We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin in the woods”
Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent a magical weekend at the Machan in October this year. We were staying in the "cabin in the woods" a glass panelled bungalow tucked away in a wooded spot. The bungalow consists of a massive bedroom cum seating area and an equally spacious bathroom. The living space is enclosed entirely by incredibly clear glass panes and wooden beams. The decor is tasteful with wooden furniture and period fixtures (care for a fieldglass anyone?). In front of the bungalow is a porch with a couple of chairs and a water feature. Everything is spotlessly clean and well maintained. Staying in the cabin really gives you a sense of being cocooned safely, yet immediately, in the woods - all you see around you are trees and all you hear is the chirping of crickets and birds.

The staff was unfailingly courteous and helpful and are able to strike the balance of giving you your space while always being a call away. A nature walk is organised by a very knowledgeable member of the staff, but you can always strike off on your own around the property, as we did (but be sure to carry mosquito repellent, sturdy walking shoes and a walking stick – any of the fallen branches serve as one). The forest has a little stream, great views of the valley below and plenty of winding tracks to get ‘lost’ in. We saw a huge snake and butterflies as large as a child’s face.

Must mention the food as well since it’s delicious and wholesome (and you can work up quite an appetite exploring the forest). Breakfast is included and you can order a la carte for the rest of the meals or go in for the lunch/dinner options. They have also have cool beers and Breezers on offer.

There is no mobile network at the Machan and you need to go towards Lonavla to get any – which only serves to increase the secluded feel of the place. Whilst the Machan is on the expensive side, I’d recommend it over a number of equally expensive but utterly characterless "five star" hotels all over the Ghats and especially in Lonavla. Highly recommended for a weekend getaway from Mumbai.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ira_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at the Machan during monsoon season.

The drive there made us already feel like we were entering a different world given.

Very charming stay, unique and unusual (tree houses!).

We felt as in contact with nature as it gets, no noise other than that of nature, simple but tasty meals, complete relax.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Matteo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed in the Heritage Machan with my family and I must tell you this is a place to visit for sure, especially for Mumbaikars and Puneites for whom it's a great escape from city crowd,pollution and traffic. Its commendable how all the Machans are built and their architecture. the place is full of greenery and fresh air that we are usually deprievd of. Heritage Machan is very well built where 6 adults can stay confortably. This one also boasts of some of the antique collections of the owner that adds value to the property. Around 40 ft above this machan, there is a small deck that they call Crow's nest. View from their is absolutely breathtaking... What a great place!!! I havent seen other Machans although I bet Heritage Machan is the best of all...

As far as the service is concerned, it is a bit slow. Hotel staff is nice and courteous.

You dont get good quality drinking water there so you have to buy packaged drinking water which is extremely overcharged. At least they should have informed this at the time of booking because once you are in there, you really cant go out. I was not happy about that. In case you are planning to go there, better buy some water before you land here.

Having said that, this is a great place to unwind and definitely deserves 5 star..

Room Tip: Heritage Machan is probably the best. Buy water before you come here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ameyagats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Starting from a welcome call itself, the warm and pleasant greeting introduced the place through the magic of words and built on the curiosity for this place. The simple and straight forward directions were apt to this.

“HIDDEN HEAVEN”

The whole experience helped us rekindle our 7yr old relation of being together and gave us numerous profound moments to be cherished lifelong.

The suspended glass box gave us the private yet and unobstructed and splendid views of the surroundings.

The moonlight showered evenings, dim-light pathways, warm fireplace, scrumptious and yet simple food, the warmth of the hospitality was overwhelming.

Actually falling short of words.

Definitely, revisit is a must. Hoping to see the nest soon.

P.S – The best birthday surprise ever till date. A big thank you to the owners for the ‘Rising Star’ J and also the yummy fudge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shwetambari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in the Forest-1 Machaan for three nights end-October, with our ten-year old. It's a "room with a view"- you feel like you are in the middle of the treetops to one side, and there is the vista of the forested valley to the other side. Birdsong to wake you up, and a large balcony to enjoy all this from - so you feel really close to nature. At the same time, you are quite comfortable as well. This machaan had two sleeping spaces and two well-appointed bath rooms, so even four people wouldn't feel cramped.
The sliding glass doors of the balcony and the joints around them have small gaps that let some flying insects in, but nothing too bad considering the location. We also found a couple of tiny frogs in the loos. If creepy crawlies are a total no-no, dont go, but if you need some peace and quiet, and dont mind co-exising with some other species while living in quite some comfort, definitely try it out! :-)
Almost forgot to mention it - the home-style food on offer is delicious, generous, varied. housekeeping was of a good standard as well.
There are board games available for kids/adults, a trampoline near the bonfire area, a nature walk every evening, and nature books in the library. Stars are visible on a clear night, but it is not remote or dark enough for proper star-gazing. You should carry closed shoes/extra torches as the paths are not all lit up at night like a regular resort.

Room Tip: Forest for small families, Canopy for couples, Heritage for large families/groups. Forest machaans a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShubhaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Staying at the Machan is a must try. Surrounded by lush green forest and overlooking a ravine,The canopy machan is an ideal room for 4ppl. The machan is made of glass &wood and is privately tucked in the forest. During the day you enjoy a beautiful breeze whilst listening to the chirps of birds. The night is very cool due to the gusting winds. The sheer beauty of nature around you is daunting. At the machan you are cut off from the city & the pollution. There's no tv or Internet. You get to experience nature exactly as it should be. The owners are genuinely passionate about maintaining greenery and the environment. The only "drawback" is the approach road to the machan. It's a raw mud path & needs mending.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank seekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013



This place is what dreams are made of!

I have travelled extensively across the world, stayed in many places and I would say that this is definitely one of the top 3 most beautiful places I have been to!

The Canopy Machan room had exquisite views and amazing attention to the small details. the staff was super courteous and warm and the food was delicious– completed with an evening of a lovely conversation with the machan family by the bonfire. Everything was perfect!

It is the ideal place if you are looking for privacy, nature and aesthetic wonderment!

It was a lovely lovely experience, cannot wait to go back !

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kruti99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 7 in Khandala
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 70 in Lonavala
645 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#5 of 7 in Khandala
129 reviews
5.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 70 in Lonavala
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range: £115 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing