other small hotels, but we like the occasional splurge. If that's what you want, then I'd splurge elsewhere! Such a shame as there Re all the right raw materials here. The exception to all of this was the restaurant in the evenings where the food matched anything we've had anywhere else.

Room Tip: We had one of the deluxe rooms called Raheem - it was really nice and I think larger and more privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GediNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Exquisitely beautiful restored bungalow, full of antiques. We stayed in a room with an amazing four poster bed complete with engravings of the Taj Mahal. The pool was a lovely treat. We enjoyed the restaurant, with its lofty perch offering a private view of the beach (amazing to look up from my novel at breakfast and see camels parading on the sand in front of the Arabian Sea) and its fine menu. The staff was friendly and helpful. The place was full of interesting sculptures, architectural adornments, and fresh flowers floating in urns. A dream!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Like most reviewers, we loved RR. We had a superior room - with air con, good fan, huge bed, good bathroom. They are next to the nice little pool and are a cool spot to get out of the heat. The staff are courteous and friendly. They will organise everything for you if you wish - backwater tour (a whole 9 berth houseboat to ourselves, with a really fantastic lunch, one of the most relaxing things I have ever done), trips around town, tour to see temples (lower your expectations!) and a car plus driver for the next part of our tour. they also got us into a hotel in Munnar that we were unable to reserve ourselves. The restaurant is nice and the food was really good, especially the local veg curry.
We mark it as 4 stars because it is not cheap at 170 euros per night and there were too many things where you expect attention to detail for that price that weren't quite up to scratch: hot water runs out if you aren't up early (they tried to help, but couldn't solve the issue), no mosquito nets (they smoke out the rooms with hot charcoal in the evenings, but there are a lot of mosquitoes!), the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner.
Having said that, I would still highly recommend RR and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Frostietheboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a feast here for a very reasonable price. All of the dishes were cooked and flavoured well, they serve wine and the upper terrace was a nice place to sit with a bit of a breeze in the Alleppey baking evening heat.

Unfortunately when we came to eat here there was only one other couple eating, which made the atmosphere pretty flat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank L_Smash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Raheem is in a great location, directly across the road from the beach. Unfortunately this also proves to be a problem. The noise from the nightclub a few doors down did not cease until midnight, so an early nights sleep was impossible. The room I stayed in was dark and the key and card operated the air con. This meant when you took the key out of the holder the air con ceased and you returned to a very hot room. ( I learnt later that if you disconnect the key from the plastic tag and leave the tag in the holder then this problem is overcome) I have a feeling we were not told of this as it was probably an energy saver solution.
The restaurant is upstairs and access is by a wrought iron spiral staircase. Pretty it may be, but practical it is not. We finally dined in the small courtyard which proved to be the better option, especially if you have young children as they can run around. We were there for Xmas Eve dinner,but one course of the set menu was left off with no reason given, plus we were also charged more than was quoted, however, this was rectified upon paying the bill.
Staff are friendly and efficient, and the pool is lovely.
So, overall a little disappointing really.

Room Tip: Try to get one that is away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cebebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The buildings of the hotel are beautiful, well restored and with a nice atmosphere. Unfortunately, for the high rate they charge we expected more than was delivered. The service level as well as the cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel need improvement. Breakfast was mediocre and the restaurant an overprized tourist trap. We booked a backwater trip for 1 night thru the hotel and I would not recommend the operator used.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Asa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were told that this was an up-market hotel and the prices would suggest the same. We wanted to treat ourselves to a night in a nice hotel so decided to stay. When we got there, the bed-spread had stains all over it and the face cream in the bathroom had been half used. The shower curtain did not reach the bath so the floor flooded when you had a shower. The tiles had mould between them. We went for lunch and things did not get better. Every single table had a dead flower on it. I asked for no chilly in my lunch and it came so hot that I couldn't eat it. When I complained, there was no apology or anything else offered. When I complained to the GM, she didn't really care. The water in the pool was really cloudy and the sun-loungers were filthy and ripped. On leaving the next day, I asked for a bottle of water for the trip and she was going to charge me 90 rupees for it! When she saw how angry I was, she gave it to me for free. The beach outside has a rusty old pier, no shade or places to eat or drink, groups of young blokes, mangy camels and no life guards for quite a rough and dirty sea. The sunset was good though.The management and staff need changing or re-training as it was not a pleasant experience and we felt ripped-off when we paid the bill. We met another couple from NZ staying there and they were disappointed too. They have a restaurant next door which is fairly rough and ready but the service is much better at half the price.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay in any of the rooms unless you have proof that they have raised their standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosie_r_reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
21.6 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.8 mi away
Thevercad Homestay
Thevercad Homestay
#11 of 210 in Alappuzha
109 reviews
8.9 mi away
Purity at Lake Vembanad
Purity at Lake Vembanad
#2 of 177 in Alappuzha
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
6.7 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#1 of 177 in Alappuzha
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#29 of 70 in Alappuzha
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheem Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheem Residency

Address: Beach Road | alappuzha, Alappuzha 688012, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: £71 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raheem Residency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raheem Residency at Alleppey Beach, one hour south of Cochin, is an 1868 colonial property which was passionately restored in a classic, Indian style in 2003 by a small Indo-European private limited company. It is now recognized by the Tourism Dept of India as a genuine Heritage Hotel of India. Originally built by an Englishman, it was the home of the Raheems, an eminent Alleppey family, for one hundred years. Expect an intimate personalized service that respects your privacy in a sophisticated Indian setting with echoes of the Raj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Raheem Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raheem Residency Hotel Alappuzha
Raheem Residency Alappuzha
Raheem Residency Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing