We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Lake Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Palace Resort
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

First night of 2 week tour, lovely setting, room good, food average, staff very helpful.Some rooms being re-furbed - don't know if ours had or hadn't as everything was fine. Great place to start the trip and get picked up from hotel jetty onto houseboat.

Room Tip: go Lakeside but, as a result, be prepared for the mosses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donkeede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel has all the required amenities for a business trip. They have ample meeting rooms, great outdoor party area, activity centre and so on. I did not find the hotel bad. Rooms are good enough - depending on your luck :) there is a wing that has old school type rooms and new wing which has more sophisticated ones. Even the older ones are not bad at all. I did not find the service bad whatsoever. Yes, rent is high.

Room Tip: There are new rooms with electronic keys (as opposed to metal keys) - they are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srilakshmi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I went to this resort for a business purpose.I liked the location very much.The place is like an island surrounded mostly by back waters. The place is blessed with beautiful greenery and backwaters.I enjoyed the boat cruise. The room facility is average but cost is comparatively high.I enjoyed the food..especially non veg dishes are good.You can roam about for hours enjoying the natures beauty..There are conference halls to conduct conferences and business meetings.there's also a riverside restaurant.The only problem I encountered was poor road conditions.

Room Tip: try to choose rooms facing away from main water body ,and prefer ones towards back waters in between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeenaanniephilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Owesome location & well maintained property with lush green gardens & open back water/private lake that adds to the charm . 3 Nights that i spent was a WOW experience that helped me rejuvinate well.
Quality of food & Room service needs to be improved though .

Room Tip: Ask for rooms around lake 200 series , also should reach the Resort by ferry , as the road that lead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandeepTikoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The location of this resort is heavenly. You can access this place by 15 mins. ferry ride as connectivity via road is not recommended because of poor road condition. We spent one night here and we entered this place with a wow expression. A very well maintained huge property, nicely landscaped with private lake inside the resort are highlights of this place. The most impressive thing was thoughtfully placed swimming pool in the middle of lake so when you sit on pool side bed you see pool on one side and lake on other side. We also enjoyed complimentary evening sunset cruise which passes through narrow backwater sections amidst Kerala's natural greenery.

But there are few things which the resort needs to improve to claim luxury resort status. Service could have been better especially at restaurant. The most disappointing thing was Lighting at night which was horrible. After dinner it was difficult for us to reach our room without hitting any bushes or curb stone. We used our phone torch light to reach our room safely. Another issue which left a bad taste was that while we booked a lake view cottage, the view from our cottage was completely blocked by houseboats parked right in front. They can easily park these at a bit remote location and get them when guests want to embark.

So overall it was amalgamation of both good and bad experiences.

Room Tip: Make sure that you don't take the lake view cottages close to the end where houseboats are parke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SS_2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is simply appalling & the worst example of a 4 star hotel I’ve ever been subjected to. We booked in for 3 nights & it was the biggest mistake we made in the whole trip & ruined our time in Alleppey.

The fact that this was the highest priced accommodation of our entire trip, costing over $150 per night but was the worst hotel for quality of services makes it scandalous. It was so bad that by the end of the 1st day alone, we were already into double figures of the amount of substandard amenities & service complaints. The final straw came when we retired for the evening to our cottage around 22.45. Within minutes of lights out we were woken by intense hammering close by. Further inspection found a work party had commenced work on the Villa right next door to ours & were going about the task of knocking 10 bells out of the bathroom including the tiles off the wall. I’m not sure what was more astonishing; that a seemingly 4 star International hotel would allow such a thing to happen at such an hour, or the look of bewilderment on the faces of the workmen, when I informed them we were trying to sleep & this was unacceptable. This was reported to the duty manager immediately & did cease for the night.

Next morning after a pretty disastrous night of sleep, due to the noise caused by all the pigeons that nest in the roofs of the villas, we were woken up by loud music being played across the resort at 07.45. It turned out to be the pool attendant with the stereo banging out the latest hits from Rihanna & co to an empty pool complex!!! Again the look on his face when I asked him to turn it down was a picture……I’m sure Rihanna is very good & a popular choice for many, however not at 07.45 in the morning after a restless night’s sleep.

We were so over this resort by this point that we suggested a full refund & that we would leave straight away. The duty manager on shift was a gentleman called Sanjeev & credit where it’s due, he was fantastic. He was very attentive & sympathetic to our frustrations & arranged for a free upgrade that morning. The new villa was a lot quieter but still had issues with faulty safes & no cable TV installed, this was eventually fixed by maintenance but time consuming to guests, when it really shouldn’t have to be that way. Even with the upgrade which was very much appreciated, the rest of the resort still massively flattered to deceive.

The food was not bad but overpriced for the portions & after the 1st night, we decided to get the free shuttle boat into town & dine in Alleppey for the rest of our stay. As for the bar, this was a disaster not waiting to happen but has happened! It boasted one of the most impressive & comprehensive menus I’ve ever seen with every imaginable cocktail, spirit, liquor or beer you can think of on it. In reality though it has about a ¼ of what’s on the menu & for the first two days, the resort did not even have any tonic water! For the last night they had no cold Kingfisher beer…….would you walk into a 4 star hotel in Belgium & find that that they had no cold Stella Artois for their guests? Of course not! The barman Rajeev has not got a clue about bar tendering & the bar is kept in a poor state with cupboard doors lying open with rubbish spilling out of them, it was like this for the whole stay & an eyesore……..this is something you don’t expect to see at high end resorts/hotels. Also with his limited communication skills, Rajeev would be more suited to a non-front of house position as he’s a liability.

Internet again was a single sign on policy; this was then changed when I mentioned the inflated charge rate they were asking for the accommodation. It also states that internet is available in all public areas; however it never worked in the bar which is very much a public place. There’s no mini bar in the rooms which again is something that a 4 star hotel would have as standard.

The staff all try their hardest but it’s a constant struggle. We enquired 4 times in 1 day as to the availability of kayaks & prices so we could go & explore the backwaters. 4 different staff members gave us 4 different prices for this ranging from 200 rupee an hour to 1800 rupee an hour……that’s a massive margin of difference. In the end we went into town & booked through another operator as we didn't trust the resort.

All up this hotel is extremely poor & to the point that I would not even put my dog into kennels here. This hotel tries to give the impression of being the Ritz but is nothing short of being the pits. The only saving grace it has is that Sanjeev (duty manager) was superb & tried to rectify everything to a successful conclusion, however with the resort being in the state it is, all his work is going to be as fruitful as the captain of the Titanic trying to bail out his ship with a bucket.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It's a beautiful location but service needs much to be desired. No hot water in the bathrooms, not enough towels, massages are over priced and the taxes are way too high. Food was average. However, the boat cruise was beautiful and the location is fantastic.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Geets S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
4 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 70 in Alappuzha
800 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 70 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
3.3 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
724 reviews
9 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Resort

Address: Thirumala Ward,Alleppey | Chungam, Alappuzha 688011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £86 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Palace is a Five star luxury backwater resort located in Alleppey at the banks of Vembanadu Lake, adjacent to the venue of the legendary Nehru Trophy boat race. Lake Palace Resort represents a quaint tradition, blended with modernity. Its architecture is delightfully Keralite yet comfortably modern and rich in contemporary ethos. Each of its rooms is individually decorated with a dramatic blend of old-world charm and modern accessories. While the Lake View Cottages feature a cozy lounge with mini bar, refrigerator, television, king size bedroom, en-suite bathroom with hot & cold running water and 24 hours room service, the Water Villas offer the rare feeling of being afloat. Its facilities include king size bedrooms that are beautifully appointed rooms with wooden furniture, en-suite bathrooms and 24 hours room service. Every balcony at Lake View Cottage offers a unassailable view of the unruffled Vembanadu Lake where the traditional country boats & canoes cruise gently along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Hotel Alappuzha
Lake Palace Alappuzha
Lake Palace Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing