We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large villa with snorkeling off the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Reviewed 4 May 2014

nice large villa, good views, lovely gardens but the kitchen was a bit grubby, and there were a few cockroaches in the cupboards. Beach location is quiet with only one other restaurant within walking distance, which is a bit disappointing. There is very good snorkeling off the beach if you go further out, but watch out for the strong currents. The restaurant food was good, but the atmosphere could have been improved enormously with some background music and more subtle lighting. The hotel booked and charged extra for a large vehicle for 5 people plus luggage back to the airport, but the car was only suitable for 3 passengers, so it was a most uncomfortable 3 hour journey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We enjoyed our 3 nights' stay in Puri Wirata over Nyepi as all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Stayed in the deluxe room which was very spacious and had an amazing view of the ocean from our balcony. However, a minor downside was that the furnishings were old and we even saw 2 cockroaches in our room during our stay there!

Although breakfast choices were rather limited (pancake/nasi goreng/mee goreng with 2 eggs), we found them all delicious. The resort also provided us a reasonably priced set meal on Nyepi day as all guests could not leave the premises for the whole day.

The highlight of our stay there was our Discover Scuba dive with Hilde from Bali Reef Divers. Was apprehensive about diving but she was very reassuring and I always felt safe with her. We also purchased a video ($85) as a souvenir as we agreed to have Valerie with us to film us throughout our dive!

I would recommend Puri Wirata for affordable accommodation with excellent sea views (although not the best in terms of cleanliness) and their great dive shop.

Room Tip: Request for a room with good sea view when you book
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yluah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Puri Wirata is a fine lodge, with a good restaurant and helpful staff. There is very little to criticize apart from its location — there's nowhere to walk along it's stony beach and snorkelling there is unrewarding. However, it's not too far from better snorkelling and the dive shop people are very helpful getting you there.

Views were very good, better from the upper building because the lower one has traditional Balinese-style door and windows on the beach side, meaning they're closed if you want to run the A/C. In the upper building, which is only used when the lower one is full, you get huge windows and balconies, so the view is better.

Room security is okay. There are no bolts on the doors and no means to screen anyone who knocks, but there's a guard post at the entrance and the overall feeling is that Puri Wirata is safe.

Breakfast is good, although, like many included breakfasts, repetitive if you're staying a few days.

They have two pools (one sometimes used for scuba instruction). They are both clean, pleasant and good for a few laps or just floating under the trees.

We stayed in one room in the lower building and it was clean on arrival. Deciding to add a couple of days, we were switched to the upper building. We had to ask housekeeping to clean the room, as it hadn't been used in a while and needed a going over for dust and dead bugs. They rectified the problem promptly.

While the lodge advertises WiFi in public areas, we were able to get a good enough signal in both rooms. When the router to the upper building conked-out, we had to persuade the desk to send a guy on the roof to restart it, which fixed the problem right away. (They were going to call a tech to come from town.)

Lighting, electric sockets, A/C units and hot water were all fine. The beds in both rooms were okay, with clean linens. Bathroom cleanliness and fixtures were good.

Overall, room comfort, sleep quality and value-for-money were all above expectations. Would we stay at Puri Wirata again and recommend it to other travellers? Yes, definitely.

Room Tip: The upper building rooms have better views. If the lodge is not busy, ask for top floor at the front...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latetothestation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at Puri Wirata twice, at the beginning and end of a month in Indonesia. We stayed in the upstairs of a villa, which meant a huge balcony (it might have been shared with the other side of the duplex set-up if the place were busy) with a padded pavilion to sit in and read, or enjoy the sweeping views. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, and the two small pools are great for a plunge in the heat of the day.

Our room was very comfortable and well-appointed, with a small flat screen TV, coffee maker, good AC, comfortable netted 4-poster bed, and tiled bathroom. Food in the open-air restaurant is good, with an ample included breakfast. The staff is well-trained, friendly and efficient.

There's ample relaxation area around the pools, with sun loungers and beach towels aplenty. It's steps to the pebble beach, and there are abundant fish and quite decent coral. The associated dive shop is a very good outfit. There's generally one or two local people on the beach who will solicit your business for snorkel trips along the coast. They aren't a hassle if you just say no, and we went with one to the "Japanese Shipwreck" (just OK, although if you're there when everyone else in Amed isn't, there's decent coral), and had a good outing.

Our only complaint was with transport. We were staying near the airport, and arranged a car and driver through Puri Wirata. The first time, the driver was 20 minutes late, which really shouldn't happen on an arranged 1100 pick-up. The second time, we waited 40 minutes, and when he didn't show, we scrambled around finding one of their alleged phone numbers that actually worked, and discovered that no car had been ordered, but that one would be there "in ten minutes". A half-hour later, we had to phone again, and finally 20 minutes later a driver pulled in. He proved to be either drunk or insane, or both, yelling at nothing and singing cracked snatches of song, falling asleep every time we stopped for a light, and nodding halfway off very frequently unless I shook his shoulder.

After three hours of that, including him refusing to stop and let us continue with other transport from Candidasa, I was relieved but extremely irate when we finally arrived. Tom at the dive shop helped get Crazy Boy to drop us at the right place, and we weren't charged for the ride, but it was a pretty terrifying experience. This wasn't one of their usual drivers, but the fact that in both cases we were kept waiting, once for an hour and a half, and had a totally outrageous driver, would incline me to arrange my own transport another time. Since Puri Wirata charges Rp 450,000, you have a base price to bargain from if you're in South Bali.

I'd gladly stay again, but I'd get there on my own.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Have sayed at Puri Wirata many times and love it, fantastic staff, wonderful hotel in a great location. Love the pool and restaruant area, very comfortable and relaxing. Always sleep well in our very comfortable and spacious room. Will return over and over again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. My favorite thing: The pillows. They were grand. The rooms were very clean with great ocean views. The bathrooms had large showers with soap and shampoo wall mounts. The room has a light, airy quality and a nice little balcony. The walk down to the pool and reception was very steep from our room, but most of the hotels in Amed were like that. One of the pools was a little cloudy, but the other was beautiful and really pleasant. The views over both pools to the ocean were wonderful and we spent a lot of time eating and relaxing while staring out over the ocean. It's not on a stretch of shore with very good beaches, so don't expect to lay out on the sand. The food was fine but not exciting at all. The dining area is relaxing and open-air and we enjoyed socializing with the other guests.
Amed is mostly a place for diving, so we did very little other than relax and dive. There did not seem to be a lot of activities or walkable attractions/shops.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juniper995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in a Bungalow room.Bed was just ok and no kettle in the room for morning coffee.
Breakfast was not available until 7:30
Only had breakfast there which was ok.
Best feature is that there is two nice pools both with an ocean view.
We only stayed one night then moved elsewhere,to a better snorkling beach.

Room Tip: Bungalow is large and except able for the price.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltravelled019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
1.4 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 19 in Amed
501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
1.0 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#17 of 19 in Amed
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed

Address: Jl. Raya Bunutan, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Amed
#5 Family Hotel in Amed
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range: £31 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Wirata Dive Resort & Spa offers you a comfortable and affordable home in Amed. A hotel with a family feel like you've rarely encountered before. With our own 5 Star Dive center located in our resort, Spa, Beach, Transport service and 2 beachfront swimming pools, we are perfectly equipped to give you the relaxing holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Wirata Dive Resort And Spa Amed Bali
Puri Wirata Dive Hotel Amed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing