We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms, good food, comfy, not much to do at the resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchard Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchard Resort
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good rooms, good food, comfy, not much to do at the resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have stayed 3 to 4 times during monsoons at this resort. The rooms are very comfy, clean, bathrooms are good, food is amongst the best among peers at lonavla. Only thing is there isnt much to do at the resort.

Room Tip: Good to sleep over
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShamikJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    105
    56
    11
    10
See reviews for
112
49
Solo
0
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The resort is a little away from the market so be prepared for bad roads.But follow the directions given by the hotel.The highlights are because of less crowd it is very peaceful , the food is very delicious , the swimming pool is clean, the rooms are very clean, the toilet is well made ,the TV ,size of the room were good,loved the balcony and it was overall a pleasant stay. Some negatives the staff is not well trained , not much to do with kids so you may get bored.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Location: The resort is located around 2.5 Kms from old Mumbai-Pune highway. The last 1 KM (and only last 1 KM) stretch is rough un-carpeted so be ready for a bumpy ride. Also make very sure that you are going through the route provided by the resort. I blindly relied on Google Maps, it redirected me to some other route which was entirely awful and pathetic. Not only the entire stretch(which passes from Fariyas resort) gave us bumpy ride, it also damaged my car's bumper with deep scratches. So simply follow route given by resort staff.

The location of resort is quite isolated that means a peaceful environment but that also means that transportation to and from resort to Lonavla is headache unless you have your own vehicle.

Service and staff: Nothing great about service. Few of the staff members where very courteous but were constrained because of either mismanagement or lack of experience. The room was not ready when we moved in. We has to ask for usual supplies and had to request to make it clean.

Food: We choose the package which included all the meals. I would not quite recommend it because the buffet lacks variety. We had almost similar food on both days for lunch and dinner. We should have really gone mad if we had to spend another day having lunch/dinner at the resort.

A restaurant called Girivihar (MTDC) situated en route resort to highway serves really good food if you want to have some variety.

Rooms: Average! Has all the facilities needed for 2 days of comfortable stay. The room was not impeccably clean which I would expect for the rate the resort is charging. The linen was washed but has color and dirt marks. Cushions (not the cushion covers) were extremely dirty.

Facilities: The resort has swimming pool, carom board, table tennis, pool table, gym, steam and sauna. Useful in case you are planning to confined in resort only for a relaxed stay.

The resort seems to be popular for corporate events. We observed 4 events in 2 days. While the first day went peacefully, on the second day there was two groups one from some bank and the other from TCS. If you are with family or are in small number, having large group in resort is a menace. They were smoking all around the resort even on the nonsmoking floors. The DJ sound from two banquet halls simultaneously made sure we have unpleasant evening.

Room Tip: Half of the rooms are garden view rooms and half are mountain view. We stayed at mountain view and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihirshah161281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

It is a beautiful resort located at the outskirts of Lonavala. It is a quite place for self relaxation and surrounded by lush greenery all around. There are games for children as well as for adults to relax self. The team there was very helpful, delightful, pleasant and honest. Food is very good and tasty (specially the Paneer) and service is quick. A good location for an outbound for your friends and family and to feel home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had been for a conference on The Seven Stages of Money Maturity....The resort is good and nice location except for a bad approach road. Once you reach there it is quite good and enjoyed my stay. Staff etc. were very cooperative. Food was good. Indian Jains and Veg. People may not like taking dosas etc as there was only one cook to prepare both omelette counter and Dosa counter......over all enjoyable stay.....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mannoj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed with our two children in a suite room for two days during diwali , 3rd to 5th Nov 13..We were very happy with the accomodation and the stay was very comfortable.The rooms were clean and good.The hotel is in a very quiet location(although approach road is very bad).We had a beautiful view of the mountains from our room.The food was also nice.Overall very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ram494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

A beautiful resort located at one end of Lonavala. It is surrounded by greenery all around. The team there was very helpful (willing to delight the customer). Food is good and service is quick. A good location for an outbound for your team/friends/family

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
1.5 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
1.9 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.8 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crystal County Resort
Crystal County Resort
#12 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Resort

Property: The Orchard Resort
Address: Sr No 30, Sector e , Gold Valley | New Tungarli, Lonavala 410403, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Orchard Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing