We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restorative”
Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

An excellent escape from Bombay and sufficiently distant from Lonavala to make it really quiet. Fortunately most of the guests seeking this place out are there to appreciate the silence and natural surroundings (just check there are not group bookings).

Amazing scenery appreciated from great luxurious but rustic tree houses. Well worth finding and enjoying. Hope it stays as silent and peaceful as it currently is. Won't appeal to people who want 'resorts' which is why it is charming.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonJonnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Jonny,

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your family this summer. Our seclusion from Lonavala allows us to present our guests with a surrounding in which nature is paramount.

We truly appreciate your kind words of encouragement and do hope that you shall put us on your regular Getaways from Bombay list.

Perhaps this monsoon you can give our new Nested Machans a try.

Thank you once again for visiting us at The Machan.

Kind regards,
The Machan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for one night, It was awesome, The property is nicely maintained and its very private..I thought it is slightly costly. They say it as ecoresort...so not much to do other than Star Glazing at night and Nature Trail walk. But we had fun doing nothing... Just sit on your private wooden deck for long hours looking at the Forest and Valley veiw....This one is for those who just want to stop the mind being worked out....just dont do anything..Food is great lucnch and dinner..but was bit disappointed with starters..Service and Hospitality is nice and people enjoy doing there job...Lunch and dinner has a homely touch..very nice...We stayed in The Forest 1.which is actaully a big Elevated kind of wooden chalet..having Three sections..U can have one section for yourself or if ur travelling with group u can booked all of it...The Chalets are all elevated above the ground..and very private you can not even see the path leading to another machhan...on ur own u have to be escorted by the machan people..I would like to suggest them for having some activities like archery, tree walk or pond...overall nice stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darshan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Darshan,

We thank you for taking the time out to visit us at The Machan. So glad that you found the privacy we have on offer at The Machan endearing.

Come the monsoons the property truly transforms and with a full dam that you can swim in and a private waterfall just below the Forest Machans the level of activity also transforms.

We hope to have you with us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Machan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just got back from Machan. Last minute bookings got us one night in Machan, and one night in what they call Cabin. Loved both ...infact cabin more despite having low expectations viz. machan. cabin was a real jungle experience.

Great Place....well done (completely underdone and thats the beauty). Its obvious that rampant construction is on (well hidden behind green curtains) and going forward it might not be as virgin as its today.


couple of minor suggestions
a. breakfast at 9 is too late (and that too gets delayed by 15-20 minutes). In natural surroundings, its obvious that you get up early and go for a walk...and then by 7,30 or so you are dying to have your bfast. further sometimes it gets v hot while having bfast.
b. likewise dinner time quoted at 7,30pm..usually gets late. should stick to whatever time is prescribed
c, the loo doors should have a latch ....for obvious reasons!
d. I think having arrangement with some masseurs is a must. would no recommend a lavish spa or anything like that...but any arrangement that gets you there is fine
d. Duvets provided should have covers... and they be replaced afresh when giving it to customers.

Irrespective...all set to get back there during monsoons! worth it!

Room Tip: if you want to live right in middle of jungle ....then cabin is the room to go for...machan gives yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at the Forest Machan over a long weekend. It was a good break from the hectic life of Mumbai. However, it isn't one of your normal luxury breaks and therefore not for everyone. One should know what to expect. It is an eco resort (at least at this point in time) with a good location in a forest, with good views and nice well appointed rooms. It does not have aircon, phone / internet network is limited and sporadic, no TVs, no swimming pool and other luxuries.

The good:
1. Nice, clean big machans overlooking the forest and modern bathrooms with separate bath and shower areas (forest machans)
2. Great food. While the choice is somewhat limited, the food is really tasty and healthy
3. Nature trails, organised treks
4. Good hospitality and generally good service

The not so good:
1. Inflexibility of bookings. We had booked our stay a couple of months in advance. Something came up and we wanted to change our dates... suffice to say they weren't the most helpful
2. No aircon. End March was extremely hot and the fan and cooler just couldn't cope with the afternoon heat. It was extremely uncomfortable in the afternoon. Mornings and evenings were pleasant.
3. Service was a bit of a hit and miss (fortunately generally a hit): Asked for an extra towel for our kid (were supplied two initially). It took 3 reminders and till evening to get one.
4. No pool, no gym, no games room (they have some books and a few board games). We were aware of this and therefore somewhat prepared. We were told that a gym and a pool are planned.
5. Housekeeping not replacing shower gel after the first night and leaving behind just the half used bottle (at Rs. 14K per night, I expected more)

in summary, a good place to get away from the hustle and bustle, take a nature walk or a treak, read a book, eat good food and relax.m But if you expect anything more, want the creature comforts of resorts, then look elsewhere.

Tip: Avoid summers, it is uncomfortable, even for a Mumbaikar who has seen hot summers. Cooler times would be preferable.

PS: They are planning a gym, pool, conference centre etc. In my mind, they will no longer be an eco resort after this. It is a delicate balance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank prmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Located at the perfect spot,away from the hustle and din of Lonavala,this property deserves accolades for excellent location,great views and amazing hospitality.We stayed at one of the canopies and it was one of the best getaways I ever had.Romantic,secluded and quiet,the canopy overlooked the green ridge and was spacious with lots of natural light.Made of eco friendly products(windmills,solar panels etc),it was the perfect blend of minimalist comfort and aesthetic appeal.
There are lots of walking trails around the property,with lots of trees and birds.It's a bird lover's paradise.The sunset point is pretty cool too and there is a lovely morning hike to a nearby hill and evening nature walk for those interested in more than just unwinding.
The restaurant is pretty in the evenings with lit up lanterns and there are hammocks,trampolines,board games etc for guests of all ages and tastes.
The staff are attentive,without being obtrusive and pay minute attention to smallest of details for the ultimate customer delight.
The food was pretty decent,and there is a small wine list too.Parking space is available for self driven vehicles and its the best place to unwind,relax and be one with nature.
Perfect,Perfect,Perfect.
Loved it,will recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank svetlanabaghawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Svetlana,

It was truly a pleasure to host you folks at The Machan. We’re glad to hear that the Canopy Machans were to your liking and on the whole you were able to ‘unwind, relax and be one with nature’ at The Machan.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to have you with us.

Thank you very much for the kind words, it truly means the world to us all working at The Machan.

Best,
The Machan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The place is beautiful, the staff so sincerely nice, caring and helpful. The lodging is designed with very good taste that one rarely finds in hotels. Sleeping in such a beautiful scenery, not seen and not seeing anyone, but just birds and nature is something that cannot be described.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guy,

Thank you so very much for the glowing review. We are very pleased to know that we were able to provide you the peace and serenity you so desired.

We do hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again on your next trip to India. This time perhaps in our new Nested Machans this monsoon.

Kind regards,
The Machan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Machan is the ideal vacation getaway if you always loved nature but do not care for living in tents or sub standard accommodations. The tree houses have all of the modern conveniences minus a few. The ambiance is so breathtakingly beautiful that no one would want to go back to the rat race of TVs, phones, or the internet again. The tree houses blend with nature on a privately owned mountain with panoramic views. The home made food is to die for compared to the standard menus provided for the masses by 5 star vacation resorts. Nature related activities are fun and different from the ones provided by the usual luxury vacation destinations. The family owned business provides personal service that makes you feel right at home. The Machan experience is totally relaxing and stress free. It is unique, peaceful, serene, exhilarating and an excellent choice compared to other corners of paradise in India, Europe, Latin America, or the USA. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Depends on group size. They vary - from a couple to 8 to 10 in a group. All rooms have beautiful vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csippy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
0.7 mi away
Cloud 9 Hills Resort
Cloud 9 Hills Resort
#8 of 70 in Lonavala
274 reviews
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 7 in Khandala
851 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 70 in Lonavala
623 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#3 of 7 in Khandala
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range: £115 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing