We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldnt Stay as Booking Managed Very Unprofessionally”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Couldnt Stay as Booking Managed Very Unprofessionally”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I am sure, based on the reviews, that the place must be a decent place to stay based but they need to fix their booking process. Here is how it went for me:

I called up the resort and since the lady who picked up the phone couldn't speak English (no cribs here, as it shows my inability to converse in Malayalam), I called up the mobile no. given. A lady picked up the home - could be owner/manager who was very courteous and offer to call back within 5 mins to confirm availability and tariff. Here is where I erred. I asked her not to bother and that she can send an email. I sent her an email immediately after the call, referring to the call and checking availability and tariff. I got a response a day later from Mr. Abraham Philips. Based on suggestion I logged in my booking request immediately on the website and also confirmed the booking for a Lakeview AC Suite on the email asking for method for advance payment. To my surprise I get a response a day later that few rooms are available and I will have to book for a minimum of two days. Now I had waited for two days, lost out on my alternative options due to busy Nehru Boat Race event, to be given this shock! I called up the lady again and she chatted with Mr. Abraham in background and informed that she will send an email. Finally, not getting any response, I went ahead booked elsewhere. Felt really taken for a ride though it may have been less intentional more amateurish

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vansid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    83
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
63
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Great location good cottage (delux) , property manager manoj was polite and nice.cook was helpful and did his best from limited menu .OK restaurant . but they can keep some cycles (kayaks were unavailable during our stay) for residents to roam around ,as resort location is great to peddle around....
but we felt not value for money,limited menu ,access to town and limited activities in "resort"

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Good location. Takes a bit of searching at first, but well worth it if you're looking for a secluded spot. Friendly and helpful staff. Taxis and transport arranged on request, no hassles - with the arrangements or with the drivers.
Good food. No issues with the cleanliness.
Family run. Well managed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abheesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

To begin with, we were booked in another resort across the channel- Bamboo Lagoon. But due to some restoration work we were offered this resort a week before our stay. So, to be fair I was sceptical about this change. The resort has 6 spacious cottages facing the back waters, so location wise its a great place. The only things that somewhat irked me was the timings of the restaurant, almost non-existent room service. The cottage was huge, spotless clean, with an open area shower and a sit-out too. Now the not so good part- the ac was in a bad state, refrigerator was only used as a side table.
If you are looking for a place to just unwind and relax, with no disturbance at all, its a place you should consider. For me, I found the place unusually quiet and strange. I only saw 2 guys managing everything during my two day stay. Seems the place would have been a hot spot once but is past its glory days now. A lot could be done to make the stay better.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lake facing ac cottage and was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divya_Prakash_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I really needed to stay at a peaceful resort at this point in my trip. Palm Grove really fit the bill. It is a "no frills" place, so you cannot go into it thinking that you will get five star treatment. It is more about unwinding and enjoying the backwater life and disconnecting for a couple of days.
My only complaint is that the mattresses were not comfortable. If they could be upgraded, then it would be perfect. I felt a little like I was camping here.
The food was average, but that is fine. It was hygenic and I did not get sick.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Half a dozen or so clean bungalows on a quiet piece of land on one of the canals. Outdoor (courtyard) bathrooms are a nice feature, if you don't mind sharing with a few insects. Restaurant could only do half the items on the small menu. Had no alcohol. Staff a little strange but not unfriendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White_Lando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

It's a nice, simple and sweet resort located next to the backwaters. Very serene and peaceful. It was a lucky find by my husband and I. And we liked it so much that we kept on extending our stay and ended up staying for 4days. You can enjoy your evening tea in the verandah looking at the houseboats as they cruise by gently on the backwaters. It has only 6 cottages, so if you want that quiet resort and not-too-rushed-up-hotel feeling, then this is the place for you. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms huge and with an open shower. You can actually enjoy the greenery and look at the sky from the shower!

The manager, Suresh, is very friendly and chatty. He's been working there for a long time now (almost 6years I think). The food was good and served in generous quantities! I really liked the masala chai, so much so that I had to ask Suresh how it was made!

Great value for money :)

Room Tip: Choose a cottage closer to the backwaters. Great view with your evening tea :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nams_adi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.3 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.1 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
9.6 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0.5 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmgrove Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmgrove Lake Resort

Property: Palmgrove Lake Resort
Address: N T Ward | Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmgrove resort is an elegant holiday resort situated in acres of natural greeneries and is on the banks of the beautiful Punnamada lake. The resort offer complete privacy and peaceful atmosphere and is free from air and sound pollution. The resort is really a wonderful paradise and an home far away from your home, of course with homely and tasty food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palmgrove Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Palmgrove Lake Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing