We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Paradise Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Paradise Cottages
Ranked #13 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Amed
Perth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the older version or coral view villas little older pool not as nice but still value for money the massage girls come off the beach and they were great once again beach not that flash very friendly staff have heard the sometimes charge in euros so be careful check your bill

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank badguysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    79
    41
    19
    3
See reviews for
45
106
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The name says it "Hidden Paradise"
The reception and people around in restaurant, friendly, helpful.
The most beautiful tropical gardens ,manicured, lovely pool and direct access to the beach, where one can snorkel, dive or make an exciting trip in a Jukung.
The restaurant right in the beach, serves yummie jndonesian and Western dishes.
The cottages (AC)are a dream of balinese architecture and cozyness with and outside open air bathroom/shower.
We will definately come back here ,

Room Tip: Not knowing your budget, try a family cottage ,we had //21 with view on pool and thru to sea and bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is by far our favourite hotel in Bali. Don't expect nightlife or such things. It is very quiet and calm. The rooms have been renovated, but are still very attractive. The owner is doiing his best for keeping the place op-to-date, but we hope he will not exagerate.The staff under the direction op I Made Audie is excellent. Especially the service at the restaurant is very friendly. They do even their very best to speak languages as French and German. The food is perfect and you can ask a personal preference, within certain limits of course. The rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: If you want to have more shadow, ask a room at the left side when entering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaLi1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

HPC was a lovely place to stay. Staff quite helpful. Large rooms with lovely open bathroom. Food was pretty good. There were issues with transport at the hotel. We thought we had complementary transport in local area, but this wasn't the case. Some was, some wasn't!? The beach was quite nice with good snorkeling near the rocky area. Great for kids with the large room with the TV

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bindi_Oliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Overall good.

Location is good. I say good because:
1. You can snorkel off beach (coral quality is not bad).
2. Basically it is halfway between all the good snorkelling / diving in the area. (Head west for Tulamben shipwreck and Jemeluk, head east for Japanese shipwreck, Batu Keseni and Gili Selang).

Our room had outdoor shower, with good water flow/power from shower head. Mini bar with reasonable prices. (7000rp for water vs 5000rp from local vendors). Complementary water. Pad-locked traditional doors. Bed with mosquito nets, which were not really needed because, nice surprise, they provide free plug-in evaporator mosquito preventers.

Room insulation is average. Can get quite hot, but is coolable by the air con if you leave the card in (see below).

Take note that power to the room is conditional on one of those slot in cards attached to the key, so when you take the key with you, the power goes... although you can just take the keyring off the card...

Breakfast (complementary) was a one-off order off a fixed menu. Options available were mix of western/Balinese, eg egg on toast, pancake, traditional porridge, nasi goreng etc.

Wifi worked well, reception reasonable from our room, stable, reasonably fast.

Snorkel gear can be hired by the pool/beach. We hired fins only which costed USD$2 per pair/day.

Scooter hired from front desk costed USD$6 per day. Fuel from the local stands costs USD$0.75/litre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have stayed at Hidden Paradise 6 times in the last 12 years and it is my one must stay location in Bali. I have traveled with family, friends and on my own and every time I have had a lovely experience. The staff are very friendly and remember me every time I return. The beach is not commercial and you can develop a relationship with the locals. Water is calm and snorkeling very good. I have also used Euro Dive and this has added to the experience with great diving in the area.

Room Tip: the family suites are excellent and a good position, central cottages offer more sun. All are good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent 3 nights here in one of the family cottages number 31 and I only wish I had booked a longer stay. This place is the perfect place for relaxing and is so far removed from the South of Bali that it is like being in another country. The cottages are on the beach which houses a coral reef and some beautiful fishes and other marine life. The warm water is clear, clean and calm and there is always a "helpful" person on the beach to arrange snorkel gear, boat trips and other tours.
The restaurant opens onto the beach and the menu is varied and of good quality. Try the gin and tonic with cucumber - while watching the daylight disappear over the water.
We stayed with our 2 daughters aged 8 and 9 and found the cottage fine for us. There are 2 single beds in the living area. The outdoor bathroom was a treat although the bath more decorative than practical for adults (the kids enjoyed it).
The pool is cool and shaded and very refreshing and there is a TV room in which our girls spent their evenings with Disney Channel while we enjoyed the view and the service in the restaurant.
Don't come here if you want night life, 5 star luxury or shopping - do come here if you want to relax in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indiga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.8 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.1 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#4 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Coral View Villas
Coral View Villas
#10 of 85 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nalini Resort
Nalini Resort
#7 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Paradise Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Paradise Cottages

Property: Hidden Paradise Cottages
Address: Desa Bunutan-Lipah-Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang 808012, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Paradise Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hidden Paradise Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Paradise Cottages Hotel Amed
Hidden Paradise Cottages Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing