We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Palace Resort
Nearby Hotels
Punnamada Resort(Alappuzha)
US$174
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The World Backwaters(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Citrus Retreats Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lake Canopy(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$34
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Nova Holidays(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$151
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmgrove Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$71
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
220
137
58
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
137
58
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater villakerala cottageswimming poolpottery makingsunset cruisespeed boatpedal boatingback watersmaintained propertyexcellent propertywelcome drinkgames roombeautiful locationevery eveningrestaurant managergod's own countrykerala style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2009

There are many Hotels which freely uses the title 'Palace'. But the Hotel under review, Lake Palace truly lives upto its name. I had the good fortune of staying there in the month of December- bringing in the New Year - and it was a joyful experience. The ambience has a bit of Caribbean flavour to it. You need to take a boat to reach it, from the heart of Alleppey. It has a wonderful and giant sized Swimming Pool, acres of open space and lawns and even an artificial back-waters and lagoon set-up. In short the ambience is very good. (Yes, the lagoon is artificial and therefore the water is stagnant. It gives out a not-so-pleasent stink sometime in the evenings, and then there is also the ever-present mosquito problem, a bane I am told in Alleppey- but let me not go on and indulge in nit-picking!) The food ser4vice is very top-class and the decor and room cleaniness of the top-drawer. Good value for money. Bargain for the best package, but being 4 -Star, it is a bit-pricey, for the budget traveller. Rs.13,000 for 3 nights for a couple. If you dont mind splurging this is a sure-bet- and value for money.
P.S. There is the mandatory kettuvalam cruise (House Boat), and a traditional Kerala Massage thrown in. Pile on guys!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

My family (Wife, < 2 year old daughter and I) stayed at the lake Palace for 2 nights and 3 days and the experience was fabulous. The property is only reachable by a boat/ferry. Lake Palace provides you the ride to their property from the Jetty Road at Alleppey. The property is very well maintained. The staff are helpful and courteous. The facilities offered are good and many were complementary (Ayurvedic Massage, Sunset Cruise, Boating, Fishing, Speed Cruise). The room in which we stayed had a view of the waterfront from our balcony. Its serene, peaceful and if you have toddlers, its safe too. My daughter had a blast of the time in all the boat rides. We had a MAP (Breakfast/Dinner) plan and we paid for the lunch. The prices on the menu are big city prices (as in Bangalore). The food which we paid for was very good. As an example, We tried the Meen Moili (fish curry) and it was well worth the money we spent. The breakfast and dinner buffet also provides a lot of variety. Overall we had an amazing experience here at the lake palace. I'd definitely recommend it to people. You can opt for this place rather than the pricier 5 star ones at Kumarakom. I guess this is ranked a 3 star property, but we had a 5 star experience (Yes we have stayed at 5 star properties as well)

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank b0ndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We happened to stay at Lake Palace after having a very nice stay at Munnar and Thekkady.
We had seen the website and liked the place.But on arrival,we realised that this was no palace.Only the rates were of palace.

The service and food was terrible.They had all kind of lame excuses for the horrors that we had to undergo during our stay.The only saving grace was the location.

Hope the management takes care of this..

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusBombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We stayed at the Lake Palace as part of our honeymoon after staying on a Houseboat for one night and loved it! Beautifully peaceful. The cabins were clean , spacious and comfortable. As part of our package our room was decorated (see the pic!) and we had a candle light dinner, a speed boat ride and a sunset cruise. All aspects were great! The food wasn't the most fantastic I've eaten but there was a large choice which made finding something easier. The pool was a good size and they also had a games room. The bar was closed on the first night as it was the monthly "dry day" in Kerala! Try the traditional Ayurevedic massages and treatments but beware the massages are rigorous!!! I would recommend the Lake Palace, Alappuzha, as a relaxing, peaceful well maintained resort.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Movielover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the lake palace resort. The location and the setting is terrific. Everything else is below par for a 4 star hotel.

The staff were not friendly, did not understand English and they were hardly trained. In the buffett room, for 2 days running, the staff did not bring back the change until we asked. On the first occassion, they did not leave the full balance owed to us and did not provide any explanation for the short change. When we inquired, the answer was " We do not have any change". This does not abode well at all. On the second night, they simply did not bring any change and had to wait for more than 20 minutes after we inquired.

The resturant tables always appeared "dirty" with basic items always not ready on the table.

When we spoke to the Manager, he was not prepared to listen to our concerns and defended the management. This is hardly encouraging to the customer. Despite assuring us that any short change would have been rectified when checking out, (& how they would identify is a mystry since room number is not written on the bill), they had the audacity to make a charge on the room bill when we haid paid cash, but short changed.

Overall their customer service is non-existent

The buffett food quality was average with not too much change in the selection of the food from one day to next.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 555Camberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews