We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The hotel's location is convenient; it has a very grand lobby & the staff is pleasant & helpful. For a not cheap '3-star business' hotel, the rooms are plain & dingy w/ narrow beds & thin mattresses & no amenities like a safe or fridge or toiletries. What I really did not like was the breakfast: rather minimal selection of food & juice & tea served in paper cups. For the money, I expect a lot more.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tm8405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Arcadia Regency in Allepy, Kerala is a very average business hotel and really not suited for tourists.
Rooms are fairly expensive and not up to par. It is located in a dirty and dusty locality - you just can not take a walk ouside this hotel and be safe from traffic. Limited parking facilities in the front, rather noisy and dusty.
Limited room service with short menu from 7am till 10.30pm, no tea/coffee tray service in rooms and average quality food for the price paid.
No wireless Internet in rooms. Newspapers are not delivered to rooms but are available in the lounge.
Fairly clean and free of bugs, the premises are OK for a business hotel. TV in rooms and hot water without problems in the shower. No good views from this hotel which is far from the sea.
Not a place for tourists expecting to enjoy their stay in this city.

Room Tip: Take a deluxe double bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panditashok7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Booked the hotel after going on the 2 day backwater cruise. The hotel was close to the disembarking spot, around 20 mins ride from the rickshaw. The hotel room itself was quite cheap as we booked in only for day. However, the room was not in good condition, the room was spacious but not clean, there were cockroaches all over in the bath and the shower as well as bath was very dirty. The swimming pool on the top of the hotel was very dirty, there was algae on the tiles of the pool, which means that the pool was definitively not cleaned periodically. it was good that we were staying in the hotel only for transit as more than 2 days in the hotel would not have been good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank godspeed4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel definitely impresses upon arrival by its spacious lobby but does not keep that standard into the rooms. We stayed only for one before taking a houseboat trip on the backwaters and paid around 4.500 INR for two adults and a 10-year old kid. Upon entering our room, we had to ask the staff to completely exchange all bedsheets as they were not clean. This having said, the quality of the restaurant where we had dinner and breakfast (both in form of buffets) was OK.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwettig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here on the night prior to taking our houseboat trip the next day (it was booked by the houseboat folks). While there was hot water and toilet paper (a rarity in the average Indian hotel especially South Indian ones), the towels were dirty. The bathrooms still smelled despite apparently being sanitized "for my protection". Request for 2 clean towels were responded to by delivering just one semi-clean towel.

The only thing that would keep from completely panning this hotel was that the food in the restaurant below was ok. They had more variety that I would have expected, and so this was a welcome surprise (although not much when you compare to a real 4 star hotel). Although the coconut chutney that they make for b'fast in the AM was extremely watery.

This is only a 3-star hotel, btw (heck that's all they themselves call it). There's no internet wifi or anything else. The beds were a bit hard and the fixtures in the rooms looked like they were ready to fall off. There was A/C, although the fans only seemed to have 1 speed (superfast, thus making a lot of noise). Since we were only staying here a night, its probably the best we could do.

Room Tip: Make sure your towels are clean. If not, ask for clean towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobokenworkingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Our stay started poorly with soaking wet toilet paper and used towels in our bathroom and went downhill. The hotel couldn't manage to replace our towels or the toilet paper. They had no towels by the pool and no toilet paper in the dining room bathroom (notice a theme?). There were children running around the hallways screaming all night. The lights in the hallway and some of the bulbs in the rooms were out and hadn't been replaced. The bathroom drain was blocked so every shower resulted in a lake across the entire bathroom.

When I spoke to the manager about our concerns, he assured me we would get better service. The next time I asked for toilet paper (we still had none), I waited 20 min and gave up.

It's hard to remember a more incompetent hotel with such high rates -- and I've lived in developing countries for the last ten years.

Room Tip: Ask for something clean and quiet -- though not sure if they have such a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tr4velBugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I had been with family to this hotel while on my Kerala trip.
The rooms here are good and well furnished.
The staff is cooperative and pleasant.
The service is OK. Also the food is OK.
This hotel is located in the centre of the city so there is no natural view or scenic beauty available here.
However, the hotel is good to stay overall.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiravS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.2 mi away
Royale Park Hotel
Royale Park Hotel
#30 of 70 in Alappuzha
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#23 of 70 in Alappuzha
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
#53 of 70 in Alappuzha
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Bonanza
Hotel Bonanza
#20 of 70 in Alappuzha
46 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alleppey Prince Hotel
Alleppey Prince Hotel
#49 of 70 in Alappuzha
85 reviews
6.3 mi away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#32 of 70 in Alappuzha
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey

Address: Near Iron Bridge, Alappuzha 688001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £23 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Regency Alleppey
Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing