We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Nearby Hotels
Punnamada Resort(Alappuzha)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deshadan Backwater Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Raheem Residency(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abad Turtle Beach(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$91
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citrus Retreats Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (225)
    Filter reviews
    225 results
    Traveller rating
    85
    92
    30
    9
    9
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    85
    92
    30
    9
    9
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewspalm grovehouseboats passingthe cottagesopen showeropen to skylake resortlimited optionsdosasbeautiful locationhouse boatmanager mrtuk tuksmall boatfinishing pointnice experienceboat ridehouseboat trip
    Filter
    Updating list...
    180 - 185 of 225 reviews
    Reviewed 30 January 2012

    Set on pleasant grounds with, yes, lots of palms, we sat on our verandah and watched the houseboats and lots of assorted watercraft from canoes to ferries sail by. Rooms basic but comfortable and the attached restaurant was surprisingly good. Breakfast a bit limited but when we asked for a fruit salad they made it for us. Staff friendly but a bit remote. It's a short auto rickshaw ride to crazy but interesting Alleppey. We opted not to do a houseboat because they were expensive and tie up forthe night at 5:30. Take the 5 hr paddled canoe trip, available from the 'resort' through the backwater canals...wonderful. Overall, recommended.

    Room Tip: Ask for a room near the canal so you can watch the action
    • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank twangster59
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 January 2012

    Set in lovely palmy grounds with a pond, it's right next to the main canal out of alleppey and beyond that is the huge lake, which makes for a great chill out area as you watch the beautiful house boats chug past. The rooms are great value, with mozzy nets, warm water, clean sheets, fan or ac and lake/canal views, with a little sitting area on the veranda. There is also an open air shower in each hut which is lovely.  The food is tasty and good value.  We also wanted to hire bikes but the owner just lent us 2 for free which was really nice of him.
    All in all a very relaxing place and very good value.

    • Stayed: January 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank frisbeemike
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 January 2012

    Very expensive, rooms not very clean and terrible breakfast... Everyone must to eat the same food, you dont have any choice for nothing, the dining room is exactly the same as in a hospital and you eat only few things served very fast. In the evening at 11.00 pm they lock the door and you cannot stay out on the sofa reading a book! You cant sleep because its too hot and if you open the window there are no nets for mosquitos and you spend the night scratching yourself.... The breakfast was the same food of the evening before something like curry beans!!! Disgusting... And fried bananas. No fresh juices, no fruits, no toasts, no jam no eggs. Nothing! Also if you are surrounded by fruits trees and chicken! Crazy! And the ask 2500 rp for night!

    • Stayed: January 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank SimonettaCalamity
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 November 2011

    On a two-week trip throughout South India, this had to be our favourite place we stayed, and even caused us to cancel our trip to Munnar to grab a few extra days here!
    Alleppey itself is a very loud stressful town and people mainly go there for backwater trips, but this is ideal as you're actually staying IN the backwaters and can really get a sense of the relaxed way of life - as well as doing the obligatory backwater canoe cruise (which they will happily organise for you!)
    The staff here are very gracious and helpful, even bringing dinner to our room when I was so horribly mosquito bitten I couldn't eat in their (really pretty) outside dining area
    The cottages are gorgeous (we stayed in the most basic fan one which was still totally stunning) with dark mahogany features and simple white scheme, showering in the outside shower with sun beating down was my favourite part of the day
    There's hammocks to lie in and read a book against the sound of crickets, and a little peer where you can watch the fish swim by
    It really was a world away from a lot of the bustle of inner-city India
    They can organise massage, backwater trips, cycling and transport into town (only 10 minutes on a tuk tuk costing about 80p!) and we just loved it on sight
    If you go, try the onion pakora and the banana milkshakes - we got hooked on them and ended up drinking about 3 a day each!

    Really highly recommended.

    Thanks! Chloe and Andy

    Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Chlo_A_11
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 November 2011

    We were ao impressed by the service here.

    The staff were great and made us so welcome.

    Despite booking ahead our a/c room was double booked but it was handled well and actually it didn't matter - the view from our fan room more than made up for it.

    We booked a houseboat trip through the hotel - we enjoyed it very much but did feel that the standard of the boat was lower than the hotel which was a shame but the overall experience, the food and the hospitality on the boat was the same as the hotel.

    • Stayed: November 2011
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Jen_bay
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews