We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Houseboat stay worth an experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nilabja D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed with my family on 9th Oct. Night

When I booked through Yatra, I booked for Deluxe AC Room with TV and other amenities.

2 days before the trip, when I could not cancel my trip anymore, the Aqua Houseboat Mgr, Mr. Fredrick, called me up and informed that A/C is only between 9 PM to 6 AM. He was laughing and informed me, that, this is a busy season, in case, you want, you can cancel. Whereas , I will incur losses, if I cancel now.

It was nowhere mentioned in the Yatra terms and Conditions

About TV , he informed, only DVDs will be given but no Cable TVs

On the day of the journey, we faced frequent power cuts, Fans were also not running as Inverter was going down and in the afternoon in the high humid condition, we have to bear the ordeal, despite paying close to 10000 bucks for one night

In the evening, around 530PM, they parked the boat in a nearby village and we found the boat next to us is connected to Local Cable. When I called up Frederick, he informed, boat has no dish? I am not sure why he needs a dish while the nxt boat is connected to local cable wire

A/C was not provided till 8 PM and it was a very bad condition.

Food was ordinary

I called up Yatra Customer Service 3 times and till date , did not get any answer for my complaints. Their role is glorified Agent or Dalal

One should be careful taking services of this houseboat and amenities they are providing as lots of lack of amenities are not disclosed and are not given

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Dear Mr Nilabja Dey, First of all please check your date of stay with our property. It was on 10th Oct 2016 one night one bedroom a/c deluxe houseboat booked by you through Travel Guru. 2 days before your arrival, you called up to my mobile and ask me about the air condition timing on-board. As per our company policy deluxe air condition timing in houseboat is 9.00 pm to 6.00 am. But we are not adamant about the timing. At the evening most probably we start the air condition generator on 7 pm and provide air condition on-board. As l informed you about the deluxe houseboat air condition timing you suddenly disappointed and angry with me and ask me to provide full time air condition on-board in the same price. Humbly and politely l answered to you, it’s our company policy for deluxe houseboat a/c timing and if you need full time air-condition you have to pay extra charges or cancel your deluxe booking and book premium houseboat which provide full time air-condition on-board. But you keep on asking the same matter again and again unfortunately l smiled. In my understandings, in hospitality industry be a cheerful person is not a bad thing rather than impatient. Secondly, All our property listings online sites we mentioned the entertainment facilities in deluxe a/c houseboats are LCD TV and DVD Player only. We didn’t mention any site that we provide Satellite Cable Television network on-board. Upon your unfulfilled desire for full time air condition in a deluxe price and you were angry and disappointed to pay more money for additional facilities, you decided to target the negatives in our service and as a customer you can write anything upon your wish. But l am confident that thousands of our satisfied customers who cruised with us are still help us to recommend Aqua Jumbo Houseboat for their loved one’s for their cruise in Kerala Backwaters. We, Aqua Jumbo Team value each and every guest on-board and take cares all their on-board needs which we can fulfill. Sincerely Yours, Fedric Stephen, Reservation Manager, Aqua Jumbo Tours.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pravin S
1 review
“Houseboat stay worth an experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Overall an excellent experience. The scenic beauty of Kerala gets multiplied when viewed from the House boat surrounded by calm backwaters. Very courteous staff who took all our questions about the place and served us excellent local cuisine which was a treat to our taste buds (especially if you are non veterinarian)
A special mention of their honesty - At the time of the checkout, my wife forgot to took her purse which was kept in the cupboard. We had already reached Kumarkom, 2nd phase of our holiday and that is the time she realised this. I quickly called up Mr Fredrick and he quickly enquired this with their local staff and next day got this delivered to kumarkom (~50 kms away from Alleppey). Many thanks for this wonderful gesture. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The front of the Houseboat offered an excellent view of the scenic backwaters
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Dear Mr. Pravin S,
We are happy to hear from you, thank you very much to choose Aqua Castle houseboat for your wonderful cruise in Kerala Backwaters. Once again thanks a lot for all your good words you said about Aqua Jumbo Team. We will see you next time. Wish you a good day...Thanks & Regards, Fedric Stephen, Manager, Reservations, Aqua Jumbo Tours
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRShakti
Sebastopol, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Had the owner not represented his houseboat, Aqua Jumbo, as a luxury boat and charged accordingly (almost $300 per night) I would be writing a different review. It was the deception and over representation that caused such disappointment. The rooms were mediocre, the food acceptable but not exceptional, the service mid-level. It started off with a late pick up at our hotel in Cochin...in a dilapidated car with almost no AC (although we were paying, again, a high rate which was to include AC). The rest of the trip was, as mentioned, middle of the road. In all fairness, the crew onboard was very pleasant and I fault them in NO way...it is the owner/manager who is to blame for claiming a luxury experience when, in fact, it is a 2 1/2 star affair. For the same money I would look around and insure that your accommodations are commensurate with the price you are paying. (And I will certainly be more circumspect if ever i book another backwater cruise.) Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The backwaters themselves...very peaceful. And the crew was lovely.
Liked least: The overcharging.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great houseboat on the backwaters of Alleppey”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed on the Aqua Castle houseboat for one night in December. The boat was spacious and clean with great facilities.
The staff - captain, assistant and chef - were all lovely and very helpful. The food was delicious and the accommodated to our requests of fish only.
The backwaters are beautiful and I would highly recommend a night on a houseboat with this company to see them. We had a private boat for the two of us and it felt like a very special experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nilesh M
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant Experience !”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had great time on Aqua Jumbo houseboat. Manager Mr. Vinod called us few days to confirm about our arrival and about our food preference (vegetarian or non-veg). It was truly a great experience. Cheff and the captain of the houseboat were very co-ordial to our requests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
601vishal...
Ahmedabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Memories of first Houseboat rental”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Kerala for the first time this summer & always wanted to try a houseboat rental exp. After good reviews from TripAdvisor we selected this Aqua jumbo boat which turned out to a very good decision. Though we reached late 2pm, the two men staff waited anxiously for us to board & very soon made us feel at home. Robert was the cook & Ritish was the driver. Excellent food & excellent rooms. It had the biggest open deck with dining area.Even offered our teenage kids to drive the boat for sometime. Prepared purr fresh veg food w/o onion/garlic when we requested that. Only small con was the towels were not very well washed but that's a very small thing to not qualify this houseboat as excellent worth five stars. must recommend.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kriti5
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect experience of houseboat with great food and staff”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

It was a perfect on water living experience with great hospitality from the staff. To mention the names starting with Mr. Verghese who guided us with directions, Mr. Vinod who contacted us for booking confirmation and most imprtantly the cheff Yohana and the captain Biju who were with us during our stay. Food was extremely tasty with lots of variety. The staff took great care of us and played movies and songs of our choice. They helped us in buying some great seafood items from the onshore market and cooked it for us for dinner. The houseboat was very well maintained and cleaned, with all sorts of necessary amenities in place. In short its a must visit experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Awesome food and hospitality of staff
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing