We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Lake Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Palace Resort
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2007

The good:
- The room was nice, clean and well decorated.
- The food at the buffet was decent. It was much better at the restaurant. They have cultural programs during dinner which is not bad either.
- The sunset cruise provided by the resort was very pleasant.
- The hotel also has a canoe ride, fitted with a motor. It can take you to local places that the big boats cannot. The ride was very enjoyable and the driver was also friendly. Dont miss this one.
But stay away from the water scooter.
- The hammocks tied to the coconut trees by the lake is a nice touch and very relaxing.

The bad:
- when we arrived at the resort, we had to wait for over two hours for our room to become available, after the night long train journey. Make sure you mention what time you need the room.

- We booked a lake view room, but got a kerala style cottage. The staff was not very pleasant when we asked for the room type that we had booked. The lake view room became available on the third day. But we stayed in the same room as we did not want to move all our stuff.

- The staff had a standard answer for everything rather than giving an explanation and finding a remedy. It was "Please ty to understand, Sir"...whatever that means.

- we booked a package directly with the resort. The package had several items like optional upgrade, fruit basket in the room etc..but we did not get any upgrade and there was no fruit basket. minor detail - but gets annoying as you do not want to keep asking for everything that you should be getting.

- They say that they will provide transport to the mainland anytime you want. But the reality is that there are scheduled trips every 3-4 hours and you have to wait for it. We did not have any trouble getting back to the resort from the mainland.

- They need to train their staff better wrt being courteous and helpful to customers. There was one guy at the front desk who refused to change small bils for a 500 when I could see a whole bundle of 50's. His excuse - getting change around there is hard. If it is hard for them, how about for the tourists?

- The Ayurvedic massage center is in a scenic building. Just visit it and dont try to have one. They are very friendly but not very good at what they do. The massage I had was sub-standard and the person who did it outright demanded tips.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank The_Santa_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2007

This was a very luxurious hotel in the middle of the Kerala backwaters. The room was lovely - a water bungalow over the private lake. Reached by boat this hotel was stunning, but i will head a warning you will not want to stay there for more than a couple of nights because you will get bored!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank samloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2007

This was our final destination of a long tour of India, the most expensive hotel and the most disappointing.

It has a wonderful location, is very clean and well laid out with large comfortable chalets. Although you can only access the hotel by boat there is a good service into Alleppey, and they are willing to provide transport as required.

The hotel has a good pool raised above the lake however there are only 10 loungers and a few plastic chairs and the pool attendents allowed some guests to reserve loungers by the payment of "Baksheesh"!! Apart from a few childrens swings there is little else to do around the hotel.

Our main complaing of the hotel is about the food in the restaurant.
The buffett is very poor and the a la carte menu is very expensive. When ordering from the a la carte menu we never received what we ordered and always a much inferior meal to what was on the menu. Eventually we went down to Alleppey for our evening meals which allowed us to eat at less than half the price for a 100 % better meal.

Jenny Banks
Haverhill
UK


  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ernest H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2006

Kadavu Resort on national highway. Very serene and tranquil.
Cottages are well maintained. Ayurveda services seem genuine and effective. -a weeks therapy is really rejuvinative, although prescribed diets make you hungry. Property seems to be well maintained, but boating is substandard.Staff are friendly and english speaking with traditional folded hands gesture of "Namesthe".
Food is done well and tasty, though English wines not available.
A place I desire to recommend
E.K.Bassa, 7,Billine Avenue,Blackburn,Lancashire,BB2 65D, England, U.K.

1  Thank ebassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2006

We stayed in the Lake palace hotel in Alleppey as we could not find any last minute reservations at the Kumarakum Lake Resort and the Coconut Lagoon resort. We were expecting nothing much from Lake Palace as we were disappointed about not getting our prefered hotels. To our amazement the resort was not only beautiful but also very well maintained. We stayed in the Water Villa and it was surrounded by water on all sides. There was only a little bridge to connect us to our cottage. The view from the porch was wonderful with mirror like water and colorful fishes in it. The food at the restaurant was tasty and the staff courteous. There was a complimentary boat ride in the evening which took us into the backwaters for great panoraminc views. You could see houseboats floating quitely in the still waters. The staff makes you feel like royalty. Special mention of the General manager Joseph for being very polite. We stayed 2 blissful nights at the resorts and will highly recommend trying if you are visiting the Kumarakum/ Alleppey areas. Alleppey is known as the Venice of East and Lake Palace makes the experience complete.


9  Thank Nee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Miquel_fer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: احرص على السكن في المبنى الحديث
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMAD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
4 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 70 in Alappuzha
803 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 70 in Alappuzha
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
3.3 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
724 reviews
9 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Resort

Address: Thirumala Ward,Alleppey | Chungam, Alappuzha 688011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £81 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Palace is a Five star luxury backwater resort located in Alleppey at the banks of Vembanadu Lake, adjacent to the venue of the legendary Nehru Trophy boat race. Lake Palace Resort represents a quaint tradition, blended with modernity. Its architecture is delightfully Keralite yet comfortably modern and rich in contemporary ethos. Each of its rooms is individually decorated with a dramatic blend of old-world charm and modern accessories. While the Lake View Cottages feature a cozy lounge with mini bar, refrigerator, television, king size bedroom, en-suite bathroom with hot & cold running water and 24 hours room service, the Water Villas offer the rare feeling of being afloat. Its facilities include king size bedrooms that are beautifully appointed rooms with wooden furniture, en-suite bathrooms and 24 hours room service. Every balcony at Lake View Cottage offers a unassailable view of the unruffled Vembanadu Lake where the traditional country boats & canoes cruise gently along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Hotel Alappuzha
Lake Palace Alappuzha
Lake Palace Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing