We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hidden Paradise Cottages
Ranked #8 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Amed
WesternAustralia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A memorable experience!”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hidden Paradise Cottages. The staff were very friendly and obliging at all times, they had the best kitchen we've ever seen and he food was superb. We also went snorkelling on the beautiful reefs off the beaches at Amed and it was probably one of the best snorkelling experiences we've had so far. Al in all a wonderful experience and we would recommend it to others without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeaudie_11, Manager at Hidden Paradise Cottages, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Dear KarenWA

Warmest greetings from Hidden Paradise, Amed, Bali..
Highly appreciate for spending your precious time to post your review during your stay with us on tripadvisor.com.

It is an honour to read your comments which are indeed positive. The team and myself are glad to read that you had an enjoyable & memorable stay with us.

Indeed, our guests satisfaction is our main priority and every single effort are taken to ensure that your stay remain memorable.


Again on behalf of Hidden Paradise Cottages Amed, Bali, I would like to thank you for your valuable review and we are looking forward to see you again on your next visit.

Best Regards
Hidden Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    90
    45
    21
    3
See reviews for
52
121
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We spent a week at this hotel and really enjoyed it. There are only 24 rooms and it is right on the beach at Amed with excelent snorkling right out the front. It is a sandy beach not like some of them that are rocky. Rooms a spacious and it was good value for the price. There is no TV but who wants it. The pool is small but very nice. The gardens are very well kept. Breakfast is included. There are a couple of nice restaurants with in easy walking distance and some on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueandharrycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeaudie_11, Manager at Hidden Paradise Cottages, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Dear sueandharrycooper,

Warmest greetings from Hidden Paradise Cottages, Amed, Bali..

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us on TripAdvisor.com.

Myself and all Hidden Paradise Cottages staffs are really happy to read that you enjoyed and feel the friendly ambiance that we want to give to their guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again to Hidden Paradise

Best regards
Hidden Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

HPC was our 3rd hotel on Bali during our 3-week tour of the island. Amed is actually a collection of separate villages and bays, each bay has its beach and group of hotels, restaurants, shops, divecenters… The one where HPC is located is not the most lively one but also not completely dead, average... The beach in front of the hotel was not very attractive, and did not invite to swim or sunbath too much. The garden is nice, with a small pool, but almost no place to relax. The hotel has not much more then 3 lounge chairs for the whole place, also no beds on the beach :( Breakfast was very basic, but the restaurant area - where you can have also lunch and dinner and drinks - is quite lovely. Only problem is that the tables and chairs might be authentic balinese artcraft, but are a pain to use them; luckily they have still 4 "normal" chairs and a "normal" table that we could use that normally are hidden in the back but we asked to put at the middle for a nice view on the beach. Personel shows the usual balinese hospitality, but we had the impression it was somewhat artificial, not really from the heart, and also not very dynamic, it was like if they all came to work against there will. One time they were still cleaning the restaurant while we had breakfast. Also because of "environmental considerations" (sic), rooms are only cleaned once every 2 days. In general the hotel gave a clean enough impression, though not that clean. Other reports mention mouse excreta, we indeed also had that one time, but wouldn't blow that up too much, after all you're in the tropics... It is not the worst hotel, but for 70USD you might be able to find better places in Amed. Mixed feelings, overall 2/5.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street as close as possible to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeaudie, Manager at Hidden Paradise Cottages, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear JoeDanski,

Warm greeting from Hidden Paradise Cottages Bali
Herewith I would like to thank you for choosing Hidden Paradise Cottages Bali for your accommodation during your holiday, also in order to perceive your comment on Trip Advisor guest’s Review that you posted on August 12 , 2011, on behalf of Hidden Paradise Cottages management I am deeply apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay in our Hotel.
As a team we try to give our best service to all of our costumers and we always do that from our heart. We clean the room daily but we change the linen in every second day of your stay, but if the guest request to change daily, we are happy to do that.
July and August is a high season for tourism in Bali, every hotel and other tourist business will rise up the price (high season surcharge), included all hotels in Amed.
The price will be lower for other months

Anyway we believe that your constructive comments are really a big contribution for us to keep improving our level of service.

We are consistently keeping our effort to achieve guest’s satisfaction and to create a memorable stay; hence we invite you for your next stay in Hidden Paradise Cottages.

Look forward to see you again ☺

Kind Regards,

I Made Audie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We were here for 4 nights and enjoyed it. Okay, when you are looking for hustle bustle, you can forget it. But when you are looking for a quiet holiday, you got it.
The family bungalow located in the first row. There are only 3 of it. They are pretty big and the matresses are good quality. The bathroom and toilet are clean. The people are friendly and helpful.
The restaurant in the hotel have good menu and really tasty. We tried also another restaurant outside in the area, but for the taste and the price.... we choosed to stay inside :)
The only problem were with the beach boys. But I was really straight to the point. As we walked outside with my children, I told them "sorry guys, no shopping, no boating, no snorkeling, nothing... I just want to play with my kids..." Of course with smile. They understand it and let us alone. Fyi, the beach divan on the beach belongs to the beach boys and you need to pay to use it. Ask the hotel personal to put the divan from hotel garden for you (or just do it yourself), it is okay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeaudie, Manager at Hidden Paradise Cottages, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear "lady_mermaid"

Warmest greet from Hidden Paradise Cottages, Amed, Bali!

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hidden Paradise Cottages as your accommodation during holiday in Bali and most thank you for your praise and review.

We try our best to maintain the whole cleanliness of the room and facilities up to the standard as we also will make sure the food quality be better. I really hope you could enjoy more on your next stay with us :)

Harrisly yours,

I Made Audie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We just stayed two nights. Dated place, sad as location and gardens are nice. Room and toilet where dirty. Staff asking for massage every 5 minutes didn't helped much either.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constanza_G12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeaudie, Manager at Hidden Paradise Cottages, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear "A TripAdvisor Member"

Warm greeting from Hidden Paradise Cottages Bali
Herewith I would like to thank you for choosing Hidden Paradise Cottages Bali for your accommodation during your holiday, also in order to perceive your comment on Trip Advisor guest’s Review that you posted on May 01 , 2011, on behalf of Hidden Paradise Cottages management I am deeply apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay in our Hotel.

I believe that your constructive comments are really a big contribution for us to keep improving our level of service.

We are consistently keeping our effort to achieve guest’s satisfaction and to create a memorable stay; hence we invite you for your next stay in Hidden Paradise Cottages Bali to feel the different ambiance than your previous stay.

Look forward to see you again ☺

Kind Regards,

I Made Audie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed there two nights because of its great advantage: direct access to the sand beach - great also for snorkeling. The property is nice, but the rooms are not worth the money. We had some animals (I wonder what it was) on the roof making funny noises all night. And the worse: at the end they tried to cheat us on the bill. They made us pay a restaurant bill (they don't attach the individual restaurant bills) 100.000 Rupiah higher than what we had. Luckily we didn't leave immediately, so when we asked later about that, they said that somehow they had taken a restaurant bill from another room. Funny enough: the other bill was 247.262 Rupiah, ours was 147.262... funny coincidence, no?

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchie_Parigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Pros: Gorgeous grounds; nice restaurant (menu prices don't include 15% tax and service); right on the beach; great snorkeling within a few meters from the shore; friendly staff; nice pool; occasional free performances of Gamelan (Indonesian) music.

Cons: Pricey for the area and for what you get; noisy bungalows depending on the location (the bungalow we got was close to the road with traffic, chickens, etc.); No mosquito nets in the bungalows unless you request them; bathroom sink and toilet were stained and didn't seem very clean. Shower is hand-held and never produced hot water (although the weather was nice enough to not really need it). Water pressure was low. Although the bathroom is private, it is located outdoors(and partially covered) through a connecting door to the room (not fun when the mosquitoes are out hunting). In such an area I suppose it is normal to have rats and other animals running around but to find their droppings on the bed (on two different occasions) was really disgusting.

When we were about to check out they totaled our bill and included the charges from the restaurant. They would have overcharged us by a good amount if we had not kept our own record of our restaurant bills. When brought to their attention, they apologized and said that somehow bills from other guests got mixed up with ours. That almost tipped my decision to not recommend this hotel.

Overall, this hotel seems to try but it is not good value for the money for what we paid (almost US$65/night because of exchange rate). So it can't hurt to ask for the price you're willing to pay. And while we found the staff to be friendly, some of them were pushy in trying to sell services like massage, diving, excursions by car or boat,etc. I think we said "no thank you" each day about 5 or 6 times. It's ok to ask once but to be asked 3 or 4 times by the same people gets on your nerves. This is probably true of all hotels or resorts in Indonesia.

I would most definitely recommend this hotel if it were at least 1/3 less the cost or if they would make some adjustments to the rooms to justify the cost. It really has a lot of potential.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmkettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.8 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0.8 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral View Villas
Coral View Villas
#11 of 90 in Amed
307 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 19 in Amed
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Paradise Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Paradise Cottages

Property: Hidden Paradise Cottages
Address: Lipah Beach, Amed, Abang 808012, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Paradise Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Hidden Paradise Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Paradise Cottages Hotel Amed
Hidden Paradise Cottages Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing