We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price, could be better”
Review of Casa de Mama

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lonavala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de Mama
Ranked #5 of 74 Lonavala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent less than a day at Casa De Mama. Had a bit of a hard time finding the place, but Stacey was quite helpful over the phone. Nobody was home when we wound up there and the only person around was the caretaker who seemed to be a bit elusive. The rooms were sparsely furnished.

Now, for the not-so-good things: A lot of dust had settled on the mattress and we asked for the sheets to be changed. The caretaker Rukmina put a fresh sheet on top of the old one and my friend lost his sleep from coughing all night. We saw a cockroach run around the room and it petrified me! The bathroom had no toiletries, unless you count a few bars of used soap in different sizes with hair stuck on them. No handwash liquid either. One of the two towels that was given to us seemed to have stains and we were not comfortable using it. No airconditioning, but night time was cool enough for the beginning of summer. Day time I would presume might get a bit hot at the first floor where the rooms are. No entertainment whatsoever! Not like you'd need if you're planning to go sight-seeing or drive around! The breakfast made by Rukmina took quite a while. Give yourself an hour. The omlettes were way too oily.

The good things: The balcony outside the room was absolutely lovely. Lot of greenery around the bungalow and we sat out several hours in the night (make sure you carry/buy mosquito repellent cream) listening to music and chatting away. Excellent pricing. Geyser for hot water. The masala tea made by Rukmina was delicious!

Go if you want a not-so-expensive place to crash and if you have company to keep busy and enjoy the balcony with!

Room Tip: The only room with a balcony is the one at front. It's the best one. The others are very basic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mythreyee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at this charming little hideout during our recent (and brief) stay in Lonavala. While a stone's throw away from the train station, main market etc. Casa de Mama is away from the hustle and bustle that makes up the town centre. Clean, well maintained rooms and a verandah where you can spend all day!

Add to that the Mendoz family who, with their hospitality made our stay a memorable one! Thanks again to Stacey, Susan and Amit...look forward to being back soon!

Room Tip: Take the room with the verandah (there are only three rooms and one of them, the master bedroom has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SayakB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hosts where very nice, and helpful. They got a rickshaw that was honest, and took where we wanted to go. They also talked to him for us since my wife, and I don't speak Hindi (we are Americans). They made great meals for us. They also picked us up from the train station to take us to there home stay, Very helpful hosts!

The accommodations where fantastic! Nice rooms, comfy beds, screens on the windows so you could have them open, and not have to worry to much about mosquitoes.

If we go back to Lonavala we will be staying there again.

Thanks Casa De Mama!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skeletorx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staceymendoz, Manager at Casa de Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thanks Nick & Louise for the lovely review. We would love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Over a vagabond trip in Maharashtra, landed in pune and got to know about this place. A full 3 bed rooms, furnished place, me and my pal, felt at home all 3 nights of our stay. Its quiet, and just couple of minutes away from the centre of town. It has a beautiful front lawn where one could just hang out. Service is fantastic, we got our tea and breakfast as desired and just loved every moment of our being there.

5 Stars and thumbs up !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MishkaBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staceymendoz, Manager at Casa de Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thanks very much for your generous review.
We look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend long ago and am already craving to go again.. absolutely blissful.. you know you are in the heart of the city and yet feel like you're somewhere far away in a serene, isolated place. Perfectly located close to all the famous spots in Lonavla. Super close to the railway station and center point bus stop!
Amazing hospitality.. from the welcome to the sumptuous breakfast served in the morning.
A must visit!

Room Tip: Mosquitoes gave us trouble. Would help to carry a coil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staceymendoz, Manager at Casa de Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hi Janani,

Thank you very much for the lovely feedback and thanks for letting us know of the mosquito trouble. With the greenery around it is difficult to keep them at bay. Be rest assured , we do have repellents provided.

Many thanks,
Stacey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I am compelled to write a review about this place is largely because of excellent experience I had with friends. We had gone there to celebrate Friendship Day and nothing could have been better than such a serene and lovely place.It is situated away from the hustle and bustle of Lonavla is the place to be in when you want to relax and enjoy the simply amazing view of the countryside. It is near the highway which makes the journey comfortable.Cleanliness at its best maintained in such heavy rainy season too.Total value for money.The rooms were spacious and the master bedroom is rocking!!! It gives u a feel of a 5 star hotel with amazing view through the open balcony. The bathrooms were clean with all the necessary stuffs inside. This was my 3rd visit and I would like to visit this place over and over again because the environment is so relaxing. Just a perfect place to chill after stressful time in office.The food served was awesome and everything was at reasonable price. The owners are very nice and cooperative. They made it a point to come and check whether everything was fine with us or not.Hoping to visit soon.

Room Tip: The master bedroom has an awesome view and the hall on the ground floor is the best place to chill o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nisha236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staceymendoz, Manager at Casa de Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hi Nisha,

Thank you very much for your response. We would like to have you over again!

Thanks,
Stacey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

awesome place to enjoy with friends, enjoyed lot it was a very comfortable place with lots of amenities clean and hygienic place.. lots of trees nice greenery. i would like to thank anu to suggest us this place and would recommend others to visit it once and enjoy the stay over there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank neha9486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staceymendoz, Manager at Casa de Mama, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thanks Neha for your kind words. We look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
0 mi away
Cloud 9 Hills Resort
Cloud 9 Hills Resort
#8 of 70 in Lonavala
274 reviews
0 mi away
OYO 7647 Hotel Lions Den
OYO 7647 Hotel Lions Den
#35 of 70 in Lonavala
75 reviews
0 mi away
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
#3 of 70 in Lonavala
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 7 in Khandala
851 reviews
0 mi away
Della Adventure Resorts
Della Adventure Resorts
#2 of 70 in Lonavala
1,338 reviews
0 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mama

Address: 294 Walwan | near Denkar Colony, Lonavala 410401, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Lonavala
Price Range: £73 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the slopes of the Sahayadri ranges and situated just off NH4, your home away from home awaits. Casa de Mama is a quaint 3 bedroom duplex residence that has been converted into a homestay, retaining its rustic charm without sacrificing any modern creature comfort. For those weary warriors who are looking for a place to unwind for as long as it takes...a drive of little over an hour from either Pune or Mumbai, would bring you to Casa de Mama. Wake up to the sound of warbling birds, sit out in your balcony and watch the trees cast their dappled shadows on the ground. Casa de Mama is the place where you can tune into yourselves and turn off the outside world! We'd love to see you embrace the experience that is Casa de Mama and would hate to see you leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing