We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gods own country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Have been to this resort earlier with family and it was a wonderful xperience so decided to njoy my honeymoon at this beautiful and peaceful resort. The staff is friendly, food is xotic and the owners Mr. Philip & Mrs. Maria are truly lovable friendly person... Have been in touch with them since last 6-7 years since my first visit.. Whenever I will plan for Allepey it will surely b palmgrove lake resort cos it has the most wonderful space on this earth..

Room Tip: I would always prefer A/c cottages lake facing cos the climate here is humid and hot even in winters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We chose Palmgrove Lake Resort because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. The place itself is really nicely located right by the water. On the first sight our bungalow looked nice, the idea of an (partly) openair bathroom is cool!

But!
- The floor was still full of hair and sand. We ended up cleaning it by ourselves...
- Later on we found the source of the bad smell in the room (first we thought it was just because of the closed windows): the mattress! The provided solution from the staff was a fresh air spray and an extra bed sheet. They also gave us the option to change to another bungalow which smelled even worse. During the night I couldn't sleep at all because of the smell!
Next morning, we talked to the owner who came to our bungalow for an inspection. His solution was not really helpful (to change the mattress with another old mattress). It didn't seem that he cared at all... we told him that he might need to buy new mattresses.

We planned to stay for 5 nights, but after the first night we decided to leave. We are low budget travellers and used to Indian standard. Normally we don't like to complain, but for that price this was not acceptable.

Room Tip: Smell the mattress before deciding to stay there. Rooms further away from the water are quieter beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had promised ourselves, in January 2009, that we would return to Palmgrove whenever we wanted to get away from 'it all'. And so we did from 31 October to 4 November this year. Easy access to the town and its sequestered location drew us here again. And we were not disappointed, In fact, we had much more on offer.

We were overwhelmed by the warm reception waiting for us from the dignified Abraham and his pleasantly endearing wife, Maria who gave us excellent company over cups of coffee and dosas, most welcome after a long train journey. The staff including Ben, our old friend with his ever- present smile, their new-found excellent cook Udhay, Jocey, who was always willing to extend a hand and Prasannan, the friendly and sought- after boatman, were all there making us feel we were back with family, not at a resort.

S1 was our cottage: sitting on the patio with morning coffee, in the warm glow of the rising sun, gazing at the waters of the 'kayal', filled us with liquid peace which gently flowed through the day as the shimmering waters. Vying for our attention were the sudden flashes of blue from kingfishers, the cooing of wood-pigeons, the strutting of egrets and cranes...After breakfast, while one stretched out with a book in hand in the hammock, the other stood to stare at two pigeons earnestly building their little nest...

The service was excellent - Ben, like his namesake in London kept time very well as he regularly turned up to remind us of meals being ready, almost always ahead of when we had asked for them; he also complemented Udhay's cooking in such a way that each gave his best. As manager, his meticulousness was reflected in the manner in which he settled the bill at the time of our departure- accurately and speedily.On the rainy Saturday evening, we had just got off the boat, and were about to ask Udhay for tea when we realised he was already serving it out for he had spotted the boat approaching the jetty and knew our need - if this isn't thoughtful service, what is?!

The food was excellent. Udhay did a splendid job of cooking for us what we wanted (prawns curry 'meen' and more of them) and just the way we wanted (not too spicy, not too bland which for health-watchers like us was a boon!)

Rooms are attractively designed and comfortable; the bath and wash area are unique in that they are open to the sky. Enclosed space is also available, curtained off from the open area and yet naturally lit and fresh. However, more attention could be paid to little details: provision for clothes-hangers, working intercoms, improvement in lighting to make reading indoors less strenuous and cleaning of rooms to be part of the daily routine. That the security staff were alert to windows being closed after dusk was to be appreciated.

We strongly recommend the five-hour boat trip (either sunrise or sunset) offered by Prasannan: he takes us across the huge Vembanad lake, his oars cutting through quaint little villages - where we can see life as it is on the shores of the lake, wave in greeting to simple people and if, interested, get off to exchange a few words and have a cup of tea in a small shop - past green floating islands... even as we can see huge houseboats moored or gliding only on the main waterways. Even in the sudden burst of thunderstorm we relaxed and felt secure for he is extremely careful. His knowledge of the environment and everything relevant to Kerala is phenomenal.

These emotions of tranquillity would keep Palmgrove fresh in our minds until we can return to experience the stillness, even as we watch the world (sorry, houseboats) go by.

Shantha and Gabriel
Chennai

Room Tip: Choose lake facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsPeace51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipabraham, Owner at Palmgrove Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Shantha and Gabriel,

Thank you for your comments. Really appreciate it.

We were really glad to see you back in Palmgrove and really looking forward to your next visit. We have passed your note of appreciation to Ben, Uday and Josy. They were really happy to hear your comments.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Abraham Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights and I think we were the only guests. The rooms are big and clean. Theres a terrace with 2 chairs where you can relax and read a book. Toilet is a bit weird because its open.
We booked the backwater trip and it was brilliant and good price!
Only con was the mosquito bites so bring plenty of spray!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BeCaSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipabraham, Owner at Palmgrove Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Palmgrove Lake Resort and enjoyed the backwater trip.

We spray natural herbs that repel mosquitoes in all the cottages and sorry to hear that mosquitoes still bothered you. We are still investigating different natural means to repel them.

Kind regards
Abraham Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The resort is over a large area yet maintained very well....variety of flowers and vegetables planted all around.

USP is the location...bang on the backwaters, yet very close to the town. The rooms are very comfortable and balconies opening to the backwaters. Whole day you will find Houseboats and Shikaras traveling on the water, which is teh main route for the famous Nehru Boat Race.

The owners (Mr and Mrs Philip Baraham) are true gentlemen and taken personal note of all the visitors. The caretakes (Mr. Ben and Mr. Uday) are great guys, particularly Uday cooks fantastic Keralian food, especially non-veg. They also extend personal helps, beyond their regular services.

The resort also has a private jetty and we boarded our Houseboat from the same...very convenient.

Overall, it was a stay to remember

Room Tip: Take any room, all are facing backwaters. However, the suite rooms are bigger and closer to the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipabraham, Owner at Palmgrove Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Iman,

Glad to hear that you had a good time at Palmgrove Lake resort. I will pass your note of appreciation to Ben and Uday.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Abraham Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

The place itself is ok with basic cottages in a nice location by the water, however they were not particularly clean and probably a little expensive for what they are, although the price is negotiable like everything in India.
My main gripe, and I do accept some responsibility for not organising myself, is their choice of houseboat and tour. The boat was filthy with a menagerie of critters to keep you company from cockroaches and rats to mosquitoes and spiders. Is it too much to ask for a mossie net? The trip itself was nothing short of a sham. We pootled for an hour moored up for two then pootled for another hour before mooring up for 15 hours overnight, unbeknownst to us, 2 mins chug from palm grove resort.
Given we were in a huge convoy for the most part I suspect this is what happens to the majority of all houseboat trips but I for one felt utterly ripped off and unsatisfied with the whole experience.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrfastidious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philipabraham, Owner at Palmgrove Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We deeply apologise for the condition of the houseboat. This is our first such instance and we enquired with our houseboat agent. He said that the houseboat booked for you had a breakdown and due to high demand during that period, this was the only houseboat he could arrange. This is not an excuse and we have changed our houseboat agent after this occurrence. We once again apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We went to this place off the back of a recommendation from a couple we bumped into in a local restaurant in Allepey and are so glad we did. A real gem hidden in tranquil backwaters. Perfect location and a great place to chillout, take stock and put life into perspective. Rooms fairly basic but more than adequate. Our terrace opened out onto a narrow backwater and it was so relaxing just sitting watching all the boats go by. Joseph the manager was an absolute gentlemen who couldn't do enough for us and he made us feel so very welcome. A big thank you to Joseph for his kindness and wisdom, and to his lovely team as well.

Room Tip: The last but one room on the far right of reception (when facing the water). Awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
7.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
377 reviews
20.3 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
1.2 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0.5 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmgrove Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmgrove Lake Resort

Address: Nehru Trophy Ward | Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £34 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmgrove resort is an elegant holiday resort situated in acres of natural greeneries and is on the banks of the beautiful Punnamada lake. The resort offer complete privacy and peaceful atmosphere and is free from air and sound pollution. The resort is really a wonderful paradise and an home far away from your home, of course with homely and tasty food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palmgrove Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Palmgrove Lake Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing