We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Amed but wouldn't stay here again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kusuma-Jaya-Indah Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kusuma-Jaya-Indah Resort
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Amed
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love Amed but wouldn't stay here again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The location and pool were good. The bathroom was mouldy and the room extremely basic. It was pretty cheap and the service reflected that- we couldn't tell who was in chrge and there seemed to be zero care factor from staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    21
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

I must say to be fair: the garden and the place look awesome. This is a little off Amed so you probably want to drive there but backpacking is still an option (I would say 20 min). If it's not far but this quite a lot up and down. In the evening (after 18:00) plan a light.

Unfortunately for this nice looking place: the family running the place seems to be spoiled and we find them very unfriendly. You will have hard time négociating and end up paying too much for what you get. The bungalows are not so clean and the beds are horrible. Our Air Con did not work.

After almost 3 weeks in Indonesia, this has been our worst night and we got sick due to the heat and no AC (not even a fan)

The breakfast was so so... you should better hold your tea cup on the left side to avoid tve lipstick of the previous drinker. ...

Incident can happen but then you count on the host to make it up. They did not at all.

You can find in Amed, close to the harbor and restaurants, much better places to sleep and for less. You can check my other reviews.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Will K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amed hotels

California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We arrived in Amed ready to stay at another place. When we got there is looked like no one had been there in years. We went down the street and found this perfect spot. We have been sending friends since and no one has been disappointed. The courtyard and pool area are lovely, the hosts friendly and helpful. It has its own restaurant and several more are in walking distance. Snorkeling from the beach in front is really good. The price is right and its clean and safe.We want to go back again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCtripchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We loved Kusuma-Jaya-Indah. The garden is beautiful, the cottages are quaint and comfortable. They even allowed us to add an extra mattress for a family of 4 and the price was really reasonable. The restaurant is rustic and peaceful on the ocean. The pool is panoramic and enticing. We snorkeled right in front of the hotel, although it helped to have reef shoes because it is all reef. The people were very nice. We enjoyed the location, walking down to Jemeluk Bay to snorkle and up the hill to see the sunset (a surprise on the east coast of Bali!)
There is a great Warung across the street (and toward jemeluk by the little store) and kiddy corner with delicious food at phenomenal prices. We wished we could have stayed for weeks but sad our stay could only be 3 nights :(. Also Made, their driver took us out for a day and he is AWESOME, speaks good English and we had alot of fun with him so be sure to ask for him if you need a ride somewhere!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totalfoodieSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

After checking another nearby hotel on the beachside of Amed we settled on this place because the rooms were nicer and we got a better price. Amed seems to be geared towards couples so traveling as a family of 5 we found we needed 2 rooms. The best things about Kusuma are the landscaping, the layout of the bungalows, the gardens and the pool. The beach access is convenient and the overall atmosphere is very tranquil and we did not feel out of place as a family. The pool is nice, deep enough and long enough to enjoy with nice seating around it and room enough for a few different guests. The staff were friendly and somewhat knowledgeable, though understand, most Balinese in Amed speak mainly bahasa so be prepared. They arranged a boat trip for us for snorkeling and the price was the going rate and I didn't feel like they were trying to take advantage of us price-wise on anything.

Now for the not-so-great. The free breakfast was o.k., though nothing too special. We got orchid butter one day and New Zealand the next day. Big difference in taste, but thye just brought it, seemingly no choice. The first day we arrived we decided to try lunch there and were pretty disappointed. The food did not seem very fresh and was bland, and what flavor it had didn't really work. Not recommended. We had dinner across the street at C'est Bon, only a little better, less expensive and lots of atmosphere, Rasti was quite the host and a musician too. Maybe not for everyone though. The food at Ary's Warung, just up the road was excellent and not a far walk. Titi's is right there also, but we didn't make it there this trip.

The rooms, while bright and airy, had a feeling of mild neglect. The beds were not super-comfortable, the sheets seemed rather old, towels seemed to be in shortage and also of a rather distant era. The 'hot shower' like the butter, was inconsistent and only worked one out of three tries and even then took a long time coming. The toilet in one bathroom reeked of urine all the time from the minute we arrived until we checked out ( I'm guessing it still does). The other one only smelled slightly less strong.

We'd probably look around a bit before staying here again, but for the price and the atmosphere it could be worth it if you do not want to spend half the day looking at places. It is not close to much, but a short walk up the hill offers a great view of the volcano and then down the hill you are in Jemeluk.

A few tips about Amed: the google maps of the area are inconsistent and figuring out where everything is can take some time. We went in the middle of rainy season, and it rained everyday from about midday on, so if you are planning to go this time of year plan to get up early and then bring raingear or stuff to do indoors. the snorkeling is not great this time of year either as the water gets cloudy and was choppy when we went out. Amed is quite beautiful though and certainly worth a visit, very unspoiled feeling.

Room Tip: all the rooms are probably similar, they do have aircon in some if that's what you want, those r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesOandfamilinBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife & I always go to this lovely place.
Helpfull staff at any occasion, Bungallows are spacious, the mature & well maintained garden is just charming, a pool long enough to swimm and a fantastic view from the restaurant.
As we are scubadivers we found the location perfect to reach dive spots easily and we have used Ecodive diving center to enjoy our favorite activity. Great combination!
Thanks to Ayu for all your attention, making our stays always peaceful and memorable!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea to enjoy both garden and sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyril V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Traditional Balinese bungalows set in a beautifully maintained garden. A very quiet location, perfect for a couple of days rest and relaxation.
Rooms could do with a little improvement though - the old shower head smelt rusty when we ran the water and the ceiling fan did very little to cool us of a night time.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Island-Luvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.0 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#4 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#16 of 18 in Amed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anda Amed Resort
Anda Amed Resort
#9 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kusuma-Jaya-Indah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kusuma-Jaya-Indah Resort

Property: Kusuma-Jaya-Indah Resort
Address: Jemeluk Amlapura Bali - Indonesia, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Amed
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kusuma-Jaya-Indah Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kusuma-Jaya-Indah Resort Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing