We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Bungalows, great service, amazing atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 79 Amed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a wonderful time in Geria Giri, a very charming accommodation with very cozy rooms, good food, friendly people and amazing atmosphere. Thanks David and Lisa for always managing to make the customer happy and comfortable.

Room Tip: the closer you are from the meeting area, the closer you will be from the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We are a family of five. Two adults and three kids aged 7, 11 and 12. GGS Bungalows were our home away from home for 5 days and 4 nights and we just cant speak highly enough of the people who looked after us. The proprietors David and Liselotte are just awesome people and so it goes without saying that the staff that work along side them have the same amazing attitudes. Nothing too hard, everything just perfect, from morning pancakes and juice to sitting around the common outdoor lounge in the evening and just catching up with other travellers. Whilst staying we enjoyed the snorkelling, 4 of us did diving courses with Adventure Divers Bali (same proprietors David and Liselotte) and travelling around the local area on scooters. So the adventures were great but coming home every night to clean and beautiful rooms with comfy beds made it so much more enjoyable. Everyone here is so friendly and relaxed that if you go and don't have a good time its your own fault. We recommend you stay at the GGS Bungalows.

Room Tip: As a family of five we rented two rooms. One with a double bed and one with three singles. Rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed with Lisa, David and the team for 1 week last June. After a week travelling through Sumatra we wanted some time to relax in a not so touristy place on Bali. Amed and Geria Giri Shanti where perfect to do so.

Lisa and her team were fully dedicated to give us a good time. They had tips for restaurants and activities to do in the neighborhood. My husband took a 3 day diving course. I don’t like diving, so Lisa helped me arrange a nice program during these days for myself.

I can confirm all the positive comments on this website where in place!! We had high expectations but we are not disappointed in any of them.

One thing I would like to mention especially because I loved the idea. They have the possibility to refill your water bottle for free. This to avoid extra plastic waste of empty bottles and relieve the environment.

We had a great time and we would definitely go back if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M_MvdVall2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed recently for 5 nights and although there are indeed lots of good things about geria giri shanti I would like to say that I don't think it is the best choice for everyone and that there are some things to take into account when choosing to stay there.
On the plus side, owners Lise and David are lovely friendly and extremely helpful people. We weren't diving so we didn't have a lot to do with David but Lise is incredibly hardworking and efficient ( she is also always very busy!).
Other pluses: Lovely garden, clean rooms with fans, free coffee etc, decent free breakfast.
Things that weren't great for us: Nosiy! It is situated right on the busy main road of Jemeluk on the non beach side. If you have one of the front rooms, which our friend did, it is really very very noisy.
Also busy busy busy busy. This place is a bustling dive school. Our room was back from the road which is good, but opened onto the communal dive school area. This is abuzz with activity at all hours. Many people not staying at the guesthouse use the dive school and all hang out here often. The many dive instructirs and helpers constantly carry stuff up and down in fron of the room. It's all friendly and happy and fun but if you are looking for a quiet relaxing time at the beach then this is definitely NOT the place for you!
Crowded. The rooms are small and crowded up and down stairs in a garden. Very little open space or room anywhere.

I think probably this place is best if you are diving. Otherwise I would probably look elsewhere, somewhere peaceful by the beach and away from the road...in spite of the lovely and VERY helpful owners...

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank rosiegoonengerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lisalotte and David are top hosts. aAgreat diving pad or hangout for any Amed visitor. Great food, layback atmosphere and lots of good tips on where to go and what to do.We travelled as a family and took 2 rooms.My youngest son did his dive course and had a wonderful experience. Love these guys and their staff. C. P, R and C.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very nice rooms in a wonderful garden for a budget price in a good location (close to many good restaurants, with a great diveschool on the premises, about 50 meters from the beach). Those feats in itself should be recommendation enough. But what makes Geria Giri Shanti really really special are its hosts: funny friendly David and the lovely Liselotte. She is warm, welcoming and strives to make everybody feel at home. Any request will be dealt with in an efficient and effective way and she is a fountain of tips and advice about where to go, how to get there, where to eat and how to organize stuff (although she'll probably organize it fór you).
The breakfast in big and delicious and included. I don't know what the french review from a few days ago, stating that only a small breakfast was included and that they had been charged for extra's is referring to, but they must be mistaken: Liselotte and David are not in the habit of charging you any extra's you hadn't been aware of. On the contrary: I enjoyed many delicious fruitjuices and shakes I never found on my bill...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoCo188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

No need to repeat everything that has been said before by now hundreds of travellers, this place is truly welcoming and cute, with very good breakfast too. All staff are really nice... Go on a boat trip with the gardener!! Thank you so much Lisa for being the funniest host of our trip :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank greentravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
3.1 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 19 in Amed
504 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#13 of 19 in Amed
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villa Bukit Segara
Villa Bukit Segara
#3 of 79 in Amed
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bubu Racok Homestay
Bubu Racok Homestay
#2 of 79 in Amed
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bila Restaurant & Bungalows / No Fear Diving Scuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows

Address: Jalan Jemeluk, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range: £15 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalows nestled in a secluded shady garden just a minutes walk from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing