We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We loved our stay at the pretty and peaceful Palm Gardens. We liked the fact that the Amed area was very undiscovered and non-touristy; a gentle walk beyond Palm Gardens revealed a very typical Balinese village life with the black pigs in mud, local people going about their daily business, no taxis or men touting for transport - no trendy shops for tourists. It is a snorkelling not a shopping destination.
Orlando and Annie were very warm, friendly, helpful, hospitable and interesting hosts. Excellent.
Everything about this architecturally amazing boutique resort was impeccable.
I loved Annie's taste - the fantastic paintings, the pearly lamps, the golden Balinese dancers on the bathroom walls (I bought a couple home with me - a lovely memory on my back verandah) - the interior décor was amazing.
I felt at times as if we were personal guests staying in a beautiful private home.
I liked looking out at the papaya trees from the outdoor bathroom in the villa with the pool on the beachfront. The tropical gardens were beautiful.
The pools were perfect. The staff were very pleasant - helpful, nothing was a problem.
The food was delicious; it was actually really nice to enjoy some European food after three weeks in Bali.
I was ready for a change.
I loved the Cordon Bleu chicken - also the potato pancake, roestri?
My husband had the chicken in the pineapple three days in a row!
I loved the papaya and lime juices, also the luscious warm chocolate brownie with vanilla ice cream.
The location on the beach was good.
We loved the fact you could 'hot' foot (very hot black sands) down to the water and go snorkelling directly off the beach. There was really no need at all for a boat trip to the Coral Gardens, although the scenery from the ocean of the coast and hills was lovely.
I think I will bring my own snorkel and goggles when I next visit Palm Gardens at Amed. It did seem to take ages to get a decent set by way of the chap on the beach - but no drama, it was eventually okay.
The other thing that was exceptionally lovely was being permitted to check out of our room late in the day given the fact our flight to Australia was not until midnight.
It made such a difference to be able to extend our holiday, to enjoy our villa and the resort facilities until the end of the day. Many thanks Annie and Orlando for your kindness. We both hope plan to return sooner than later to Palm Gardens at Amed. Our stay was remarkable for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be able to enjoy one of the villas with private pool overlooking the beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amanda_chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a small, clean, high spec resort. The villas are lovely and the 'outside' bathroom was an unusual novel touch giving a wonderful fresh feel (although the shower was a bit low pressure). Bathroom fittings were all exquisite and very high quality, like all of the decor in the resort. The (black volcanic) beach is almost part of the resort and a few swim strokes into the sea takes you over a beautiful live coral reef full of colour, texture and tropical fish. It felt really safe snorkelling because of being in a bay; it was flat calm with no current.
The food was fresh, very well prepared, very reasonably priced and served by friendly and attentive staff in the outside restaurant (take mozzie spray with you). Breakfast is included and you can also go for half or full board if you like. I chose only breakfast, thinking we would eat out in other restaurants but in fact there are none close enough to get to without transport so we ended up eating nearly all our meals at the resort.
We hired motorbikes on one of the days which, although out of our comfort zone to begin with, turned out to be a great way to get to other beaches, was fun and we got a chance to eat out.
On the down side the road behind the resort was quite noisy and the cockerel woke us up at 5.30 each morning followed by some sort of religious call to prayer with drums, chanting etc. Ear plugs are a good idea. Also there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room (tricky if you like to drink a lot of tea throughout the day) although a big pot of (delicious) ginger tea from the kitchen is only Au$2.
30% deposit is expected prior to arrival and the rest can be paid on arrival (even though it is written as 'by arrival' on the invoice which I took to mean before arrival). I also found it a bit tricky to get prices as they were not available through the tripadvisor site. We paid around Au$150 per night for a villa (not beachside and no plunge pool; they were about Au$220) in low season (Feb 2014).
The trip from the airport took over 3 hours from the airport and cost about Au$82 each way, organised through the resort. Quite a windy road for the last half, worth taking a travel sickness pill if you get carsick.
Overall we loved the resort and found the quality of everything to be exceptionally high and the staff excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lebley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great place to stay with direct access to beach. The beach is covered in fishermen boats but it just adds to the traditional aspect of Amed. Great fish to look at just 1 min swim away. It's worth renting scooters which you can do at the hotel for less than a £1 day to go for lunch around and explore the area which according to my girlfriend (and she said it about 20 times) look just like Lost.
Back on the hotel, there were 6 of us staying in 2 villas and one bungalow and they were all of a high standard. The swimming pool is definitely great and it was very quiet during our stay over Christmas. The food in the restaurant is good but the menu is not too extensive so it can get a bit boring after a couple of days hence the scooters. I would definitely recommend booking the catch of the day for dinner; we had grilled red snapper and it was really good. You have to book the day before though. Service from reception was impeccable and they did a good job of getting us new transportation when the one we had arranged stood us up on departure day. My parents used the Spa and were very happy of their massages although the prices are considerably more expensive than in Ubud. That's the price of isolation I think since prices were similar for treatments in Munduk.
In summary a wonderful 3 nights at Palm Garden Amed Beach Resort and Spa. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fabrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This 10 roomed boutique hotel offers a quiet, relaxing stay in a charming, local village, worlds away from the tourist dominated areas in the south west of Bali. We stayed here for 5 nights in late October/early November.
The design of the accommodation is influenced by local architecture and the bungalows are well equipped and have large open air bathrooms.
The restaurant serves freshly prepared, well presented food and super fruit juices and is next to the pool.
The hotel is right next to the beach where the local fishing boats launch in the early hours and return around 6.30 am. It is interesting to watch the catch landed and sorted. Snorkelling is very good from the beach in front of the hotel and trips can be arranged to other excellent diving sites.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FishermanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was a very quiet resort next to the beach with black sand. Amed isn't as touristical as Kuta or Legian what we prefered. The life in Amed represents the right life in Bali not the touristic place like Kuta.
A corall reef is next to the beach which is very beautiful. The food was amazing, the staff very kind and the hole resort is very clean. All things are lovely placed. The massage & pedicure was enjoyable. Daytrips to Ubud, etc. available.

Room Tip: Villa was such a nice room with open showers and beautiful bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwissLady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

While planning our one week vacation in Bali, we had wanted to see a different side of Bali, away from the southern beach areas of Kuta, Legian, Seminyak, Sanur or Nusa Dua - and thought of Amed, which was probably as far east as it gets in Bali. However, we were unsure of the area, and decided to just plan in a recce trip of one night only away from the south to see what Amed was all about. If we liked it, we could then return in future for a longer holiday.

We wanted a hotel by the beach; but it was high season and accommodation options were limited. Palm Garden Amed immediately captured our attention from the reviews here on TripAdvisor but unfortunately they had a minimum 2 night booking policy, while we had only 1 night to spare on our itinerary. Fortunately, e-mail correspondence was quick and promptly responded to and they gladly accommodated our request for one night as they had availability. Payment was made upfront through the hotel website with no issues - but curiously quoted in Swiss Francs. The reason for this was that the resort is owned and operated by a Swiss couple, who we actually met later during our stay.

The trip to Amed by car had spectacular scenery, especially once pass Candidasa, with views of the brooding Gunung Agung in the distance as well as rice paddies. The turn-off into the narrow road into Amed is an eye opener. Amed is actually only the name of the first village in a series of fishing villages along the east coast. As we drove through the fishing villages with names like Jemeluk, Bunutan and Lipah, we could feel immediately that the area was very rustic, basic, rural, authentic and had a relaxed vibe totally different from the overly populated crazy touristy areas of Kuta with its shops and many distractions in the south. This was the real Bali.

When we finally arrived at Lean village and saw the Palm Garden we were totally impressed. Certainly from what we saw along the road, the Palm Garden was probably the most upmarket resort in the area. It was certainly pretty, and with only 10 units of accommodation, a charming cosy and intimate resort in neatly manicured grounds. Check-in was a breeze, in fact all staff interaction we had throughout our stay was pleasant and great. We were even given sarongs to be worn if we chose to, which was a nice touch.

We were brought to our villa, which was the closest one to the swimming pool and restaurant, and immediately like what we saw. The villa had a traditional Balinese thatched roof with an outdoor patio but inside it was all modern, comfortable, new and decorated with teak furniture. With only five villas on the property, these were certainly the ones to go for. Although the oceanfront bungalows were great with its own plunge pools, these villas are so close to the beach anyway - the savings in the rate you pay are well worth it.

The villas come complete with a king-sized bed, air-cond, fan, safe, refrigerator, hair dryer and thankfully no television. Wi-Fi was available, and the password could be obtained from reception at no additional charge.

The semi-outdoor bathroom was spacious with rain-shower complete with hot water. It is certainly always an experience in Bali to be bathing outdoors under the stars!

The resort is located on a working fishing village, and the black sand beach is always full with the pretty traditional jukung fishing outrigger canoes lined up on the sand. We were sceptical of claims of snorkeling being possible on Bali beaches, but here in Amed, the water is indeed clear and calm, at least when we were there. At the headland right in front of the resort, you can indeed snorkel and although much of the coral is bleached, there is still enough to keep you occupied and colourful fish to see.

That night we tried out the resort spa, and the two local masseuses were very good. It was a totally relaxing experience with the cool night sea breeze tinkling the wind chimes as the massage was in progress. Would highly recommend the spa experience. Once or twice, the sound of motorcycles from the village next door did punctuate the bliss of the massage - but this is no big issue.

We didn't really get to try the restaurant food other than the breakfast, so we can't really comment on the food. We had read some previous mixed reviews of the breakfast, but we found it to be fine.

All-in-all, one night was really much too short a time to spend here, and before we knew it, our time in heaven was up. Would we return to Amed? Most definitely, and certainly it has to be the Palm Garden Amed.

Room Tip: The Villas are the ones to pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jadamros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Way off the beaten track in a pretty garden setting. Service was excellent with very friendly helpful staff. Rooms were contemporary and very stylish. Ours had an outdoor bathroom which was amazing. Food was limited but freshly prepared and delicious. The beach had black sand with clear warm sea. Best to swim at high tide as otherwise shallow, but the pool was also lovely. Although at the very far end of the town of Amed, the local restaurants will pick you up and return you. Highly recommend

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the detached villas in the garden with a good sized terrace. There were some lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.3 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 19 in Amed
504 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0.1 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#17 of 19 in Amed
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 19 in Amed
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Amed | 80852 Bunutan | Karangasem, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#3 Family Hotel in Amed
#3 Spa Hotel in Amed
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range: £42 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Garden Amed - Beach & SPA ResortSituated on the north-eastern coast of Bali directly on the black sand lava beach lies our built PALM GARDEN AMED BEACH & SPA RESORT. Amidst dozens of shadow- providing coconut palm trees it is harmonically embedded in the crescent-shaped bay of Lean.Away from the mass tourism, you will find the original and authentic Bali with its unique cultural flavour and the traditional lifestyle of its local people. Every day you will witness the spectacle of the local fishermen on their picturesque outrigger boats returning home from their morning routine. Waiting ever so patiently for he catch, the women with their children welcome their husbands on the beach.A cool refreshing bath in the large open swimming pool is complemented by a spectacular view overlooking the crystal-clear, turquoise ocean and the nearby coral reef beneath. The 28 degree warm water its fascinating underwater world guarantee you a splendid time with unforgettable impressions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing