We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bungalow on the Beach = Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solaluna Beach Homestay
Ranked #5 of 74 Amed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Normanville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bungalow on the Beach = Perfect”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I came to Amed (for 5 days) to dive the USS Liberty and spend all my time in the water with turtles.... but after I arrived I found myself extremely happy to also spend time on the lounge on the verandah or on those on the beach. There are two airconditioned bungalows and each has a very comfy king size bed with a mozzie net (which we didnt need), a bar fridge (only one coke and water per person each day - you pay for the rest - but its still cheap) and a decent size bathroom with a decent size shower You have your choice of cooked breakfast included (and its yummy), and can also order take-away from the local Warrung Enok (beautiful food and cheap as). The house reef directly out the front has nothing during the day - but at night it is teaming with creatures. A short 5 min walk up the beach (to WawaWeWe Cafe - at night, great music and food and cocktails) and the coral is beautiful, the fish life is amazing and you are likely to see a turtle each time you go. Diving here is a must, and I thoroughly recommend Dream Divers Bali (Imade - the dive master is amazing).. they are right behind the bungalows and have all the gear you need. Kayaks are there for your use. Fresh BBQ fish on the beach is a must... (and take a fishing trip .. it is a bargain at around $8 per person).... Gede then cooks it up for you for dinner. LOVE LOVE LOVE this place. ... Oh, and make sure you do a day tour or two with Kadek ... he will take you to see the 'real bali' and a beautiful small temple that is for 'everyone'.

Room Tip: The homestay rooms look great.. however, if you can book one of the beach bungalows you will feel li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brodzmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
135
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Beach house is lovely, but bathroom floor floods. Had to move rooms for second night but they put is in tudes hotel next door which was much more basic. Staff were nice and breakfast was ok. They helped us organise transport.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Gede, the owner, is a very nice man. He took time to greet guests and talked a bit about his homestay and Amed. The front beach bungalow was very clean, large enough to have an extra bed, equipped with AC and spacious attached bathroom/toilet at the back (hot/cold shower). There was one cabinet for your clothes and 2 side tables. The double bed mattress was undesireable though, it was sagged after you slept for more than 4 hrs.

The location was almost perfect with blue sea facing you and majestic view of Mount Agung at your left side. Almost perfect because you need to walk 100 m (not far :)) towards east to access good snorkeling spot. Breakfast—simple yet delicious—was served at your private porch. You could also use canoes for free, but beware of wind in the area, it can be too tough to handle. Do ask for double blade paddle otherwise you'll find it difficult to navigate the bay.

In the morning (if possible leave before 7am), take your vehicle heading east +/- 1.5 km. At the top of the hill you can gaze at spectacular view of the bay and Mount Agung. You can even see the coral through crystal clear sea below.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taveshala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have travelled extensively around the world and i can honestly say Solaluna Home-stay has got to be the best place i have ever stayed . Amed is a little piece of paradise on the East coast of Bali and Solaluna is a big piece of paradise on the East coast of Bali.
Gede, his wonderful family and friends made this trip a truly magical experience.Whatever your wish is they will make it happen.If you are looking for a traditional Balinese experience then this place is a must.I could go on and on but to sum it up "everything was perfect in every way".
I must just especially mention Kadeck . If there was an award for tour guide of the year in Bali then Kadeck would win it! Great holiday and i will be returning again and again and again,thanks guys.

Room Tip: There all great but if your lucky enough like we were then a room on the beach it must be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Save yourself from looking amymore for a place to stay in Amed, Solaluna Beach Homestay is IT!

We booked 2 nights at Solaluna Beach Homestay, in late August 2013, and wish our stay could have been longer!

We found our room, bungalow, and accomodations to be quite nice. The room is spacious, the bed comfee, there is a nice size wardrobe closet to hang and store clothes. We really appreciated the refrigerator in the room, the fan and airconditioning. The bathroom is a very nice size and the shower provides hot water. Oh, and the bungalow has free and strong WiFi!

Breakfast was included and our bungalow's outside patio was a very nice setting to enjoy it. The owner's wife makes a very nice breakfast - eggs, toast, fruit and coffee.

The bungalow itself is adorable and nicely constructed. It is situated right on the beach. The bungalow comes with 2 kyaks to use but if you don't want to do anything there is a great bed couch on the bungalows patio or lounge chairs a few steps from the bungalows enterance.

The owner, Gede, is a very nice man and can provide most things needed to have a great time in Amed. We rented motorbikes from him in which he provided directions to other beaches and places to eat or to hear music. We also rented snorkeling equiptment from him to explore the Japanese Shipwreck and to snorkel at the beach outside of our bungalow. We also went fishing and to see the sunrise which Gede coordinated. It was an early morning rise but we were picked up by the boat outside of our bungalow. It was a great experience which I would recommend. We caught fish in which 2 of the fish were used for that evenings dinner which Gede cooked with some lovely sides. This fish meal was one of our best meals during our 10 day Bali holiday!

We enjoyed our stay at Solaluna Beach Homestay and would definitely book again on another trip to Amed!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I staid for 3 nights in Solaluna. 2 very cozy, clean and quiet bungalows, hospitable people, delicious breakfasts, the sea just in front of you. Good snorkeling. Sunrises and sunsets. Nice village surrounds. We want to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was one of the best places I stayed in Bali; right on the beach; you sleep to the sound of waves; your own personal sun lounger & little garden; views of both sunrise & sunset behind Mount Agung; terrace with day-bed & tea, coffee & hot water all day; both air con and fan in room; free Wi-Fi, AND a fridge in the room! The owner Gede & his wife are really nice & will arrange tickets for the boat to the Gili's etc. (NB: the beach is black sand & stones, but the sea is fine for swimming).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seahorse0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
3.1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Bila Restaurant & Bungalows / No Fear Diving Scuba
0.2 mi away
Bubu Racok Homestay
Bubu Racok Homestay
#3 of 74 in Amed
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 18 in Amed
444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Bukit Segara
Villa Bukit Segara
#1 of 74 in Amed
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kembali Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaluna Beach Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaluna Beach Homestay

Property: Solaluna Beach Homestay
Address: Jl. Raya Amed, Karangasem, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our locally owned and run business has fantastic diving and snorkelling opportunities within metrres in the warm Amed waters. We pride ourselves in welcoming our guests with genuine Balinese hospitality, and invite you to enjoy the food and entertainment available at warungs within walking distance. We hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Solaluna Beach Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaluna Beach Homestay Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing