We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good but...”
other travellers have booked this property
a view from the garden just before the night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
a view from the garden just before the night
the veranda, full open on thegarden the dinning and living room under the great veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
a view from the garden just before the night
the veranda, full open on thegarden
the dinning and living room under the great veranda
the inning room
the living room
the living room at night
the garden in front view from the veranda
the kitchen
going upstairs to the master bedroom
the master bedroom upstairs
the bath room upstairs
bathroom upstairs
a view of the inside garden from the balcon
the swimming pooland the gazebo
another view of the swimming pool
the bungalow (2 rooms)
one of the 2 bedrooms in the bungalow
one of the  outside bathroom in the bungalow
detail of the decoration in the guest house
the main door to the garden ant to the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Amed, Abang, Bali

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Julien-Le...
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“Very good but...”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The villa is really nice. Large, well decorated and clean.
The location is great as you are in the middle of a typical fishermen / farmers village. Be carful: the village wakes up (very) early, especially the roosters.

The greatest assets of this villa are Ketut and Wayan.
Ketut is the house manager. He is super nice and very helpfull.
Wayan (Ketut's wife) takes care of cooking breakfast and cleaning. She is incredibly sweet and very funny.
We enjoyed Ketut and Wayan a lot and hope that the owner will convey our message to them.

The point that I really cannot understand about this villa is that there is no mean of communication with the outside.
No internet
The fixed phone did not work
Their is no network for the cell phones (need to walk 200 meters away from the villa to get one).

At that level of price, this is just not acceptable.

A vast majority of the villas in Bali have internet. Also, most of the villas provide guest with a local cell phone in case of issues. I was lucky to have the international coverage on my phone. But that may not be the case of everybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wayan and Ketut
Liked least: No Internet, no phone....
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belteenag...
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“luxury villa in a poor fishermen village”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed the nice decoration of the house.
However, we disliked the smells (burning plastic all day-no escape) and noises (hens, pigs, gamelanmusic 3 nights because of a funeral) of the neighbours...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the nice decoration of the house
Liked least: the smells (burning plastic all day-no escape) and noises (hens, pigs, gamelanmusic 3 nights because of a funeral) of the neighbours
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmwschout...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very relaxing resort”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Stayed in Kupu Kupu for three nights and found the place very relaxing and well maintained. It comes fully equiped and the staff is very helpful and shows dedication in their work (arranging things, giving tips, cleaning etc.).

Villa Kupu Kupu is close by to two main snorkling areas (walking distance) and to several nice restaurants. Otherwise you need to keep in mind that you either need a car or a scooter to go to better parts of civilizaton.

Also with children the villa is suitable but would recommend a bit older children (+ 6 yrs) to fully enjoy the villa.

A drawback is that there is a farm next door, so you might experience some smells and sounds of a farm. Other drawback is no WiFi and poor cell-phone reception (this can add to the relaxing feeling of-course).

We can recommend Villa Kupu Kupu, enjoy your stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karosurf
Grenoble, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“magic”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

The place is awesome !!!
Harmonious, elegant and comfortable... surrounded by a typical balinaise fichermen village
Thank you Bruno for all the hintches and unforgettables moments !

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JarJah
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A spacious villa in a fishing village”
Reviewed 7 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Kupu Kupu is a lovely home with well kept gardens and pool a few meters from the ocean and a seriously working fishing village. Bruno, the owner, and his staff, Ketut and Wayan, do all they can to make you comfortable. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby; a couple you can easily walk to, but it is more fun and convenient to hire a motor scooter (automatic). You can, of course, also hire a car and driver easily. We did a lot of snorkeling, including a boat trip to "Coral Gardens". But the beaches are black sand; I didn't see anyone sun baking (do that back at the villa). There are a lot of plastic bags too, but I think the locals are becoming more aware of the problem. The three bedrooms each have a very comfortable, very clean, queen bed, great for couples like us but maybe not ideal for kids. The pool was not fenced but the house was otherwise child, even todler, friendly. If you like 5 star hotels don't go there. If you like a great beach house amidst farms and fishermen in true Bai, this is for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: spacious gardens and pool
Liked least: plastic bags in the sea
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA, USA
Reviewed 22 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jackalman
NSW
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Our first holiday Let experience with mixed feelings”
Reviewed 22 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first holiday let as Amed has limited top end accom. I liked the fact we had the whole house to ourselves and the location was good. In fact we didnt have too much privacy as the owner has the staff members comming in to water the garden and attend to the pool. Ketut and Wayan hours are 8-11 2-5, so it was difficult to have some privacy. Bruno the owner explained at the end of our stay that we could of done what we wanted. It felt at the start when Bruno was showing us around the villa seemed quite protective of his house and it felt awkward. This was not helped by us not paying the full amount prior to us viewing the villa which I was feeling worried about. Once Bruno had his money all the tension was gone and was very friendly at the end of our stay. The villa has no internet or TV but has a cool ipod dock with great a sound Ketut and Wayan where fantastic, cooked lovely breakfasts, arranged a scooter and Wayan gives a great massage. The open lounge room was beautifully furnished with a bohemian feel. this was a great area to hang out. The Villa was situated just across the road from the a great snorkling spot and just up the road from Sails, the best restaurant in Amed! Just in front of the villa is a local mechanic who fixes all the boat engines and scooters. He starts early as 6am revving those engines! Then he winds down in the arvo to house music with big speakers. Not so tranquil! The pool is large and mostly in shade and must be the coldest pool in Amed. So mixed feelings about hiring a this house, but I always enjoy my stay in Amed and will return again. Bruno is building a purpose built villa with a great view next to Anda amed which looks great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and lounge room
Liked least: Payment system and surrounding noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$170
/ Night
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing