We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”
Review of Raheem Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raheem Residency
Ranked #31 of 223 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is truly the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. It is packed with gorgeous antiques, photographs and paintings – it is almost like staying in a fine arts museum. The pool area is lovely and every inch is kept spotless. The food is good and the portions plentiful. And the location couldn't be better – it faces a huge beach. This is used by the local population so is tremendous fun. lots of people selling their wares and families taking a walk in the evenings. It really is beautiful. The only reason I did not mark the Raheem as excellent is because there is a tendency to mark up prices when, say, guests need to book cabs, boat trips, etc. So, my advice would be to organise such extras for yourself or to negotiate. We learned this a little too late to benefit, though we did mangage to get the price of our cab down to what it would have been had we booked it ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Raheem Residency is a beautiful, well restored colonial property. All of rooms are individually furnished and the common areas are delightful, oozing colonial charm. We stayed in the Raheem Room , which had a huge, partially open air bathroom. Raheem Residency is well situated across the road from the beach, where the locals gather to watch the sunset. The food in the restaurant was good, as was the food in the cafe/ bar next door also owned by Raheem. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed our stay here. Just one word of warning, be aware that due to the nature of the building, the rooms are a little on the dark side, but we soon got used to this.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have just returned from a wonderful trip to India and the one of the highlights for me was staying at Raheem Residency. It was just a little slice of heaven. We received such a warm welcome. The staff could not have been more attentive to our needs. The rooms were beautiful and the food was top class. I found it to be a very restful haven. I hope to have an opportunity to return again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was such a nice hotel - very cosy and welcoming. Food was great and staff charming. My toddler enjoyed it too - it is just on the beach where you can see camels and walking distance from a brilliant playground. We slept very well indeed here - probably because we spent a lot of time in the pool...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I thought the room may have been noisy being on the front, but it wasn't. Appreciated the calm and cool. It was good to have a pool. A handy location facing the beach-good for watching sunsets & the skilful frisbee throwers and only a short ride into the town. The restaurant is up a spiral staircase.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We didn't stay here but my husband booked a massage for me here for my birthday. It was fairly priced and I left feeling relaxed and happy. We had dinner here as well. Lovely ambiance and food was decent. We suggest making dinner reservations around sunset.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked the Raheem Residency via Mr and Mrs Smith, but sadly it really didnt live up to expectations. By Keralan standards its expensive, and after a pleasant welcome we were hoping that the experience would match the splendour of the surroundings. Our room was lovely, the building gorgeous, but sadly the overall feeling was that nobody was really bothered whether the service lived up to expectations or not. The breakfasts were mediocre - more due to a feeling that nobody was bothering to look after you than poor food (although our dosa's were awful) , pool service was not reliable, morning showers were consistently cold, and compared to every other hotel we'd stayed in on this KerAla trip they didn't seem to get that it's all about the people - feeling like their is pride/buy in to what they do. We're not five star junkies - our holiday has been a mix of home stays and other small hotels, but we like the occasional splurge. If that's what you want, then I'd splurge elsewhere! Such a shame as there Re all the right raw materials here. The exception to all of this was the restaurant in the evenings where the food matched anything we've had anywhere else.

Room Tip: We had one of the deluxe rooms called Raheem - it was really nice and I think larger and more privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GediNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.1 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#11 of 70 in Alappuzha
68 reviews
10.2 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
391 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#3 of 223 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
3 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
3.4 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheem Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheem Residency

Address: Beach Road | alappuzha, Alappuzha 688012, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: £50 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raheem Residency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raheem Residency at Alleppey Beach, one hour south of Cochin, is an 1868 colonial property which was passionately restored in a classic, Indian style in 2003 by a small Indo-European private limited company. It is now recognized by the Tourism Dept of India as a genuine Heritage Hotel of India. Originally built by an Englishman, it was the home of the Raheems, an eminent Alleppey family, for one hundred years. Expect an intimate personalized service that respects your privacy in a sophisticated Indian setting with echoes of the Raj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raheem Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raheem Residency Hotel Alappuzha
Raheem Residency Alappuzha
Raheem Residency Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing