We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful gardens and Fantastic Chef LIAM!”
Review of Coral View Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral View Villas
Ranked #11 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Amed
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and Fantastic Chef LIAM!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We travelled as a family group - in laws, parents and two kids aged 10 and 6. Got beachfront bungalow as recommended by fellow TA's. It was perfect for us, although must be fit and healthy to go up and down those stairs in the night for a toilet break! Outdoor shower was as good as others have mentioned. Mozzie nets in rooms very effective. Air conditioning superb, bar fridge good size with well priced goodies inside. Only improvement I could suggest is NEW DOORS! Front doors were painful to shut and lock, but we managed. They also could let bugs in. Also, leave rubbish outside as I think we may have had a creature in or on the roof trying to get in and it made the room smell in the morning, but hotel reception sorted this out by placing food out for the creature?? Weird I know!
Next time we visit (as will definitely return) we will hire bungalow next door (one further away from restaurant - Number 11 or 12 (can't remember already)! as the one we had was right next to the entrance to the beach where all the massage ladies/snorkelling gear men sit and sing out from! But being so close to the restaurant was fab!
Now for the highlight of our stay! I know I won't do this justice but multiply my enthusiasm by 100 and that should nail it....The chef Liam - a young Balinese/Aussie lad and son of the owners is INCREDIBLE. He made the stay the fantastic one that is was for our family. He took time to chat with customers as many chefs do, but boy can her spin a yarn! He is charismatic, kind, funny and so very happy. He is knowledgable on the area and is a mixture of chef come social worker come tour advisor come funny man! I even googled his name after the holiday and found blogs where people recollected the time spent chatting with him in Amed! He told the children about the glowing plankton in the ocean and when returned the following day saying we couldn't find it (and suggested he was telling furfies)...he dropped everything, got into his boardies and took the kids out into the ocean at 10.00 at night (with me fully clothed - improvising obviously) to show them! And it was true. They were SO thrilled with the experience! They think he is the coolest guy yet! ANd then there is the food!
The Mahi Mahi fish steak with creamy pepper sauce (bizarre combination) was simply delicious and the evening fudge brownies with ice-cream became a religous ritual with all of us! My 6 year old son LOVED the fried rice, daughter loved the satay (hard to go wrong here) and the ribs were tasty too. Hubby was disappointed with the breakfast but thought everything else was top notch. I think Aussie's are used to the big buffets. He didn't like how chicken porridge and black pudding was served every day despite hardly anyone eating it. I think breakfast could be improved (variety only) so that they don't lose guests for later in the day as the food is really great and the other menus very extensive. Breakfast consisted of one main serve plus fresh juice, fruit and yoghurt, tea and coffee ( plenty for me).
The gardens at the hotel are well cared for and the kids thoroughly enjoyed seeing the 67 year old man scale a 25 m coconut palm with a machete to cur down coconuts and leaves with nothing but a 10 m ladder! The pool is super cool and very shady but that's what you need after being in the ocean all morning! The snorkelling out the front of the Pondok Vienna 50 m to the south was the best - just a short stroll away. Plenty of gear to hire but prob take your own flippers (and leave behind to help out if you can). Also take an English novel along and leave behind after reading because Amed is like a french/European colony so no books in their library in English! Even though diving and snorkelling was lots of fun I would still return just to hang out in the hotel, eat at the restaurant, visit nearby Warungs and cafes and walk along the beach. I loved Amed and so did the whole family and we can't wait to return.
Note: low tide over coral is dangerous as waves can knock kids on to the coral - stay close if going at low tide. My 6 yr old swam confidently at least 50 m out but found the waves close to the beach a little challenging and one day was actually a tad scary. No currents really to speak of so that was good. Feel free to PM me if you have any questions...Happychappy

Room Tip: Second beachfront bungalow along from the restaurant if staying as a family. If not, don't choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hapchappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    119
    46
    18
    8
See reviews for
97
123
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We travelled as a group of three couples and two young children (8 and 1.5 years old), and occupied two deluxe rooms and a 2-br family room. The rooms are clean, with renovated outdoor bathrooms. Professional staff are responsive to our requests, and were all too happy to volunteer playing with our toddler son so that we could finish eating dinner, etc. The restaurant is well set up, and the menu is typical of what's on offer in the area. Food quality generally was good, particularly for Indonesian dishes. The head chef was attentive and helpful with special food requests (one member of our group had a seafood allergy, whilr another is allergic to nuts).
As for activities, we mostly snorkeled and swam in the sea. Currents were very manageable for our 8-yr-old daughter. The pool was also a very nice facility, and we had a couple of lunch sessions poolside.
There isn't much else happening in the area besides snorkeling or diving, but one of our group did get to travel with some hotel staff to a local cockfighting event and reported back that it was an interesting excursion.
If you're content to get away and just relax, with diving or snorkeling thrown in, Amed is ideal and Coral View Villas would be a good value-for-money home base.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmargono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The property is beautiful and is located by a nice coral bed in Amed. The description that you read in other reviews are quite accurate. I don't usually highlight the negatives, but our experience was too significant to be ignored.

We stayed for one night at one of the villa simply to snorkel. There were a lot of local people hanging out by the exit from the hotel to the beach area trying to rent out snorkel gears, offer boat trip, etc. I found them to be very pushy and annoying. They mocked at people who passed by in local language thinking that patrons do not understand at all. Their behaviors resemble group of thugs. A lot of fishermen use the beach in front of the hotel to park their boats. There was no gate to prevent outsiders from getting into the hotel property. At around 4am there were about 7 people screamed and banged at the windows and door of our villa. Being a guest, I expected the hotel security to maintain the peace and safety of the patrons. So yes, we had a disappointing stay because of this incident. YMMV.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LifeHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The location is just perfect. Has a huge swimming pool at the ocean better than other swimmingpool . For underwater is just perfect spot . The beach front family bungalow is huge n clean. You can enjoy the sunrise from your bed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayu_wida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The villas were just beautiful, with a big four poster bed with mosquito netting. The outdoor bathroom was just lovely and there really were not that many mosquitos.
Swimming pool was nice and big with lounge chairs to lie in and relax after a day of snorkelling. Snorkelling is quite good just outside the hotel, on either side of the entry actually!
Breakfast was adequate of eggs, fruit, yoghurt, juice, tea or coffee and a number of Indonesian dishes.
The staff was very helpful and the hotel was nice and clean. Would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieandSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Great place, rooms with great views.
Outside bathroom was beautiful.
Couldn't recommend eating there, meals were dodgy and breakfast very basic.
Isolated place, found out on the last day we could of got pick ups from local restaurants for tea, would of made our trip more enjoyable to eat out with having a pick up service.
Snorkelling off the beach was a great experience too.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed a few times in the beach side villa's. Million dollar views. Lombok is only visible at sunrise then the humidity hazes over. Smooth water, great diving with the Eurodive guys next door or snorkelling or going for a sail on a fishing boat. . Organise the staff to take you to restaurants or call direct. Most restaurants in Amed pickup. All the Eat, Pray, Love you could ask for.

Room Tip: Book the Beach side Villa's that sleep 4 people if you want the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.7 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
1.0 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hidden Paradise Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral View Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral View Villas

Property: Coral View Villas
Address: Lipah Beach, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral View Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Coral View Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral View Villas Hotel Amed
Coral View Villas Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing