We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay and Dive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Amed
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good place to stay and Dive”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here in Nov 2013, weather was great. Nice snorkelling right out the front of the hotel. Good dive shop at the hotel. The diving was all shore based but was well worth it, and it was cheap. Think I got upgraded to a maser suite which was excellent. Great view over the ocean. Food at the hotel was good, reasonably priced. Service couldn't be faulted. Recommended place to stay and dive.

Room Tip: Corner suits that faces the ocean generally have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    222
    82
    21
    12
See reviews for
112
248
47
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
anywhere in the world
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The first thing I should say in this review is that we got upgraded to a Master Villa room (which we didnt book). But fair enough, it was empty and they upgraded us, so they deserve the praise. My ratings are based on the room we actually got, as I cannot comment on the room we should have got! But one needs to take this into account.

I should also point out that the beaches at AMED are not the lovely white sand beaches you can find elsewhere in Bali. These are black sand (volcanic) and stoney beaches, and quite narrow. This area is good for snorkelling and diving. More on that later, first the hotel.

We were very happy with our (upgraded) room (#331). It had a huge lounge (nice entertainment system and lots of TV channels), a fully equiped kitchen (but who is likely to self-cater here?), large master bedroom, large bathroom, and a huge terrace. Well appointed in all areas. So utterly superb. By far the best room we stayed in on this trip.

Service in the hotel was fine, perhaps a bit slow to clear tables. Food nothing to complain, nothing special either. The staff were friendly and helpful.

There are two small pools. The one we used was quite nice, although the bottom was continually sloping which made it a bit awkward. The other is a bit bigger, much deeper and frequently used for dive training it seems.

I snorkelled off the beach in front of the hotel which was not totally amazing (there are better sites nearby) but was nevertheless pretty good. Many interesting corals, many large and colourful fish. as is the case with many hotels in karangasem, as soon as you step out of the beach you are likely to get hassled by people wanting to take you on a boat trip (to places you can actually get to quicker by car or motorbike). Not really the hotels fault, I guess there is nothing they can do to stop the "beach mafia". Best to ignore or say no thanks. If you need a mask/snorkel, they will rent you one at reasonable cost.

Would defintely come back again, indeed I am already thinking of bringing my daughter here for a longer stay and more snorkelling. Enough said. Thank you Puri Wisata!

Room Tip: We were in Villa Flores (#331), I think its the best room they have and would highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

To be fair, we stayed only one night en route to the Gilis, so we were at the resort less than 12 hours. We are not divers. However, the view from the window was a bit sketch and the balcony view seemed a bit rough. There were utilitarian pipes and other "forgotten backyard type" items strewn about. The best part was the hotel arranged a driver to pick us up from the airport which is about a 3 hour drive through windy roads. The driver was excellent and agreed to pick us up from our fast boat location.

Room Tip: The rooms above the restaurant didn't seem that great. There were other rooms overlooking the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We kind of found displace by accident and feel very lucky. It is on the beach side of the road and is literally right on the water, steps away from pretty great snorkeling. You dont really ever need to leave, as the restaurants food was also great. The rooms vary in price and distance from the water, with the furthest being more like hotel rooms, and the closer ones by the restaurant and pools being more like small villas. Our room was nice and large with very effective a/c and no moldy smell. Also had a great bed, very comfy.
The hotel has two pools as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nackwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at this resort in Nov. for a week of diving. I was really surprised how nice the 1 bedroom condo was for 42.00 a night. I would give it a 4 star and was very happy with my stay. In fact I was so happy with the accommodations I will go back again in Oct 2014. Their on site dive team are wonderful and very knowledgeable about finding critters you are looking for. All shore diving, but the guide will help you with your camera. I was interested in muck diving and was not disappointed with what the area had to offer. Big shout out to (Gede) Libra Pogot my dive guide.
An onsite professional Camerawoman, Videographer and Photographer Valérie Derbaudrenghien, made several DVDs of people diving and taking classes at the resort, amazing work.
Did I mention they have 2 swimming pools? You cannot go wrong staying here and diving with their professional team.

Room Tip: I decided to stay closer to the dive center then down by the ocean due to my heavy camera equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at puri wirata, while amed is mostly for scuba diving we went for a bit of snorkelling and to chill out.

The hotel, while a little dated is nice (DVD player in room played the DVDs we bought in seminyak but you can also borrow DVDs from reception.

With 2 pools, there is plenty of places to laze around and relax. You can snorkel right off the back of the hotel but if you swim to the right (if your looking at the ocean) it gets better (we had a local come with us to point out some of the good spots).

We had dinner at the restaurant the first night which was very good (nice food, big portions), however it's only a 10 minute walk into the town which has a number of good warangs and restaurants.

Wifi is available but only near the restaurant (including the pool), but not in your rooms.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaunJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My friend and I stayed at Puri Wirata for a couple of nights. Our room was quite nice, clean but a bit dated (marble floors, big wooden four-poster beds with mosquito netting, teeny tiny tv) - lovely big balcony overlooking one of the pools. The pools are great - two to laze by and look out over the ocean. Decent breakfast. We stayed in June and were disappointed by the visibility in the ocean - the black sand gets stirred up and you can't see much at all. Go snorkelling as early as you can when there hasn't been much wind etc the night before or that morning. Hire one of the local fisherman to take you to a few snorkelling sites, including the wreck, which is very cool. Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
1.1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.5 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#11 of 18 in Amed
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#17 of 18 in Amed
77 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 18 in Amed
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed

Property: Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
Address: Jl. Raya Bunutan, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Amed
#5 Family Hotel in Amed
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Wirata Dive Resort & Spa offers you a comfortable and affordable home in Amed. A hotel with a family feel like you've rarely encountered before. With our own 5 Star Dive center located in our resort, Spa, Beach, Transport service and 2 beachfront swimming pools, we are perfectly equipped to give you the relaxing holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Wirata Dive Resort And Spa Amed Bali
Puri Wirata Dive Hotel Amed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing