We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing base for diving Jemeluk”
Review of Hotel Amed Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Amed Cafe
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Amed
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This pleasant hotel is listed in some guidebooks under its official title of “Pondok Kebun Wayan”, but seems to be generally known as “Amed Cafe”. It is located on both sides of the road through Amed, with the restaurant, dive centre and internet cafe on the beach side and reception and most of the rooms on the hillside opposite. There is also a small supermarket, useful for drinks and snacks.

The ladies at reception are charming and helpful and will help arrange transport and tours. There are safe deposit boxes located here also. Breakfast is included in the room rate and consists of a choice of tea or Balinese coffee, pancakes and a small plate of fruit.

We chose a garden view room, with air-conditioning and hot water. Our room was fairly large by Balinese standards and had a lovely terrace with hammock, easy chairs and a small table, overlooking the gardens and small pool. The bathroom had a bath and low-level shower and a sink with a large mirror. The toilet was quite stained – a common problem in Bali – I don’t think that they have heard of spray bleach. The room was cleaned on a daily basis. The one thing that we found a bit strange was the lack of a bathroom door. There was a mesh curtain across the doorway, but there was still an unrestricted view of the toilet if you sat on the wrong place on the bed!

The dive centre posts times of high and low tides on a blackboard outside the restaurant. This is rather useful for working out the time of slack water, as currents can be fairly strong in Jemeluk. Being experienced divers, we did not need a guide, but the dive centre refused to hire us scuba tanks without a guide, with a price to match. So, we walked down the road to the Stingray Dive Centre and hired tanks for 60,000 Rupiah (about $6) each. Jemeluk has some of the best coral in northern Bali and it is easily accessed from the shore here. There are also some artificial reefs on the sandy slope, with lots of fish life and good opportunities for underwater photography.

In conclusion, I would recommend Amed Cafe. Some new rooms have just been built on the hillside and these looked very pleasant indeed, with roofed terraces and a day bed for relaxation. Unless you desperately want a sea view, it is probably not worth paying the extra for these rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scubadiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2008

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Amed Cafe and Hotel and really liked it. The hotel includes a restaurant, dive shop, and pool. The pool and standard rooms are across the road from the beach (rural road without much traffic) and the restaurant, dive shop, and beach cottages are on the ocean side of the road. Along the beach, in front of the restaurant and cabins, there is a deck with lounge chairs for sunbathing. This is nice because you have a place up off the sand/rocks to hang out.

We rented the beach front cottage, which is a rustic 2-storey wooden cottage with a thatched roof. The living area is on the upper floor, with great views of the ocean. The bottom floor is open with lounge chairs and cushions. The cottage has hot and cold water and electricity, but no AC. We found it to be quite comfortable though with the fan on and the windows open. Amed doesn't have particularly high humidity - or at least it didn't when we were there. We had the crash of the waves to lull us to sleep each night. The bathroom is pretty dated, but in good condition. Same with some of the furnishings. We paid 40 euro/night for the room, so we didn't expect luxury.

The restaurant is also right on the beach - across the garden from our room. They have a pretty good selection of food and the quality was good. There are American/Western items on the menu, although the Indonesian food was much better. They only have Bintang beer though and I think Hatten (sp?) wine by the glass. Neither were particularly palatable - but then beer and wine selection in Bali in general seems to leave something to be desired.

Overall, we thought this was a good, low key place to stay, pretty views, reasonably close to other things in Amed - great for relaxation and just hanging out.

There are also several women there who do massages - no spa per se, so they do the massages on the lounge chairs on the deck. We had our massages on the platform on the ground floor of our cottage, which afforded a bit more privacy. The massages were pretty good - not the best I've had, but for 70,000 rupiah for an hour, I wont complain.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank november_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CLR_RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
51
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank LisaSarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
0.9 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 22 in Amed
241 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 22 in Amed
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
1.7 mi away
Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
1.7 mi away
Double One Villas
Double One Villas
#19 of 22 in Amed
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amed Cafe

Address: Jalan Raya Bunutan, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Amed
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range: £14 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amed Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with Beachrestaurant in a big exotic garden- own Diveshop on the beach - 2 swimmingpool - shoppingcenter with ATM - bakery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Amed Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amed Cafe & Bungalows Hotel Amed
Amed Cafe And Bungalows
Amed Cafe Hotel
Hotel Amed Cafe Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing