We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil oasis for weary souls..”
Review of Kait's Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kait's Home
Ranked #30 of 195 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
göteborg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tranquil oasis for weary souls..”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Arrived to a warm friendly welcome from Josy and staff to this wee pearl of a place! Great bungalow, clean and nicely located on the river with a great veranda to isle away the hours chilling out and waiting for the next meal! Wow! food here was great beautifully served in the river room watching the world float by!
Josy and family were great hosts and very informative on the area and taught me the lowdown on toddy harvesting...interesting taste! Don,t miss the dawn boat tour with Cpt Dicky Knee (sorry u have to be an aussie to get this!) lovely gentleman with a fab boat to greet the dawn and explore the local canals and lakes...forget house boats...stay at Kait´s and do this instead!
Nice wee village near by and beautiful church, check out mass, very religious and and educated area with 10 schools nearby and countless churches, bird sanctuary and river folk, love it...we,ll be back and thanks for the cold cure from Josy.s wonderful mum!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rory c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    32
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
59
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Fantastic Place, right on the the quiet side of backwater, Just speak to Josy and he will organise everything for you, a wonderful host and they serve great home cooked food as well . Rooms were clean and hot water available , We took the Airconditioned room and it the end hardly used it as it gets chilly at night....... U can even have your private water Limo cheap!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spacecopgaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

A great place to stay and relax on the veranda under the electric fan (a real bonus!) with a cold beer, watching the boats go by - (Jossy sells beer). The food was excellent and served in a large wicker-type gazebo jutting out over the water. We swam and kayaked in the river and walked along the riverbank to the nearby village market and ATM (about 1km). The local ferry to Alleppey was a pleasant experience and very cheap, less than 10p for an hour's journey - (the ferry goes back and for across the river picking up passengers). Thank you Jossy for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We opted to try a few of the traditional homestays rather than rent a houseboat and it couldn't have been better!
We arrived at Mr Jossy's using local buses from Allepey (just ask) and were initially a little underwhelmed by the place, kind of wondering if we should try somewhere else. Then we sat down on the bungalow's verranda and lovely pontoon overlooking the wide, slow river - and spent the rest of the hot afternoon watching life unfurl in the backwaters - heaven! Jossy and his family made us feel really welcome - we borrowed his canoes to explore the small canals in the early morning and paid for a dugout canoe tour of the backwaters the next evening - coming back in the near dark mesmerised by big fruit bats and feeding fish.
There's a path running along the river from his house where you can explore and go to the nearby town - dusty and hot where the houseboats dump their clients at the ramshackle "market" for a short while.
The food was fabulous and our first taste of home cooking... Loads of different dishes with banana curry for breakfast - all explained by our host. When we left, Mr jossy helped us arrange onward travel options using the local ferries and recommended a couple of similar homestays further North (also recommended). It was a real treat to stay here !!! Thanks Mr and Mrs Jossy !!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seallofapproval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

If your looking for a quiet get away on the most beautiful backwater setting, with the best of service, then this is for you. Jossi and family were fantastic hosts and we had a great stay. They have canoes and other boats you can take out, or have somebody paddle for you, and there are lots of small trips like the farm tour or a sunset evening cruise that Jossi organises for you. The food was fantastic, something for everybody, and you can get lunch and dinner as well. We took 2 of the 5 rooms as we were a family of 3 with 2 parents and there was something for each of us to do. Having stayed in 4 homestays before, this is one of the best. (We are from the UK).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy-totheworld-elvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My first time in a homestay ever and I was apprehensive.. At the end of my 1 day stay, I concluded that Kaits scores on the following parameters - Location, relaxation, food, hygiene, security, simplicity, value for money and above all, customer service.

Good show, Jossy...

Rajesh R, Mumbai (Stayed on Nov 19 /20 2012)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Kaits located just outside of Alleppey is a lovely homestay with cottages overlooking the river. It’s a great place to relax and watch the world go by (plus a couple of dozen houseboats!)

Jossy is a fantastic host who alongside his wife makes you very welcome at his home.
We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at Kaits. Every meal was delicious and presented beautifully. We loved having authentic Keralan food every day. Food was served in a little gazebo overlooking the river and was an amazing setting to eat in.

Jossy also has a rowing boat and Kayak which you can take out whenever you like, free of charge. We took the rowing boat out which was lots of fun.

In terms of things to see and do we visited the local market, snake race boat and St Mary’s Church all around a 20 minute walk away from Kaits. Jossy can also arrange several trips including a houseboat trip day or overnight. Plus a speed boat ride around the backwaters.

A fantastic place to stay with lovely hosts – highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.3 mi away
Adenz Backwater Home Stay
Adenz Backwater Home Stay
#64 of 154 in Alappuzha
21 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kurialacherry House
Kurialacherry House
#27 of 195 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lovedale Lakeside Homestay
Lovedale Lakeside Homestay
#3 of 195 in Alappuzha
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Backwater Villa
Backwater Villa
#36 of 195 in Alappuzha
11 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ayana's Homestay
Ayana's Homestay
#6 of 195 in Alappuzha
215 reviews
7.6 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 195 in Alappuzha
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kait's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kait's Home

Property: Kait's Home
Address: | Champakulam P.O., Alappuzha 688505, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Farm stay is located 14kms away from Alleppey on the side of the river Pamba, in Champakulam Village. Kaits home is managed by one of the well known family in this region called Mappilacherry. Kaits home has five river facing A/c cottages. One cottages in the main block is a traditional heritage room with open bathroom. KAITS home is a part of a farm. Our highlighting features are fresh traditional home-made food,canoe,kayak,motorboat,houseboat rides, farm trekking,different types of fishing, night fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kait's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kait's Home Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing