We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced rooms, mean owners”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aiona Garden of Health
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Reviewed 5 January 2013

While one of my favorite stories from my trip to Bali was getting into a fight with the owner of this "meditation retreat," I would not recommend repeating the experience. The place was basically empty when we got there yet they told us only one room was available - we later realized that was the most expensive one. When we decided to leave one night early because we didn't like it there (giving them 24 hours notice), they reacted horribly and forced us to pay.

The food was good but overpriced and while the menu was large, most of the items on it were not available. The same went for the yoga and meditation. We were paying to be at a retreat but once we checked in they let us know they weren't offering most of what they advertise.

At dinner one night, we asked for butter and the guy was not only rude about it, he made us pay extra. For butter. The woman was nice at times but the male owner was condescending and horrible. For a "peaceful" place, he had a really unnerving energy. Also, there were lots of bugs and rodents in the rooms at night.

I think you get the gist, but we really hated this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ali b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

Thank goodness we only ate here. We came specifically for vegetarian food for lunch. We second what everyone said about what they can actually serve vs. what was on the menu. The German owner seemed nice and somewhat chatty; however at retrospect, it may be due to our conversation about superfoods and mushrooms. His wife (?) would disappear and reappear behind the restaurant area where we were. It was just the most amusing place we have been in Bali. Delicious food, but costs way too much. Despite being vegetarians, we will be sticking to meat-serving restaurants from now on for vegetarian food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Zuma757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The garden of health is located on a beautiful spot on the beach of Amed.
But, unfortunately the place is owned by a unfriendly sometimes even rude German guy who actually complains the whole day about nearly everything, mainly about the care (or better the lack of care) for the environment by the Balinese people. He leaves no room for any interruption or response.
Do not offer any food from his inviting vegetarian menu, placed on several blackboards and on the tables, because then he accuses you of being impolite, "it does not work like that here" he said, "I have better things To do here..". Hmm that is a strange response for an accommodation/restaurant holder we thought.
He seems to offer a lot, but in fact you hardly can get anything except from sermons about all the world problems.
It is really pitty that as environmental activist he actually 'SPOILS' his own accommodation.
Let us hope that some day soon a nice and normal person will take over this accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Imshjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The Garden of Eden. We were rejected by a not very frendly "God". The rooms were expensive. Rumahku, about 2 km, awaywas a much better buy. New and fresh and very inexpensive. The best deal we had in Bali! Next to a Warung, Santa Fe which was very good.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I must stay that we did not stay here, we could not last that long. My partner and I arrived in Amed without a reservation and went looking for some accommodation. We went to Aiona because of a decent write up in Lonely Planet and because my partner and I are interested in Yoga and Meditation. We were shown a room, but before showing us the room, the German owner(?) proceeded to tell us the rules – no smoking, no alcohol and various other aspects of his view of the world.
He had a certain manner, that when he was talking, if you tried to say something, he would elongate the word until you had finished and then he would keep talking. The room was pretty basic but the gardens were pretty and the place reminded us of Byron Bay, so we thought we might stay there.
We were unsure if we would stay one or two days but the German man insisted we advise him if it was going to be one day or two days before he took the booking. Let me just say that we were in the off season and there were vacancy signs everywhere so his point of losing a booking for that room was no valid. We sat down in the restaurant and were given menus to order some food and drink before booking in. After working out what we wanted, and waiting about fifteen minutes for the man to return, we were advised that only two food items were available. So, we only ordered some drinks and there were only a few of these available too. We ordered two types of fermented tea- one was fine one we found too sweet to drink.
By this we simply wanted to leave. We found the German man to be too difficult, unpredictable and frosty. So we left without staying and after reading several other of the reviews here, we were glad we did. We gave the excuse of not having enough cash because he does not take credit cards. And the nearest ATM is 30 minutes away by car.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We came in to buy fresh aloe vera for a sunburn, and instead received a really odd and random lecture about suncare and the necessity to buy knives when we travel. The whole place was eerily silent, and looked like an apothecary.

Even after being totally creeped out by the joint, we still wanted to buy aloe. We had to listen to the older man talk over us incessantly, we had to struggle to get a word in. Then he wouldn't let us buy the leaves because we did not have a knife. He said we should buy one...then come back, and then proceeded to lecture us about carrying knives. Since he felt having a knife was so important, couldn't he let us borrow one of his for 10 seconds?

He was super weird and condescending. It was definitely one of the iddest encounters on our trip. I am glad we did not stay at the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We have chosen this small guest house, because the descriptions of the website have sounded very inviting and we were interested in yoga and meditation sessions described. Unfortunately we have not read the reviews before, otherwise we would not probably chose this property.
Our impression is consistent with those reported here already:
The location of the accommodation is beautiful. The beach is located directly behind the guesthouse with an intact reef that is great for snorkeling. The food was very tasty, and the quality of the food was really good.

However, the atmosphere was very frosty. We have not felt very welcome. The Swiss owner has ignored us most of the time. During our stay she has spoken not a word with us. We quickly quit the idea with the yoga session and were happy to have not booked anything in advance.
We also noticed the many rules that applied here. There were also notes in the room, such as "rent a towel for the beach: 20,000 IDR, if you lose it 80,000 IDR" which we found very strange.
The German owner called the place as "alternative guest house". Unfortunately this was definitely not our impression. That´s too bad!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bali_2011Deutschland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.1 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
237 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 19 in Amed
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#13 of 19 in Amed
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#16 of 19 in Amed
81 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0.9 mi away
Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiona Garden of Health? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiona Garden of Health

Address: Bunutan, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Aiona Garden Of Health Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing