We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good potential and a fabulous location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tungi Lake Pavna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lonavala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tungi Lake Pavna
Ranked #1 of 61 Lonavala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good potential and a fabulous location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

One of the latest properties on the timeshare block, is Club Mahindra's Lake Pavna resort. For starters, one of the biggest positives for this resort was its off beat location. The resort is a good hour's drive from Lonavala city. The last 10 kms is through a jungle path with barely room for another vehicle to pass. No pollution and far, far away from the din and crowds of Mumbai and even the teeming tourist population that descends on Lonavala during weekends. It is extremely helpful if you have your own vehicle especially if you want to do some sightseeing in Lonavala town and the "points". We did all of that during our previous Lonavala visits and this time just wanted a resort enviornment to unwind with our child. We were definitely not disappointed.
The resort is not fully functional and there are quite a number of things which probably need a long way to go before it reaches the standard of other Mahindra resorts like Varca or Coorg. Like the service, which is really warm, friendly and helpful, but hopelessly inadequate when it comes to handling crowds and busy traffic. So we took 45 minutes to check in on Saturday and a whole hour to check out on Sunday. But the staff did ensure that we were comfortable during the delay so no worries there.
Next up is the room. We had an extra adult with us and hence had booked the 1 bedroom suite which "affords privacy to 2 couples". We had the mental image of Varca where the same description got us a quaint cottage with a kitchenette, living space (with a fold out sofa) and a large bedroom. The rooms were a little small in comparison. There was one bathroom to be shared among everyone and just one TV (yes, TV is a big deal in our household)..all forgiveable but yeah, no WiFi? that was really frustrating because cell phone signals were erratic and a litle bit of WiFi could have really helped! The kitchenette was quite self sufficient and well stocked with cutlery and crockery, A pretty dining area and overall, we were happy. The space could have been more but still happy with what we got.
The only real disappointment was the food. We had opted for the half day package which was bout Rs 800(inc taxes) per adult and included breakfast and either lunch or dinner. The buffets were fairly disappointing with the vegetarian fare being particularly bad. Most of the gravies were watered down as the buffet progressed, refills took a long time. The breakfast spread was marginally better but lunch was frankly, quite bad. We ordered a-la carte for dinner and that was a refreshing change. So maybe will stay away from the buffet. A-la carte was expensive though.
We were rained in most of the time but the resort staff had really gone out of their way to make our stay a fun one. Lots of indoor games, fun for the entire family. There were some carnival games on show the evening we were there. Cycles on rent included even kiddie models. Air hockey, Wii and PS2 competed with carrom, pool and table tennis.. Really happy with the fun zone.
The swimming pool was amazing! A beautiful infinity pool overlooking the breathtaking view of the lake and the mountains..really heavenly!..another smaller pool for those looking for privacy and a kiddie pool with a water slide!..Pools were clean and well maintained too.
The bestest part of the trip was the spa. It has to be checked out. The last 10 kms of bumpy roads upto the resort had seriously cramped by back and the masseur gave me a beaultiful back and shoulder massage to take all that tension away! As everywhere, really good service and friendly staff. The spa is something the resort should pride itself on. The almost zen like ambience of the place is seriously something very difficult to find!.
Ours was a very short trip but this property is definitely on our radar for the future. Unbeatable location, great service and an even a toy train that transfers you from rooms to other parts of the reception. Fun for the whole family. Definitely coming back

Room Tip: most of the rooms have a good view. do avoid the busy check in time(around 2 pm) to avoid a rush in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AswathyGovind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    186
    47
    5
    5
See reviews for
300
64
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The property is just fabulous.I stayed for 2 nites an it was super. To start wit the resort is vvv huge, rooms have lake view which is lovely, children activity centre is gud,food is okay, 3 swiming pools, usp the toy train, service is gud. Keep it up

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bhaveshah08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

A superb property... away from the usually over crowded bustling Lonavala city. The resort is secluded in a way especially for the last 10 kms upto the resort there is almost no sign of any habitation in sight.. and voila.. when you reach the resort it almost trancends into a different world of its own. So once in the resortyou are confined in, as there is no where to go for about 30 kms atleast. Its on the same route as Ambi Valley.
The resort is spread over a few acres and has the charm of natural surroundings giving you the feel of the almost private mountains, the amazing sight of the lake Pavna and yetreminicentof a forest.
The food is excellent and so are the rooms. The property is well maintained and the pools are extremely picturesque overlooking the lake. The calmness and the serenity we experienced was like never before in these natural surroundings. Seeing it is believing it, its almost difficult to describe.
A highly recommended resort if you looking for peace of mind away from the cacophonic cities. The resort also offers cycles to move around, which after yearswas an amazing experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1vinodsharma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Another great location by club mahindra... One of the latest resorts from the group is only 125km from Mumbai and honestly a great change from now cramped up picnic location of Lonavala... The occupancy was 100% during our stay but a thoughtfully well constructed and spread out rooms / apartments did not make it feel crowded at all, they have tried to utilize the large tract of land to good use... An infinity pool gives an amazing view over the lake into the mountains.... One thing that I have experienced at most club mahindra locations is the staff is extremely well trained and very courteous... here they seemed to be slightly under staffed to handle 100% occupancy especially the restaurant and scope for improvement to match up to their other resorts.... Food is reasonably good. They currently do not have a outlet / shop so make sure you buy what you need from the city / lonavala

Sound & practical piece of advice for anyone planning a trip here especially during monsoon (when whole of mumbai seems to be in Lonavala at Bushi dam) - make sure you cross the bushi dam area early on the weekend even if it means you reach at the resort early. Or even better make sure you plan your stay by avoiding checking into or out on Saturday or Sunday.... Traffic can get pretty crazy and we heard not so great stories from people who came in on Sunday....

Happy holidays!!

Room Tip: higher floors have better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sidontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bombay
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

The resort is loosely referred to as the Lonavala resort, since Pavna Lake is not so well known. However, the actual location is 30 kilometres from the town. When driving down from Bombay, we need to turn right from Kumar Resorts on the main road and then take a right turn immediately. There are some more turns along the way, but thankfully Club Mahindra boards are clear and placed at all the strategic forks. As is usual with Mahindra resorts, the last few kilometres (in this case 10) are on extremely bad roads. The risk of puncture or other damage to the car is high. Thankfully, the traffic is very light, since that road leads only to the resort.
Once we reached the place, all the travails of the journey were forgotten, as we took in the scenery. Most of the rooms overlook the lake. The resort is spread over a very large area and most of it is still under construction. However, there was no disturbance because of that.
The rooms are neat, clean, with very spacious bathrooms. There is no kitchenette, and only the kettle is provided. Since the place is very remote, food has to be taken at the solitary restaurant only. That leads to a bit of rush during meal times. The a-la-carte menu is better than the buffet, which lacks variety. The service is pretty good, and the people are smiling and friendly. Two buggies have been provided by the resort to transport people within the resort, but one has to wait quite a bit for that also.
After sundown the place becomes quiet and peaceful. It is better to be prepared with medicines and other necessities, especially if one is travelling with elders and kids, since nothing is available in the vicinity, and the nearest shops are those at Lonavala, 30 kilometres away.
It should be more beautiful to visit after the rains.
All said and done, a very enjoyable experience

Room Tip: The lake facing rooms afford a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank DarnieChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Lonavala is the most hyped weekend getaway near Bombay, but there are a lot of areas in Lonaval itself which are still remote and unexplored. Club Mahindra specializes in placing their resorts in such remote locations, and the Tungi resort is no exception.
The location of Lonaval is a little misleading, since the place is actually in Pavna, which is nearly 30 kilometers from the center of Lonavala town. The visit necessitates havings one's own vehicle, since there is no other mode of public transport. The drive is actually worth it, right upto Cloud 9 resort, from where the road forks to the left. It is 10 kilometers to the resort from that point, and unfortunately that section of the road is bad. The compensation is that there is not much of traffic and there is a lot of greenary and opportunity for good photographs.
On reaching the resort we are greeted warmly and were able to check in to our rooms without much delay. The place is well spread out with good distance between the units. The resort provides two battery operated vehicles for the use of the guests and this is needed at all times, expecially for the elderly even for coming for meals, since there is only one restaurent and that too near the reception.
The food was ordinary, but only by the comparison to the food usually served at Club Mahindra resorts. We tried the buffet once, but found it a little costly for the variety offered and so stuck to the a-la-carte after that.
Being a new resort, there is a lot of construction going on, but none of it is disturbing. The view from most of the rooms is breathtaking and it is very quiet and peaceful once it becomes dark. It is difficult to imagine that we are only 90 kilometers away from a huge noisy metropolis.
It is definitely worth the effort required to reach the place.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in a unit that overlooks the lake. The view is stupendous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank JayanthiDarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Getting there-Lake pavna property is 25 kms from lonavla city.it took us 1.5 hrs to figure out where the property is ...The number given on the confirmation vouchers was not valid,the number given by the call centre of the resort was wrong finaly the call centre gave us the no of one of the employee who guided us to this property..

Directions ---This property is on the way to amby valley ..from cloud 9 resort there is a left towards essar farms which needs to be taken.. it is approx 10 km from cloud 9 resort.

if you are asking people for direction dont ask for pavna lake ask for tungi village...otherwise they will send you towards pavna dam which is on the other side of the lake.

About the resort
1)the resort is hugh and spread out
2)there is 1 restaurant all day dinning (no Bar) carry your own booze
3)Room service menu is very limited
4)there is a toy train every half an hour from the restaurant to the rooms---Not really reliable on day 1 we waited for 45 mins for it and it never turned up
5)apart from toy train you can call the reception for maruti vans which will fetch you to the restaurants
6)Rooms are big with great view but not well maintained-Fittings and Fixtures are loose and coming out at lot of places

Things to do
1) OUT DOOR activities-Trek to the near by fort,You can go down to lake pavna--Apart from this if you want to visit the tiger point,lions point and bhushi dam they are approximately 15 kms

2)the resort have the usual play areas for the kids, liberary,really big swimming pool,play area etc

Food
1)they offer great packages to the members--INR 1200 for BF/Lunch and Dinner ,INR-800 for BF and Lunch or Dinner
2) food is yummy but rates are on the higher side
3)there are no restaurants/Dhabbas in the vicinity
4)would advice to carry basis things like snacks,drinking water etc

THERE IS NO GROCERY SHOP AT THIS CLUB MAHINDRA RESORT
if you order mineral bottle in the room it will cost you INR 70 and at the restaurant INR 40...

Getting back ...avoid travelling back on sunday after noons and evenings --IT TOOK US 5 HRS TO COVER 30 KMS IN LONAVLA ..BHUSHI DAM IS CHOKO BLOCK ON SUNDAYS WITH CARS,BIKES,BUSES AND ROWDY CROWD WHO ARE HALF DRUNK...

would reccommand this property if you just want to relax at the resort

Room Tip: Choose rooms near the restaurants and play area..the resort is hugh and spread out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank sumitsethi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
4.3 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
7.7 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
9.6 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cloud 9 Hills Resort
Cloud 9 Hills Resort
#9 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
7.6 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tungi Lake Pavna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tungi Lake Pavna

Property: Tungi Lake Pavna
Address: Tungi Lake, Pavna, Lonavala 410406, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Tungi Lake Pavna)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Lonavala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing