We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lonavala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indus Valley Resort
Ranked #48 of 65 Lonavala B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“poor experience”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I'd booked this hotel looking at the amenities and the reviews. the whole point of making a booking at this hotel was because it included a swimming pool. The rooms are decent and spacious, but the bathrooms, service, housekeeping etc are pathetic. After we checked in, when we enquired about the pool, we were told that it is not functional.

Also, their room service was pathetic to say the least... no one turned up for more than an hour to take our lunch order inspite of calling room service 4-5 times. Every time we had to use the bathroom, we had to call and ask them to enable the water supply coz there would be no water in the taps... Lots of mosquitoes and no repellents provided. The children's play area is poorly maintained and looked as if it was not cleaned in ages when we'd visited.

As per their hotel details, check out is at 11 am but we were informed to check out at 10 am... dis in spite of the fact that we checked in @ 12:30 and requested a late check out...

We placed our order for breakfast and tea at 9:30 am and were told sorry, everything is over.... so in short, we had to wait for over an hour for someone to take a lunch order, which eventually did not happen and we went to the main market for lunch... breakfast wasn't available so again we had to check out and leave wid all our baggage to have breakfast... We had to face all this inconvenience along wid our child.

Also, the hotel is quite far from the main market area and cannot be located very easily. Only suitable for people who have their own mode of transport. Since it is quite inside, you don't get an auto until you walk to the main road...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prerna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    14
    6
    20
See reviews for
17
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

It is quite away from the city. It seems it is surrounded by farms. In the night, One can hear continuous noise of Mosquito & Insects. The furniture & the rooms are great. But no proper management, Like there was a cockroach in the room & the fudge we bought from lonavala, was eaten by ants.

No intercom facility. One has to go to reception in case of problems. Drinking water was not provided. In the morning, there was no water in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Ravi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lonavala hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Where do I start? To confirm my booking I had to call the resort at least 20 times before my call was answered, unfortunately it wasn't easy finding the resort, so tried to call again.... obviously my exercise turned futile and had to finally ask local people for directions. When we reached, the room was not clean.... the floor was completely dusty, which wasn't cleaned until next morning... which again was only after we requested for. The bathroom had a tub..... but our excitement was short lived as there was no stopper for the tub.... when inquired, we were told that the stoppers of tubs in all the rooms were misplaced.....somehow we still managed using plastic bag to block the water and enjoyed the unclean tub (which we had to clean ourselves).... to our dismay even the drainage was not proper and the water clogged.... both in the bathroom as well as in the basin. Even while checking out, the reception did not had a card payment option...neither did they had enough change.... Totally frustrating.... Oh and I forgot, one my friends came to meet me there... there wasn't enough place to even sit out someplace and chat together comfortably..... not at all recommended.....

Room Tip: Avoid. However, if you have to go.. then choose higher floor as you'll get better privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vivek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is not a resort by any definition. We got a little carried away by the reviews, but then...sheer disappointment. The rooms are decent and spacious, but the bathrooms, service, housekeeping etc are pathetic. The bathroom floor, even after cleaning is wet, no toiliteries kept, towels and cushions covers are equally dirty. U have to order atleast 2-3 times if you need anything.

On talking to some ppl we got to know that this is a row house property, flats are sold to individuals and taken as a buyback on rental basis by the owner and used this as a resort. out of 78 flats, only 16 are rented as resort....which are poorly maintain. The approach road to this place is equally bad and you will 100% not find this place easily.

DO not come to lonavala if this is the only place available.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank globetravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

3952t is a best resort to stay with family and there is very good service and food was execellant yar and there is bushi tank are also good and nature is beauti ful yar jana hai to indusvalley jao best resort is lonavala to the stay with family yar

Room Tip: ac deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rahul709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

It was the awesome journey not because of the destination "Lonavala" but only because of the Hotel where we stayed called Indus Valley Resort.

Before planing this trip we were quite unsure due to the the off-season out there in Lonavala and actually it was when we reached there.. It was totally dry all corners with yellow grass everywhere, no greenery, no fog etc. so we were little upset as expected but there was the only thing which made my trip successful is my hotel.

The ambiance, Rooms, Service, People, Indoor Games, Food and everything which they provide was good except the road to reach the hotel, they have to look after that road and little more cleanliness if they want to grow the popularity of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZiaRaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Staff was helpful, they helped us with traveling around Lonavala by suggesting us the various points to be visited in Lonavala and getting us a vehicle.

On some inquiry with the staff we got to know that the resort was built a year back. It's created very beautifully, but not maintained properly. There was fungus on the walls of the room. Knob of the bath tub was broken and also the bath tub was dirty. There's a swimming pool but we didn't wish to go there, as it seemed dirty.

Food was average. We being non-vegeterian lovers, expected the same but it was completely vegeterian menu. We were given complimentary breakfast, but it was also not that good too except for the tea.

I wouldn't suggest this hotel, unless they look after the maintenance of the hotel. I would call it a "hotel" as there was nothing like a "resort" in it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archanaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
0.0 mi away
Retreat Heritage Lonavala
Retreat Heritage Lonavala
#41 of 67 in Lonavala
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#18 of 67 in Lonavala
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Metropole
Hotel The Metropole
#58 of 67 in Lonavala
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aristro & Zo Rooms
Hotel Aristro & Zo Rooms
#38 of 65 in Lonavala
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sereniity Resort
Sereniity Resort
#4 of 65 in Lonavala
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ferreira Resort
Ferreira Resort
#16 of 65 in Lonavala
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indus Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indus Valley Resort

Property: Indus Valley Resort
Address: Indus Valley, Valvan Village | Near Nusi Resort, Lonavala, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Indus Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing