We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxing... amazing!”
Review of Baliku Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baliku Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Baliku is a stunning resort with beautiful personal villas overlooking a local fishing village and the sea, with equally stunning views of the inland mountains. The room is spacious with a large bed, spa tub, kitchenette and a patio view of the fishing village and the ocean below.

Laying on the outdoor daybeds, you truly get a sense of relaxation with only the sounds of the day-to-day lives of the villagers and the visual feast of crystal blue waters. You wake in the morning to exquisite sunrises coming over the water and a fresh pot of Bali coffee. Far away from the bustle of the larger cities and high-pressure sales, you can truly get an idea of what the Balinese culture is about. The staff is incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, assisting with everything from recommendations for things to see and do, to moped hires to get us there, to food and drink; not one aspect of service was overlooked.

The hotel food was wonderful with outstanding local food and drink as well as traditional western fare (if you are into that sort of thing). Our waiter/concierge/porter/moped-hire/information guru was a genuinely kind and extremely interesting character, even taking time to join and talk with us, long after everyone had left for the night, about Bali and his life.

Amed was our first stop in Bali and was most definitely among our favourites. Baliku resort was nothing short of spectacular and I would recommend it to everyone looking to experience true Balinese culture and hospitality at it's finest.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emmaline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Baliku Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

I went with a friend to Amed and we spent 2 nights at Baliku. The hotel is nestled in the hillside and the rooms have sweeping ocean views that are truly magnificent. The hotel has fantastic food, everything we ate was fresh and tasty and they have one of the best Burgers I've had since I've been in Bali. They serve an afternoon tea for guests that delicious, with lemon bars and pecan caramel squares - YUM.
The main reason we picked Amed was for some quiet time and great diving and we weren't disapointed. The Baliku Dive shop with Niko and Murray were fantastic and really made our stay more fun then we expected. They are both knowledgeable about the area and have a discovered a few relatively unknown dive sites. They know the area intimately. Both of them are professional, fun, the equipment is excellent and we made a great video. Nicco is also an excellent guide for night diving if you want to try that.
My friend and I stayed in a two room villa with beautiful views, comfortable beds, a TV with a DVR player and huge corner bath tubs. The hotel has a full video library so we had quiet nights after dinner watching videos and lounging in our respective huge bath tubs. It was the most relaxing time I've had in a long time. The only downside was there is no WiFi or cell phone coverage because of the location. That could be a plus depending on what you're looking for. On this trip I was hoping for a bit more connectivity and we were told there was WiFi so I'm giving this a 4 instead of 5 for that reason. If you are looking to "disconnect" from all that then Baliku is a great choice.
The staff are friendly and attentive. We ordered meals to our rooms, they would bring us tea by the pool. Everyone was so kind and responsive and the cook at the hotel is great, so it was easy to stay all day after diving and lounge around.
I highly recommend the hotel for a R&R getaway. If you don't stay at the hotel I would recommend using the dive shop with Murray and Niko for your diving.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Tucked into the hillside with mesmerising views across a bay that was gloriously romantic, Baliku offered tranquillity and restfulness with thoughtful touches such as fresh flowers delivered personally to our villa. The service was that of a bygone era; and the nothing is too much trouble attitude from Donna and her gorgeous team made us feel like we were staying with friends. The food was generous in serve and the Rendang was truly sensational.
The sight of the traditional fishing outriggers at Dawn and Dusk; ceremonies that everyone is welcome to attend and pristine diving opportunities make this little piece of paradise a place we will return to with pleasure. A beautiful and special part of the world, thank you for sharing it with us.
Sandra and Andrew Richardson
South West - Western Australia

Room Tip: The villas are laid out to take total advantage of the stunning views of the bay and the village
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband and I traveled to Amed for some much needed R&R... we were not disappointed.
Baliku is a beautiful hotel ( although there are some renovations going on at the moment, it is still a fantastic spot) we found it to be 'pure bliss" we were able to watch the magnificent mountains one way and the majestic ocean the other.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated, this must be a credit to the owner. We were very pleased to meet Donna, ( the owner) however her staff were equally as lovely and very accommodating nothing was too much trouble.

The food was superb and easily some of the best we have tasted throughout bali

I can recommend this charming hotel to anyone - would be a very romantic holiday indeed

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My friend and I came to Amed for 4 nights to get away from rainy Ubud and thankfully, we booked 2 of those nights at Baliku Dive Resort. I'd just been diving in the Gilis and couldn't wait to do more, so we signed up with Murray and Niko in the dive shop downstairs. They're both awesome! Super friendly guys to learn and fun-dive with, and they made us feel safe at all times. Plus we had loads of fun making a dive video and checking out the shipwrecks. I'd come back here over the Gilis any day... the visability, coral and fish life is all far superior.

As for the resort, we had the two bedroom villa and aside from a good exercise by way of the steps you have to climb (ah don't complain, you know you need it!) we couldn't fault it. Well, perhaps we could arrange a magic spell to rid the place of all the nasty brown (but harmless) centipedes that seem to have taken over, but hey this is Bali, you've got to live with the bugs. Both bedrooms were great, if a little dark. For some reason, loads of places in Bali have yet to discover lightbulbs that actually light up a room properly. Still, creates more atmosphere I suppose. My friend had the room with the double bed and the sea view while I took the one with two single beds. We slept so well... the pillows, mattress and AC made it all really comfy.

The corner baths are great - much needed after our tiring dives, and I loved the little touches like the incense, the candles and the potted plants in the bathrooms. We couldn't get the satellite internet to work - one thing about this place is that there's no phone signal or WIFI so prepare to be cut off and just embrace it. There's time to read, write, lounge by the infinity pool and enjoy the complimentary afternoon tea (along with the flies). We loved the coconut and lemon squares and the sticky, nutty slices. YUM! All the food was good here actually, the cheeseburger, and “Niko’s Special Wrap” especially. Love the homemade feel to it all,... you can tell Donna's staff prepare it all with love!

One other tip for Amed in general - bring cash. There's no ATM for miles and you'll have to pay a 3 per cent charge on your credit card. Baliku offer a free transport service out of the resort if you want to leave for dinner, but on the occasion we wanted to go out we couldn't get a ride back via them, so we paid a local guy 100,000 rps for a lift in his truck. All part of the adventure, but it would have been nice for the resort to pick us up, seeing as they're quite a long way out of town. Still, this is a much quieter, less touristy place than say, Kuta or Seminyak, so you can’t be too demanding. There’s always gonna be someone on hand to give you a ride if you’re prepared to pay!

All in all, no real complaints. I’d definitely stay again and might even take my parents when they visit in April… especially as the dive staff are so wonderful – Murray and Niko really made our trip what it was. You won't find a better view in Bali than from these villas and if it's peace, quiet and some of Indonesia's best diving you're after, base yourself at Baliku and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Bring cash as there's no ATM for miles in Amed!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank writesitedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We spent four weeks in four different parts of Bali. Each area was unique and we enjoyed the Baliku villas as much as anywhere we stayed on the island. The food was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and the village was beautiful. Understand, there I not much in the area except a lovely village to wander through, a nice swimming area (the beach is rocky in this village, but it is not far to some nice sand). Jeff and Cathy

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We decided to stay at Baliku Dive Resort based on the photos from their website and the fact that we would be able to do our scuba diving certification through them. We weren't disappointed! The view from our villa was spectacular and we spent our first afternoon lying on the daybeds on the verandah, listening to the sounds of the village below and looking out over the ocean and the hillside. Inside, the huge four poster bed (from which you could also see the view) was divine, and the infinity pool was just a few metres walk away.

Donna, the owner/manager, was incredibly helpful and accommodating, and the hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and professional. Niko, our very experienced dive instructor, was an excellent teacher and tailored the course and dives to our needs. We ate most of our meals at the Baliku restaurant, which was pretty good value for money (given the large serving size and the high quality).

Baliku is a fair drive from the town of Amed, but it's nice to be in a quieter area and just across the road there's a beach with great snorkelling.

While you can probably find other places that are cheaper, I doubt you'd find the same luxury and quality of service. We're definitely looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A_Pond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.5 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 19 in Amed
501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.8 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
234 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#13 of 19 in Amed
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baliku Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baliku Dive Resort

Address: Banyuning, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Amed
#2 Family Hotel in Amed
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amed
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baliku Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An harmonious synthesis of traditional balinese craftsmanship and the more eclectic "Bali modern" style. Beautiful villas surrounded by lush gardens, frequented by a rich variety of birdlife and butterflies.A boutique style resort nestled on the hillside above a fishing village with stunning mountain and ocean views to Lombok, yet just steps away from the beach - a real retreat. A real retreat, yet only an hour or so from cultural and historical sites of interest as well as incredible shopping destinations, making Baliku the ideal base for your tropical sojourn. Luxurious villas with breathtaking views - privacy assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baliku Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baliku Dive Hotel Amed
Baliku Boutique Hotel
Baliku Dive Resort Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing