We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for tourists” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Cuttack
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not for tourists”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Arcadia Regency in Allepy, Kerala is a very average business hotel and really not suited for tourists.
Rooms are fairly expensive and not up to par. It is located in a dirty and dusty locality - you just can not take a walk ouside this hotel and be safe from traffic. Limited parking facilities in the front, rather noisy and dusty.
Limited room service with short menu from 7am till 10.30pm, no tea/coffee tray service in rooms and average quality food for the price paid.
No wireless Internet in rooms. Newspapers are not delivered to rooms but are available in the lounge.
Fairly clean and free of bugs, the premises are OK for a business hotel. TV in rooms and hot water without problems in the shower. No good views from this hotel which is far from the sea.
Not a place for tourists expecting to enjoy their stay in this city.

Room Tip: Take a deluxe double bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panditashok7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    55
    36
    14
    27
See reviews for
74
47
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Booked the hotel after going on the 2 day backwater cruise. The hotel was close to the disembarking spot, around 20 mins ride from the rickshaw. The hotel room itself was quite cheap as we booked in only for day. However, the room was not in good condition, the room was spacious but not clean, there were cockroaches all over in the bath and the shower as well as bath was very dirty. The swimming pool on the top of the hotel was very dirty, there was algae on the tiles of the pool, which means that the pool was definitively not cleaned periodically. it was good that we were staying in the hotel only for transit as more than 2 days in the hotel would not have been good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godspeed4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel definitely impresses upon arrival by its spacious lobby but does not keep that standard into the rooms. We stayed only for one before taking a houseboat trip on the backwaters and paid around 4.500 INR for two adults and a 10-year old kid. Upon entering our room, we had to ask the staff to completely exchange all bedsheets as they were not clean. This having said, the quality of the restaurant where we had dinner and breakfast (both in form of buffets) was OK.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwettig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here on the night prior to taking our houseboat trip the next day (it was booked by the houseboat folks). While there was hot water and toilet paper (a rarity in the average Indian hotel especially South Indian ones), the towels were dirty. The bathrooms still smelled despite apparently being sanitized "for my protection". Request for 2 clean towels were responded to by delivering just one semi-clean towel.

The only thing that would keep from completely panning this hotel was that the food in the restaurant below was ok. They had more variety that I would have expected, and so this was a welcome surprise (although not much when you compare to a real 4 star hotel). Although the coconut chutney that they make for b'fast in the AM was extremely watery.

This is only a 3-star hotel, btw (heck that's all they themselves call it). There's no internet wifi or anything else. The beds were a bit hard and the fixtures in the rooms looked like they were ready to fall off. There was A/C, although the fans only seemed to have 1 speed (superfast, thus making a lot of noise). Since we were only staying here a night, its probably the best we could do.

Room Tip: Make sure your towels are clean. If not, ask for clean towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobokenworkingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Our stay started poorly with soaking wet toilet paper and used towels in our bathroom and went downhill. The hotel couldn't manage to replace our towels or the toilet paper. They had no towels by the pool and no toilet paper in the dining room bathroom (notice a theme?). There were children running around the hallways screaming all night. The lights in the hallway and some of the bulbs in the rooms were out and hadn't been replaced. The bathroom drain was blocked so every shower resulted in a lake across the entire bathroom.

When I spoke to the manager about our concerns, he assured me we would get better service. The next time I asked for toilet paper (we still had none), I waited 20 min and gave up.

It's hard to remember a more incompetent hotel with such high rates -- and I've lived in developing countries for the last ten years.

Room Tip: Ask for something clean and quiet -- though not sure if they have such a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alappuzha hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I had been with family to this hotel while on my Kerala trip.
The rooms here are good and well furnished.
The staff is cooperative and pleasant.
The service is OK. Also the food is OK.
This hotel is located in the centre of the city so there is no natural view or scenic beauty available here.
However, the hotel is good to stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiravS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

On entering the beautiful appointed lobby, you'll get a sense of exceptional hotel amenities and personal service, the lobby is very spacious for sitting areas.
All rooms are well furnished in soothing shades and the designer tile flooring is speechless. The rooms are equipped with direct dial telephones, internet access and televisions.
The menu of GRANARY WOODS - a specialty restaurant offers a consumers a comprehensive breakfast, lunch and dinner selection raging from the traditional to innovative. The 24hrs or round the clock coffee shop called 'Online Blues' with internet cafe is too good. They serve fresh and delicious food. They have good and very polite staff.
The overall facilities they provide are:-
Resturants and Bars
Roof top Swimming Pool with Jacuzzi
Coffee Shop
Laundry
Backwater Cruise
Baggage Storage
Valet Service
Car Rental Desk

Overall a very good hotel to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good but if you want to swim then it would be better if you take the top floor be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkyharsh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#20 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alleppey Prince Hotel
Alleppey Prince Hotel
#48 of 67 in Alappuzha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
#52 of 67 in Alappuzha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Bonanza
Hotel Bonanza
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey

Property: Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey
Address: Near Iron Bridge, Alappuzha 688001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Regency Alleppey
Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing