We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location ₹ food; service & functionality can improve” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Palace Resort
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location ₹ food; service & functionality can improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We booked months in advance to attend the Nehru Trophy Snake Boat race, as the hotel was recommended on the race website & well reviewed here. The location on the banks of the lake, a few km outside of the city proper, is idilc. The water is lapping at walls (and during monsoon season, splashing over the walls despite sandbags) and you couldn't be closer. The cottages are on stilts right over a pond and the other rooms line the lake shore. You can see the race course pavilions across the lake.

The restaurant was really good. During our weekend stay we had all our meals at the hotel (one dinner we had room service). There are enough local specialities to keep you dining Kerala style for the weekend. Breakfast buffet is good, but doesn't change much day-to-day (sufficient variety for a long weekend, but I'm not sure how much longer). The buffet is really picked over about an hour before b'fast ends and you have to ask the staff to replenish it (it's a shame they don't do so automatically). We were pleasantly surprised to find some imported wine at a reasonable (for India) price properly chilled & served. The hotel even had a snack box for us to take to the race.

We had a "recently renovated" room on the lake, a ground floor. The hotel photos accurately reflect what the room looks like: spacious, wooden furniture in the local style, small seating area, terrace open to the lake. The linens were fine, the towels could have been nicer (a little thin and dingy).

Now the maintenance staff were very nice-- but the fact I even know the maintenance staff is an issue. There were numerous problems: we lost power (whilst were charging our cameras/phones before the races) -- a problem unique to our room which did not get resolved before the race (leaving us battery charge deficient); later we lost hot water which resulted in cold showers until that could be fixed - again, unique to our room; the TV wasn't working (apparently the wrong remotes were in the room); and once we finally got hot water, the bath tub started spouting red/brown water (at that point we gave up on using the large bath, we couldn't face another visit from maintenance). I know these are "first world problems", but when your paying for a luxury experience, this is not expected. And recall, this was just a weekend visit.

There are a few other things that are problematical: firstly, there are not enough buggies/golf cart for a resort this size. We waited over 30mins for cart despite numerous calls to reception where the told us one was in its way. Leave extra time for this a checkout and, in the meantime, be prepared to walk everywhere. Secondly, as you're walking everywhere be mindful of polished marble/stone floors without door mats that make building and room (with polished steps!) slip hazards. I fell - hard - at reception. Given the water everywhere (especially during monsoon season), it's like ice skating. Thirdly, and I know the hotel cannot control the behaviour if other guests, but this did impact our stay: the guests in the room above continually threw rubbish (coke cans, water bottles, used tissues) over their balcony down to our terrace. When we complained to the hotel, they shrugged and attributed it to cultural differences (the upstairs guests were not Indian). I confronted the upstairs guests when we caught them in the act -- but what hotel encourages confrontation among guests?

For future visitors to snake boat race: don't think the hotel will be helpful in anyway with respect to the races (aside from the nice box of snacks). Their boat couldn't get us to the pavilion we needed to go to --despite the fact we saw many other private boats, canoes, etc dropping off guests right at the pavilion. They specifically told us NOT to take a boat back when we left the race, but rather to take an an auto rickshaw.... Stupidly, we followed this advice. However, due to VVIP at the hotel (whom the hotel must have know would be visiting), the police shut down the only road to the hotel which forced us to walk 3km over flooded roads and across the paddy field to get back. Of course, once we arrived, there was the 30 min wait for the buggy, and then we had the pleasure of watching all the other race attendees coming back via boat. We felt really mislead & disappointed and tried to raise our concerns to manager --but we were told he was still at the race & would get back to us, but he never did. We had inaccurately presumed that --since they were linked to the snake boat race, which happens every year-- the hotel would provide helpful, accurate race advice and, in all honesty, it felt like they gave us the run around.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DezG499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    102
    50
    13
    15
See reviews for
146
84
2
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our rooms were spacious and very clean - although I was not impressed with the grey and stained towels and the shower cubicle could have done with a good scrub. Hot water took a while to come through - but it did in the end - worth a few minutes wait.
We stayed in a cottage over the lake and the views across to the swimming pool were beautiful.
We couldn't use our balcony at night because of the number of bats nested under the eaves and swooping across our hair - but the children found that quite interesting and exciting.
Staff were friendly enough - particularly Joseph (The restaurant manager I think). Breakfast was excellent (we didn't have any other meals there).
The only things that let the hotel down were - one one morning 3 different people took my order for coffee at breakfast but it never turned up. Also, we ordered a buggy to take us to the restaurant as my daughter was very weak after a tummy bug. I rang twice but it didn't show up and it was quite a walk to the restaurant for her - I had to hold her up.
A couple of sockets in the room were not working but there were a lot of alternative sockets to use.
It's fourteen years since we last visited India and back then, apart from Taj group, there were no hotels even half way decent. I suppose that means our expections on this trip were not super-high. This hotel is luxury compared to what we have had to endure in the past.
We stayed here because we were visiting friends near Alleppy but it's miles away although Taxi's are very cheap and, if we hadn't already got a private car, I'm sure the hotel would have been happy to oblige by sorting one out for us.
Would we stay there again? Yes of course. Unless we find something just as clean and well-appointed but less pricey.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Huge shortage of manpower.. no proper service.. no breakfast.. no water for shower in the most premium category. pathetic experience.. not worth the time n money. Hugely disappointed.. not recommended at all.. I am shocked as to how trip advisor is even rating this property.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adityakalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My family stayed at this hotel in early August and it was a huge disappointment. The sheets on our bed were dirty, the room smelled very strongly of urine, the toilet broke and they charged $40.00 for a smelly extra cot. The hotel is overpriced and the service was poor. A friend whose child was sick in the US was not allowed to use the phone from the lobby to make a local call. We do not recommend staying at this hotel. The Trident hotels in India are less expensive and SO MUCH nicer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This time our stay in this resort was very disappointing considering the clealiness of the rooms especially the towels and linen. Hope they replace it with new ones asap.

Food was OK but the staff are inexperienced and hardly understand your needs

Room Tip: I don't find any of the rooms good for sleeping especially the linen and towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seline_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kollam, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Lake Palace Resort was an amazing experience for us. We were a huge group of 6 families and all of us enjoyed the beautiful scenery and numerous activities. The rooms were spacious and their service was excellent. Their food was very tasty and there was lots of variety dishes. Their swimming pool was large and very fun for everyone. If you didn't want to swim, there were many comfortable chairs and tables on the side. There were many activities to do like boating, swimming, fishing and much more. The Lake Palace Management also provides some extra services like a boat ride to the Alapuzha Junction in case you were checking out and didn't bring a car. All in all, Lake Palace Resort was a luxurious experience that made us realize just how beautiful Kerala is.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent. They all have great accommodation and beautiful scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sureshdamodaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Beautiful location on the backwaters but getting there is a challenge especially during the Monsoon, a narrow bumpy little road. The property is nice and the food was good but this hotel let itself down very badly, the quality of the towels was very poor and I advised the management that I would not take a shower and in fact would barely use these towels to wash the floor in my own house. I rated the hotel "average" because of the property, location and food - let's see if they improve!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the private lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeptPaula1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
3.3 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
11.7 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#19 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
7.5 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
17.3 mi away
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Resort

Property: Lake Palace Resort
Address: Thirumala Ward,Alleppey | Chungam, Alappuzha 688011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Palace Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Palace is a luxury backwater resort located in Alleppey at the banks of Vembanadu Lake, adjacent to the venue of the legendary Nehru Trophy boat race. Lake Palace Resort represents a quaint tradition, blended with modernity. Its architecture is delightfully Keralite yet comfortably modern and rich in contemporary ethos. Each of its rooms is individually decorated with a dramatic blend of old-world charm and modern accessories. While the Lake View Cottages feature a cozy lounge with mini bar, refrigerator, television, king size bedroom, en-suite bathroom with hot & cold running water and 24 hours room service, the Water Villas offer the rare feeling of being afloat. Its facilities include king size bedrooms that are beautifully appointed rooms with wooden furniture, en-suite bathrooms and 24 hours room service. Every balcony at Lake View Cottage offers a unassailable view of the unruffled Vembanadu Lake where the traditional country boats & canoes cruise gently along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lake Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Hotel Alappuzha
Lake Palace Alappuzha
Lake Palace Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing