We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple resort, good food and nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Pune, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simple resort, good food and nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is not a regular beach resort. It has friendly staff and location is nice. It is located in a village some 8 km from Alleppey. This is definitely for relaxed beach holidays and for local food which would be served after a discussion with you. They do have a menu for your choice. Food is definitely good. But if you are only family in the resort then it can be very boring. We went in March thus it was very hot. SPA though was very expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and share one common wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulNene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    20
    12
    7
    9
See reviews for
36
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My girlfriend and and I travelled for a month in India and this Beach resort was supposed to to be a treat before getting a houseboat in Alleppey. It was also probably one of the more pricey accommodations we stayed in. The location of the this resort is great yes and the staff are friendly- especially George.
However the place is covered in litter and rather than looking after the property, the staff hang out in the kitchen chatting. The dining area was so depressing that we tried to eat in the garden, only to be pestered by flies and being surrounded by dying plants. We were meant to stay 3 nights but left after one.
Its a complete mystery to me that a place with so much potential get so little love.
My advise to Pozhiyoram Beach Resort - Clean up your act and you can actually call yourself a beach resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank BecksDaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alappuzha hotels

Rourkela, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Though I am a medical Microbiologist by profession, i'm a traveller by passion. I get a huge pleasure when I visit or stay in a new place. My recent (Oct 14-16) experience with Pozhiyoram Beach Resort at Thumpoly was much beyond my expectation. Location-wise the resort was extremely beautiful along with its calm, pristine private sea beach. Beauty of Arabian sea was at its best caressing the beautiful beach resort. Rooms are fantastic and beautifully decorated in Kerala style. Food is pretty good, but still there is a scope for improvement. Service requires little more attention. Mr. Gijo Palackal is a trustworthy man to whom you should contact. I strongly recommend this beach resort to the tourists to experience an exceptional feeling with Nature !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank SeshadriBhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrissur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I am not a tourist, but a regular customer who found it better to be away from the maddening crowds and pollution. What i like most is the beach and sound of waves which is quite relaxing. The beach is not what it supposed to be but for a consultant doctor like me who don't have enough time to spend, its quite OK/

What disappointing was that in spite of being closer to the wifi port I didnt get it in my mobile or lap top and had to come out of the room at times to catch it.

Room Tip: Hammocks are nice in the evening but you should better have some mosquito repellent cream if you wan...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Challiyil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

we spend 2 nights and the private beach was amazing, great food too. overall it was a new experience and we thought the pricing was quite competitive as against the general perception that its very costly.

Room Tip: first floor ones were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vinu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The place is quite good. We visited it while returning from Kanyakumari. Very relaxed place and cut off from the outside world. By meaning Resort, if you are expecting something big & luxurious, then this is not for you.
It has limited rooms but the view from the rooms is very good. Just a minute walk from the Arabian Sea Shore. It is better to check in the daylight rather then the night.
Service is also good, though they lack staffs, only 1 or 2 person except the Manager.
Best to go as a couple and relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatyakiC301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Pozhiyoram is absolutely not a resort, it is a rather shabby collection of buildings with tatty, dirty rooms and absolutely nothing that remotely resembles a hotel. We arrived, about 9pm, asked for drinks - nothing available. All we got was a bottle of water, no glasses! Food was eventually served; fried fish done to crisp and served cold. Plastic table and chairs. Stray cats.

Dirty, shabby beds, dirty curtains, dirty fans, dirty bathroom, dirty mirrors - dirt just about sums this place up. Water overflowing from the tank kept us awake. No hot water. No menu. Pigeons in the roof. No kettle. Broken towel rail. Noisy staff chatting away downstairs till 11pm. No restaurant. No bar. Floppy toast. Tea with hot milk.

No TV in the room, but a dusty TV shelf positioned in just the right place to bang your head.

Oh, and it's not on the beach. It is on sand... but there are a couple of old shacks and dwellings between the 'hotel' and the sea. And it's not a beach, even there, it's a sea wall. With a tide line of plastic rubbish.

There is an adjacent beach. How lovely to see fishermen sorting their nets in the morning. And having a cr@p in the sea.

Oh, and did I mention the beds? Look at the photos. Absolutely criminally unbelievable.

It wouldn't take much - a bit of investment and good management - and this could be an OK place. Sadly though, it is seriously neglected, poorly staffed and managed like a doss house. Minus the soup kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim3057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.0 mi away
Alleppey Prince Hotel
Alleppey Prince Hotel
#48 of 67 in Alappuzha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
9.4 mi away
Shanthitheeram Lakeside Heritage Resort
2.8 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#13 of 67 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Suvasam Lake Resort
Suvasam Lake Resort
#35 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#20 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.2 mi away
El Oceano Beach Villas
El Oceano Beach Villas
#15 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pozhiyoram Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pozhiyoram Beach Resort

Property: Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Address: JRY Road, Thumpoly | Alleppey,Kerala,India, Alappuzha 688008, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pozhiyoram Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pozhiyoram Beach Resort,Alleppey,Kerala,India - dotted with coconut palm, facing Arabian Sea and Theeyaseril Pozhi (lake) and 4kms from Alleppey town. Blessed by nature on one side and and all backwaters, boarded by coconut palms, a natural habitat of many rare birds. On the other side, an exclusive sunny beach with crystal clear sand. The resort is build on a concept as a fisher man's village were guests has the opportunity to see local fisher man working in traditional Kerala ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Pozhiyoram Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pozhiyoram Beach Hotel Alappuzha
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing