We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Machan
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fariyas Resort Lonavala(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zara's Resort(Khandala)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Dukes Retreat(Khandala)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mystica Resort(Khandala)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cloud 9 Hills Resort(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
US$84
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Citrus Hotel Lonavala(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
960 results
Traveller rating
597
240
71
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
597
240
71
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housenature trailwind millsoff gridsolar panelswind powerclose to natureflora and faunasunset pointnature loverscomplete privacybirds chirpingsurrounded by treescity liferoom servicewestern ghatsloved ones
Filter
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 960 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Perhaps an amazing place for the nature lovers all around. The cottages are made in the best possible way to make the guestscomfortable with all the world class toileteries and other facilities at the hotel. At the night one can keep sitting outside his/ her cottage gazing at the skly like never before.
Unexpectedly the food also turned out to be real delicious making it a reason for us to visit this place again and again.
If one is with family or a big group then a person can stay for more than 2 nights else just for a couple 1-2 nights are enough as else it can get a little monotonous. and yes lonavala which seemed to be close to this property is quite far off from here.
and some of the adventures and activities are reall fun filled and enjoyable. The staff is warm but not very warm

Room Tip: As per us, it can get boring if we go for more than 2 nights, if not going in a big group
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singhal_Abhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

To find a place that's pristine and untouched so close too Mumbai is simply unheard of. But it's true. Such a place truly exists and it is called the Machan, Lonavla.
I was looking for a place to celebrate 5 years of blissful marriage with my partner and somebody recommended the Machan. I looked at their website and found it very intriguing. However in 90% of the cases the images on the websites and the locations are found widely different leading to disappointment. But that was not the case for the Machan.

If you are looking for Swimming pools, games area for your children, rain dance areas etc the Machan is not the place for you.

People who want to stay away for a day or two from the crowded busy lives, in the middle of mother nature and who value privacy and a quite time should find this place a heaven.

The staff, starting with the representative at the booking desk, to the manager of the machan to every single member of the staff at the location, is extremely helpful, polite and courteous. And i can't thank them enough for helping me make my anniversary so memorable.

The rooms themselves is what people should go for as they are an experience in themselves. I stayed in the Canopy machan which is like a tree house placed about 25ft above the ground. The interiors mimic the old times with wooden finishing and the best part...surrounded by Glass on three sides to give you a panoramic view.

The little touches that the Machan provides give them an edge. For our anniversary they organized a bonfire for just the two of us and also arranged for an Irish Wish lantern experience to make the night more memorable. You can also arrange for a cozy candlelight dinner in your rooms for a little extra cost.
Also the use of solar power, wind power for sustaining electricity in the Machan is commendable and what makes this place eco-friendly and a path breaker for other resorts.

This is by no means a resort or a lodge or a hotel for that matter. It is an experience.
It might feel a tad expensive, but in the end it is all worth the experience.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms at the Machan and every single one of them is unique in their own respect. However if you are traveling with your partner and are looking for privacy and some quite time with them, the Canopy machan is the one for you.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debdeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VH03, General Manager at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Deb_Sen81,

We are humbled that you chose to celebrate your 5th wedding anniversary at our Canopy Machans. Your compliments regarding the food shall be passed onto the cooks and I'm sure they will be thrilled.

The Private Bonfire and Wish Lantern you mentioned in your review are a quite a hit with all the Romantics that visit The Machan and it was our pleasure to serve you.

We couldn’t have done a better job of describing ourselves, to quote your words “[The Machan] is by no means a resort or a lodge or a hotel for that matter. It is an experience.”

We greatly appreciate all your kind words and encouragement and hope to have you folks back with us soon.

Thanking you,
The Machan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

we visted machan as we had heard about it since a long time . just sit in the homsted and enjoy the cool breeze. It is a ideal place for a family to teach there kids true value of power and electricity which we take for granted .It was a beautiful experiance to live without a tv and just be with nature.It was so soothing that we would like to visit you again and again.Lastly the food was mouth watering.
shishir sonia

Room Tip: homested for family all the rooms have a excelent view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pransu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We visited Machan for our second anniversary. We wanted to celebrate in a peaceful and serene atmosphere and Machan proved the perfect option.
1) Location - Just 15-17 km from Lonavala, Machan is the ideal weekend gate away from Mumbai
2) Accomodation - The resort's Machan's or tree houses are beautiful, spacious and tastefully decorated. The best feature is the location right in the middle of thick vegetation and enchanting forest views. The property is so calm and peaceful that one could be easily fooled to think that there are no other guests around.
3) Other - We went for a expertly guided nature walk. One can just wander in the greenery and sight many beautiful birds
4) Food - While the location of the lunch and breakfast venue is charming and amongst trees, the food itself was just above average and expensive. We would recommend driving down to Homely food in Lonavala for a sumptuous lunch

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple, select Canopy Machan 2 which has an upper deck.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruptiB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VH03, General Manager at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Trupti,

We are so glad that you had a pleasurable experience at our Canopy Machans during your Anniversary.

It was our pleasure to have you with us on such a special occasion. Our hope is that you shall give us another opportunity in the near future to try and impress you this time around with our home style meals.

Best,
The Machan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I visited the machan with my family. Spent a couple of nights at 'heritage'. One of the first machan's to come up on the site, I was told.
A fascinating experience with massive glass windows that look out into the unendig, scenic view of the forests. The rooms are massive and super comfortable. Ideal for a large group to spend time away from everyday life.
The food was home like. And the staff extremely helpful and courteous.
The property is unreal as a whole, with hidden paths leading to lovely spots within the property.
I highly recommend The Machan to anyone who knows what nature can do to man. And a special recommendation for the bamboo machan, neatly tucked in a corner, swaying every time the breeze picks up.
Great stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Neel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews