We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMED CAFE”
Review of Hotel Amed Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amed Cafe
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Amed
warrnambool
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“AMED CAFE”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I hate to disagree with some other reviews but we really enjoyed our meals at the Amed Cafe. We actually had a few meals there because we felt it had better meals to choose from and we liked the atmosphere, it was on the beach too. Yes the meals weren't as cheap as other Warungs but we thought it was good to go there for a change. I go back and eat there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrnamboolBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    52
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
31
61
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I think of most of reviewers have got this right. The rooms are nothing flash and over priced. We stayed one night before moving to Double 1 Bungalows down the road which is much better and cheaper. We had at Amed Cafe also which was overpriced and poor quality.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the beach. Very hot and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaxseed1000mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Room was nice, but you don't want a rat in your room. The first night I saw one and the next day we found clothing eaten by it. Old bathroom. We rented one of the two bungalows on the beach side. Breakfast was poor, if you wanted some bread with your egg, you had to pay extra. We won't come back to this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawayasa, front office at Hotel Amed Cafe, responded to this review, 5 December 2016
Dear Mr & Mrs

Thank you for stay in our hotel , iam really sorry abaut problem in your room.
your opinien is good for improved our hotel to the future.

once again iam sorry.

Best Regards
Wayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amed hotels

Gifu, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We only had lunch there so I cannot comment on the Bungalows, but Amed Cafe was the worst meal and the worst service I experienced in Bali.

The service was incredibly slow, not just Bali-relaxing slow, but neglectfully so. We waited for over ten minutes to be given a menu and asked for a chili sauce that never came. The food was not only overpriced but also reminded us of microwave dinners.
As a former service industry employee I try to be aware of overwhelmed staff but that was not the case. All but one of the staff members were unfriendly, maybe because we weren't hotel guests?

We were so glad to be out of there after a 2.5 hour (not by choice) lunch.

There are so many far far better restaurants and warung in the Amed area, it's best to just avoid this one and eat a delicious meal with friendly owners and staff somewhere else.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We arrived here by chance, & were told there was no air-conditioned rooms, so we opted for one of the rooms on the poolside. The mosquito net around the bed was good considering the walls & windows were a good 5 inches apart.
The bathroom was below the bedroom and upon inspection seemed clean enough for 1 night. However, come nightfall dozens of cockroaches appeared. My partner got extreme food poisoning from dinner; which was fairly pricy in comparision to many other places.
I would not stay here again nor would I recommend others too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed in Amed for 5 nights. Amed is very quit but also a nice place to get away from the buzz of the more touristy places on Bali. Amed Café is one the original Hotels in Amed and has a lot of charm.

We stayed in their best and most expensive room located on the second floor over the restaurant with a very nice view of Puri Agung. We liked the hotel very much, but we must admit that the general cleanliness of the rooms and the state of the hotel could be so much better. Our refrigerator had large visible stains inside and some of our windows in our room could not be locked just to mention a few things.

The restaurant is OK for a few meals (especially breakfast and lunch) but their dinner is overpriced (compared to the smaller Warungs around the neighbourhood) and the quality of the meals needs to be lifted. We choose to eat at some of the smaller Warungs not far from the hotel and we had a very good experience trying these (for half the price :-)).

Their divingcrew at the hotel is recommendable and their excursions around the area are very well executed but expensive (make sure to negotiate a better price if more than two people). The divespots around Amed are fantastic (especially Tulamben) so make sure to have a few dives while staying in Amed.

Unlike most other hotels in Bali that we visited Amed Café does not have wi-fi and the internet is not free of charge when staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Puri Agung View 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We ended up in Amed Cafe by chance, as we arrived in Amed while it was raining and didnt feel like looking around too much. We got a discount on one of the rooms at the top of the road, which was beautiful - outside bathroom, big comfortable bed, air-conditioning and charming balcony with a day bed. Clean and well designed.
We were right above the street, so it was a bit noisy, but nothing too much.

We found the staff unhelpful and the man working at the shop, also run by the Amed Cafe, was down right rude, grumpy and always trying to squeeze the last rupiah out of us (lied about prices and once upped the already given price for bananas from the girl that also works there). Unfortunately its the only place in Amed to find a lot of conveniences, so even after moving to a different accommodation, we had to deal with them.

The pool is cold and the kids only tried it once, which is not a good sign. I liked the view and the buildings around it - very cozy and beautiful.

We had asked if its ok to pay by credit card and got affirmative answer. On the morning we were leaving, we made our way down and got ready to pay at which time the woman behind the counter says "Oh, you could pay by credit card before 10am, because now there is no electricity". This part we were not told, so now we were stuck with the kids in the lobby. It was getting close to the time when our 2 year old would need a nap, so I asked if its ok for us to go back to the room for him to sleep while we wait for the electricity - "Not possible" was the answer, short and sweet. Why, I was not sure, as the hotel was empty - we saw not one other guest while we stayed there.

If you are after beautiful, comfortable room, that would be the place. Everything else was quite underwhelming and for the price, was not good enough for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snap_blab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
2.2 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#18 of 18 in Amed
77 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 18 in Amed
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
221 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
1.7 mi away
Double One Villas
Double One Villas
#17 of 18 in Amed
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amed Cafe

Property: Hotel Amed Cafe
Address: Jalan Raya Bunutan, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Amed
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amed Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with Beachrestaurant in a big exotic garden- own Diveshop on the beach - 2 swimmingpool - shoppingcenter with ATM - bakery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Amed Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amed Cafe And Bungalows
Amed Cafe & Bungalows Hotel Amed
Amed Cafe Hotel
Hotel Amed Cafe Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing